Practical jokes

No Hare

Couldn't quite understand how a loose pannier would make you fall so badly, now it makes sense...

This is terrible, not sure you could call this sabotage a practical joke  :cursing:

All the best with the healing, hope you are back on the bike soon!

• Replies 56

Jeepers man. This really sucks. I really feel terrible for you. Best wishes on your recovery. I hope it's swift and 100% successful - I'd say painless, but we know there'll be pain.

Bliksem, dit is nou n *** joke daai. Ironically the big wheel turns man, they will get theirs in one way or the other. Heal up quick 

ps: is the bike ok?

Jeez man.

What a cowardly person to not own up and apologize to you for a joke gone wrong.

Probably the same sort of person who would hit a cyclist and speed off hoping to get away with it, leaving the guy for dead.

On another note:

How many people work in your office?

Who else there is a cyclist with the tools who knows his way around a bike?

If nobody owns up, take it up with the HR department or management.

I say lay a charge of attempted murder and let the cops figure it out.... Frankly if I was the boss, it would be non negotiable lie detector sessions for everyone...

Glad you are still walking and talking mate!

Please think twice before playing that practical joke on a mate.

Nou die dag someone rerouted my chain and as a afterthought loosened the bolts on my panniers. Moerse lekker joke!

I fell. 

The result: 

Compressed vertebrae C3-5

Torn rotor cuff

Cracked ribs

I was discharged yesterday after having the neck fusion and the second operation is still to come. My emotions are like a roller coaster ride for it has been said clearly: no cycling, no diving, no driving, no boating and no kayaking for the rest of the year. 

I am unable to generate extra income for the rest of the year and will have to live off my savings and  a basic static income. Add to that the already R 29000-00 I have to pay in that my medical aid doesn't cover and everyone will see why I am not very happy.

So please, don't be a ****, los die ander mense se fietse uit!

How do you know it was a practical joke?

Wishing you a speedy recovery No Hare.

All very frustrating, not knowing who did it, and the fact that you just have to sit there unable to do anything you enjoy. with financial pressure mounting.

Get well soon.

How do you know it was a practical joke?

The reference to a "practical joke" refers more to those individuals that contemplate playing jokes on their mates and the consequences it may have.

As for me: the world is full of knowledgeable idiots or is it intelligent idiots? (Someone smarter than me will have to help out with the wording here)

man that is pretty bizarre. I'm all for jokes but this was never going to be that funny in the first place. i'm 9 weeks into cracked ribs and it has been like torture

'n grap is 'n grap, maar jy maak nie 'n sambreel in 'n man se hol oop nie!!

This sort of expression is what makes afrikaans such a beautiful language!

The reference to a "practical joke" refers more to those individuals that contemplate playing jokes on their mates and the consequences it may have.

As for me: the world is full of knowledgeable idiots or is it intelligent idiots? (Someone smarter than me will have to help out with the wording here)

knowledgeable idiot - a moron with just enough "know-how" to be dangerous.

intelligent idiot - a moron with enough savvy to recognize when his action will be hurtful, but still deems the reward worth the risk.

As to which of the above "pranked" you, the jury is still out on that.

I just read up on C3-C5 Compression Injury, as I hit the beach head first in '97, and ended up floating face down. My boet pulled me out, and I managed to get up and "walk if off"...or so I thought. Today, I still have issues. I stupidly declined medical attention at the time.

What I saw now makes me realize how absolutely lucky you were. Your injury could so very easily have been a life altering event, whereby you could potentially be paralyzed, in need of 24/7 breathing assistance.

I strongly suggest you do what V12 says, as what happened to you was grossly negligent and amounts to assault (I am not a legal expert, but I can't see how that is not the case).

You should not let this slide. I pray you make a full recovery.

Frankly if I was the boss, it would be non negotiable lie detector sessions for everyone...

And the question is not "did you do it" ?

but

"you know who did it. Yes or No"

Because someone who did this as a joke, and before you crashed, certainly told his mates about it. As in "F@kkit, check hierdie. Ek het sy fiets lekker gedokter.  Hy sal sy moer afsoek na daai geraas in sy jokkie.

Because he can't be the grapkas and the main man unless people know he did it.

Somebody doesn't like you, not a joke at all. None of my friends would dare touch my bike, maybe move it is the furtherest they have done and I gave them a word for just doing that.