LOL we actually do it ourselves. Most of us here in my shop have a forklift and engine towing license but our storemen don't so we do it while they watch and sign the pickslip for us. I remember when we had to do work on a Rolls Royce trent 1000 and we had to move that thing. It is MASSIVE and a lot bigger than what we used to. The biggest we used to is like a trent 500 or 700. The 1000 only just fitted through our entry door. Even the manager came onto the floor to help watch out to see we don't bump it. From the seat of the forklift you could see nothing, so had to rely on the guys around you. It was for a 3rd party once off customer that actually flew in their own technicians, we just supplied workshop space, tooling and because they were actually pretty cool okes the beers and braai vleis the day before they left.

I’m sure you’ve mentioned “that” braai before?
  • Replies 4.6k

Udvar Hazy in Washington, a highlight of my aviation career! Apart from that last Concorde!

Yet another edit, Concorde in New York??

That is Concorde in NYC. I have a similar pic from a greyer day last November . . . .

post-4874-0-42509100-1570775374_thumb.jpg

And on the Intrepid next door they have lots of planes, including an SR-71 and a Space Shuttle . . .

Actually, it's not, it's an A-12 "Oxcart", which was the precursor to the SR-71 (which was the picture I posted from the Steven F. Udvar-Hazy Center.

I always like to take pics of the under carriage on planes too. 

These are all from BOAD @ NYC

I was so miffed when I found out it was an extra $20 to go on-board the Concorde and only via a 60-minute tour.

Edited by bertusras

I always like to take pics of the under carriage on planes too. 

These are all from BOAD @ NYC

If it was in SA they would have had to clamp it down a bit better than that or it would have been recycled by now! :ph34r:  :whistling:

I was so miffed when I found out it was an extra $20 to go on-board the Concorde and only via a 60-minute tour.

One of the best pieces of luck was when my daughter and I were at the Intrepid, an ex-BA pilot was taking a group of worthies on a private tour and we were allowed to join.

My daughter was even allowed to sit in the left-hand set...

I’m sure you’ve mentioned “that” braai before?

On that subject I know someone who worked at SAA Technical his entire life, who spent his time there waiting for retirement day,  who would not sit at the same table as black person, had a lekka braai made from to nicked Ti jet engine exhaust flange / pipe, he was very proud of it.

Edited by kosmonooit

On that subject I know someone who worked at SAA Technical his entire life, who had a lekka braai made from to nicked Ti jet engine exhaust flange / pipe, he was very proud of it.

Like the Johnny Cash song about the guy working at the Cadillac factory and stole a car one piece at a time over the course of his career and the challenges of fitting it all together : front fender from a '47 but a headlight from a '61, a engine from '50 and a transmission from '59, etc.

Edited by eddy

And on the Intrepid next door they have lots of planes, including an SR-71 and a Space Shuttle . . .

Enterprise was built as a test vehicle, no engines and no heat shield. It never made any space flights. I thoroughly enjoyed seeing it, however to see Discovery at Udvar Hazy in Washington was quite something for me. The burn marks and heat damage baring witness to the extreme temperatures of re entry. Brave people flew on those! I spent ages wandering about the exhibit trying to imagine the whole thing.

I concluded that I am happy in the Gucci Jet delivering the boss to various parts of the world!

Checking on Flight Radar to see when my colleague lands in Kuwait and have been watching this Atlas Air. He must be loaded with gas, at least 40 mins holding and what looks to be 9 or 10 laps of the race track! ( that sounds about right to)

Watching aeries divert all over the place and still several holding to the south.

BA Heathrow to Kuwait just landed in Dammam, Saudi.

100 m RVR in heavy fog in Kuwait this morning. An expensive and time consuming exercise for all these folks this morning.

Time to Spare.......Go by Air!post-52292-0-93425500-1570939361_thumb.png

Checking on Flight Radar to see when my colleague lands in Kuwait and have been watching this Atlas Air. He must be loaded with gas, at least 40 mins holding and what looks to be 9 or 10 laps of the race track! ( that sounds about right to)

Watching aeries divert all over the place and still several holding to the south.

BA Heathrow to Kuwait just landed in Dammam, Saudi.

100 m RVR in heavy fog in Kuwait this morning. An expensive and time consuming exercise for all these folks this morning.

Time to Spare.......Go by Air! 6197AA14-B8A2-4C61-907A-8913E571071E.png

That's a lot of laps

On that subject I know someone who worked at SAA Technical his entire life, who spent his time there waiting for retirement day,  who would not sit at the same table as black person, had a lekka braai made from to nicked Ti jet engine exhaust flange / pipe, he was very proud of it.

I have heard rumors about this exhaust flange braai. We have so many of those scrap tail pieces in our scrap store but funny enough our braai, as well as just about all the braai's in technical, are all the typical 44 gallon drum story. My workshop is on the 1st floor of a 3 floor building. We have a really lekker balcony and many moons ago the guys put up a roof and turned this area into a braai area. Over time we have made changes here and there but we have an awesome view of emperors palace and the aircraft landing on 03L or taking off from 21R. It gets used a lot..........