• Replies 65

4 hours ago, betaboy said:

Not allowed near matches on National BrAAi Day is a good start. 🤔🤓

Do you even have National Braai day .... on that side of the curtain ?

11 hours ago, ChrisF said:

Do you even have National Braai day .... on that side of the curtain ?

100%… I like celebrating the “wors” as do many in September with The Prodigy playing… I ‘m a firenstarter, a twisted fire  starter’ 🎶 🙃

3 hours ago, DJR said:

Yes, but we braai on charcoal and in a Weber 🤪

Charcoal is for barbecues over the pond! Here we use good natural woods for flavour, if you know. You know.🤓👍🏻

Hi guys, one of these people is me. I rent in Zwaanswyk and assumed that once it was all open here (given that the fire came right up to my house, once we were open for business again, I considered it all done with) everything was open again. Seeing bikes going into Tokai all week when I drive past, etc.

My wife sent me the post about Tokai being closed a couple of days after I rode in there, haven’t been in since! I don’t regularly visit Facebook or here and there’s no signs at the entrance point or anywhere else to indicate it’s closed.

Additionally, there were fire service workers in there patrolling, I stopped and talked to them for a while. There were other tire tracks. Nothing to indicate it was closed still! I apologise for any harm caused and have donated to the repair fund, and have already offered my time to help. For what it’s worth, I did clear some areas on the trails, too.

7 minutes ago, Conrad Hughes said:

Hi guys, one of these people is me. I rent in Zwaanswyk and assumed that once it was all open here (given that the fire came right up to my house, once we were open for business again, I considered it all done with) everything was open again. Seeing bikes going into Tokai all week when I drive past, etc.

My wife sent me the post about Tokai being closed a couple of days after I rode in there, haven’t been in since! I don’t regularly visit Facebook or here and there’s no signs at the entrance point or anywhere else to indicate it’s closed.

Additionally, there were fire service workers in there patrolling, I stopped and talked to them for a while. There were other tire tracks. Nothing to indicate it was closed still! I apologise for any harm caused and have donated to the repair fund, and have already offered my time to help. For what it’s worth, I did clear some areas on the trails, too.

Very valid points Conrad. A Facebook post is not adequate communication, and the cycling community is prone to overreact. Putting up proper signage about trail closure on site is the first step when you close a trail. Social media, newsletter and press releases then need to follow, and having an official on site to also communicate trail closure will also help in ensuring compliance. 

Communication of the closures is terrible.

None of the trails in Silvermine east have red tape or signs and the website isn't updated with any closures

If there was proper communication and clear, visible directive I'm sure there would be a lot less rogue riding/running/hiking etc up the mountain

7 hours ago, Bro Derek said:

Communication of the closures is terrible.

None of the trails in Silvermine east have red tape or signs and the website isn't updated with any closures

If there was proper communication and clear, visible directive I'm sure there would be a lot less rogue riding/running/hiking etc up the mountain

REALLY ?? :eek:

FIre = STAY AWAY !!!  And there were MANY such calls ...

It is an automatic closure until the all clear is given

The trail closure has been communicated via other media as well included radio and residential Crime Watch Alerts and Deep South Alerts No guarantee that everyone will be reached.

With rangers, SANBI and other officialdom in and out of the park its not feasible to string up red tape. I dropped by the rangers hut last weekend and they said its closed. So if anyone is stopping at the hut to sign into the park they will be told its closed. SANPARK acknowledge they could have guards at the entrance but their rangers are engaged in accessing damage and rescuing injured animals. We do need to self police here.

No worries Conrad, take a big man to own a mistake, kudos bru✔️👌

2 hours ago, DieselnDust said:

The trail closure has been communicated via other media as well included radio and residential Crime Watch Alerts and Deep South Alerts No guarantee that everyone will be reached.

With rangers, SANBI and other officialdom in and out of the park its not feasible to string up red tape. I dropped by the rangers hut last weekend and they said its closed. So if anyone is stopping at the hut to sign into the park they will be told its closed. SANPARK acknowledge they could have guards at the entrance but their rangers are engaged in accessing damage and rescuing injured animals. We do need to self police here.

No worries Conrad, take a big man to own a mistake, kudos bru✔️👌

The website still reads that you can arrive and go in

If you don't follow the channels you will look at the website and see what's what.

FB, Twitter, the radio..... I wouldn't even think of using these as my primary source of information when I have a website 

Not updating the website is ridiculous. 

Using social media and assuming that people do too is also ridiculous. 

Update the website and put basic things on the ground. 

4 minutes ago, Bro Derek said:

If you don't follow the channels you will look at the website and see what's what.

FB, Twitter, the radio..... I wouldn't even think of using these as my primary source of information when I have a website 

Very interesting line of thought .....

Those that use websites are bound to agree with you.  (I typically use websites when I dont know an area)

Social media ... damn thing is splintered up into so many bits that it would be a full time job updating each platform .... and it would seem that many are now using this as their primary source of information. 

Radio .... I followed this event on the radio in the car.  (yes, I am that old)

Newspaper .... do these this exist ? (sarcasm)  Okay, let's face it, the circulation numbers of newspapers are drastically down, with many closed down long ago.  Then again, some people still prefer this over social media ....

Ironic that the very increase in modes of communication is making effective mass communication so much more difficult.

Disclaimer - every so often my job has me on sites while the fire embers are still smoldering.  So for me it is a well known concept that any area affected by a fire is off limits until the all clear is given.  Bit of an eye opener for me to see how many people are not aware of this most basic safety concept.

22 minutes ago, Bro Derek said:

Lekker Friday rant post Bro

1 minute ago, DieselnDust said:

Lekker Friday rant post Bro

It's not a rant. Posting baited posts like this is extremely 'I'm a bikehub legend so I can say what I want because everyone knows me' kind of attitude that stops new people engaging.

The fact that the dedicated website still indicates that you can arrive between x hours, pay x and use the area is a shambles.

Radio is live, If you were masturbating or watching your kid playing sport then you've missed it. If you live elsewhere then you've missed it.

One also has no way of dictating how facebook display your posts, so it's even difficult to find up to date information using a search engine. 

They have said many times they were putting tape and signs up at trail entries etc but haven't done so.

Lots of people are using the mountain currently. It's unsafe and they don't want you up there, are complaining about it, yet also aren't taking reasonable measures to avoid it.