What is this bike worth?

Robert Du Preez

Hi Guys

Very new to this site and was hoping to get some advice. 

I took ownership of the attached bike as payment when one of my clients was short on cash. I need to sell it, but have no idea what it's worth... Could anyone here give me a ballpark figure perhaps? 

It's a Giant XTC and the frame size seems to be 19" (which makes it a 29er according to my research?) 

Any information would be very helpful.

Thank you 

PXL_20210921_081036354.jpg

PXL_20210921_081030854.jpg

PXL_20210921_081023131.jpg

PXL_20210921_081017575.jpg

PXL_20210921_081011915.jpg

Hi Robert

WELCOME to the Hub.

It is very possibly a 26'' with a Medium frame.  Have a look on the tire sidewall for something like: "26x2,1".  The first being the tire diameter, the second being the tire width.

Would help if you could confirm 26 vs 29.

Edited by ChrisF

I’m no bike expert or mechanic but I’d take a guess, it would probably be around 10k but nothing more than that as it has shimano deore xt, shimano hydraulic brakes and the stanchions of the fork look really clean (after a while of use and neglect they get these black rubbery residue on them) 

11 minutes ago, ChrisF said:

Hi Robert

WELCOME to the Hub.

It is very possibly a 26'' with a Medium frame.  Have a look on the tire sidewall for something like: "26x2,1".  The first being the tire diameter, the second being the tire width.

Would help if you could confirm 26 vs 29.

Thanks guys, just had a look on the Tyre and it says 26x2.10 so I guess it's a 26er then? 

Hi Robert,

A realistic price for a 26er these days with the specs/components as in the photos would be a max of R3/3.5k. Depending on the person who buys it, you only need one to see the value in what you are seeing.  Newer and better equipped 29ers start at about R7k second hand.

See @Chip has commented much of the same.

17 minutes ago, Ernst Kromhout said: