Spoke Nipple Breakage

AllenH

Hi all,

I'm new to MTB and loving it, I used to do Enduro riding with petrol power and this feels like home just a whole lot more fun (and alot more hard work ????) .

I got myself this Momsen AL229 from Cash Converters for R7k, it seemed in good nick and my new riding mate who helped me get into the sport said it was a decent deal... So here we are.

I've ridden the thing a total of 1 time on a track, Big Red Barn in Irene - 12km and the thing now has 3 broken spoke nipples, again. When I bought it, it had 1 broken spoke nipple in the front which I was told was no big deal, a full service and truing of what I assume was only the front wheel at a bike Shop in PTA East for about R1200 with +/- R450 in pedals and stuff I asked for, it was all hunky dory and the bike felt good. I pull the bike out of the garage now to load on my bakkie  for a lekker afternoon ride and find 2 more spoke nipples in front and 1 back are again broken off.

I'm so bummed as I was assured this thing was good to go after the service, and at this point I could have bought a much newer bike for R9K from a bike shop in some equally cool colours.

Pic attached of what the spoke end looks like, when I got the bike back they wheels looked pretty true, on the day of the ride they looked a bit wobbly but I was told it was the sealant in the tire that was causing that.

20211031_141246.jpg

20211031_141236.jpg

• Replies 32
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Those are alloy nipples. you'll need to get them rebuilt with brass nipples. 

Alloy nipples corrodes overtime and starts to crack.

Sealant don't get there. The rim will be sealed over the spoke holes with tape.  

Should not be to expensive to get sorted

Edited by topcat