Thanks Julien Louw

Props where props are due, I spent the weekend in Hoogekraal at the Skills clinic offered by Julien Louw (MTBSkills).

It was a great weekend out and I was honestly amazed at how much I learnt, even in a group setting you still get that personal attention with some added bonus of camaraderie.

I have been ridding for a few years and you learn as you go, I guess more often than you can imagine. We took a baseline ride when we were nice and fresh Saturday down Cobra, and then spent some time in the skills park working on the basics.

Sunday was more ridding, ending with another timed run down Cobra where I was tired and I made a few mistakes, which I can now see as well, I still managed a 30s improvement.

Coming down the last line even I was amazed at how naturally I was ridding better, taking some of the turns so fast and sharp that I would probably be able to pick up a rock off the floor, from rolling every table or casing them if I had the balls to try, I cleared every single one coming down without even thinking about it. Not even touching brakes and I normally live on them. lol

I am sure I can get even better, and now its up to me to work on it and hopefully not forget, but I will be joining him again in a few months either 1on1 or at his next clinic for a refresher. Coming out of this weekend I feel like a whole new ridder, cannot wait to hit the bike again and it was worth every penny and more.

While I even took a photo on Sat, I had not realised that Cobra was rated Black expert, on my home trails I actively avoid those.

https://youtu.be/PZS1F_DNEBw

Edited by Reme Le Hane

Well done for doing this skills session. It will definitely improve your riding, that's for sure.

I was there when you guys were getting tutored, and it was refreshing to see so many people get up-skilled. Some of the kids were whipping their way down the intermediate table top line.

Reme I saw Julien teach a group of kids last year.

RESPECT !