Thanks for the concern shown, and words of encouragement I received.

My whatsapp training group reminded me of similar incidents on Malanshoogte road a year or two back, also involving a White Corsa bakkie. What are the chances that these okes resurfaced again?

Must say, Durbanville SAPS are taking this serious, had a call from a female Sergeant on Saturday afternoon to get some more info, and then a Captain followed up yesterday morning, going over my statement and asking more questions for clarification.

Going to report incident to my insurers this morning, let's see if King Price makes me jump through hoops or not.

• Replies 2.9k

Cape Town – Police have launched a manhunt for the suspects behind an attack on a father and daughter who were cycling in the Durbanville area at the weekend.

The three assailants armed with knives made off with their cellphones and money.

“A robbery case was registered for investigation after the complainant and his daughter were robbed of their cellphones and money.

“According to reports, the incident occurred on Saturday at about 8am when they were riding on their bicycles. They were confronted by knife-wielding suspects who threatened and robbed them. The suspects fled the scene when two vehicles stopped to assist the victims.”

A local security company warned residents following the incident.

“Three men with knives appeared out of nowhere on the back road to Joostenbergvlakte (close to Fisantekraal) and robbed them of their cellphones. Luckily, a truck with farmers came to their rescue and scared off the men.”

The company said that at this time of year runners and cyclists were targeted by criminals as they were spending hours on the road training for major events happening in the next few months.

“There have been several attacks the past few weeks, not only in Durbanville and surrounds, but Gordon’s Bay and Somerset West as well.”

The company advised runners and joggers not to make use of earphones, to try to gather as many friends as possible, to arm themselves with a Tazer or pepper spray, not to carry valuables and to stay on main roads.

https://www.iol.co.za/capetimes/news/hunt-for-armed-suspects-who-attacked-father-daughter-cycling-18997176

Gotta be careful out there guys an gals, lot's of seriously detached okes walking around willing to do whatever it takes to make a quick buck.. as if we don't have enough to worry about already with the taxis, trucks, buses and angry drivers on the roads

Cape Town – Police have launched a manhunt for the suspects behind an attack on a father and daughter who were cycling in the Durbanville area at the weekend.

The three assailants armed with knives made off with their cellphones and money.

“A robbery case was registered for investigation after the complainant and his daughter were robbed of their cellphones and money.

“According to reports, the incident occurred on Saturday at about 8am when they were riding on their bicycles. They were confronted by knife-wielding suspects who threatened and robbed them. The suspects fled the scene when two vehicles stopped to assist the victims.”

A local security company warned residents following the incident.

“Three men with knives appeared out of nowhere on the back road to Joostenbergvlakte (close to Fisantekraal) and robbed them of their cellphones. Luckily, a truck with farmers came to their rescue and scared off the men.”

The company said that at this time of year runners and cyclists were targeted by criminals as they were spending hours on the road training for major events happening in the next few months.

“There have been several attacks the past few weeks, not only in Durbanville and surrounds, but Gordon’s Bay and Somerset West as well.”

The company advised runners and joggers not to make use of earphones, to try to gather as many friends as possible, to arm themselves with a Tazer or pepper spray, not to carry valuables and to stay on main roads.

https://www.iol.co.za/capetimes/news/hunt-for-armed-suspects-who-attacked-father-daughter-cycling-18997176

He's a hubber, not very active.

Any news on the guy that got stabbed in the leg on Table Mountain????

there's a ride planned this evening i think at 6pm to get the bergies out the area, klom of them sleeping in the area and bushes.

apparently the rasta is known in the area, ie. he's been staying/loafing/asking for trouble long time

there's a ride planned this evening i think at 6pm to get the bergies out the area, klom of them sleeping in the area and bushes.

apparently the rasta is known in the area, ie. he's been staying/loafing/asking for trouble long time

My understanding is that this isn't a ride, its a walk through  the area combing the bushes for hideouts.

Edited by wolver

Table Mountain Bikers The area we are going to be walking through has been a known crime hot spot for 2-3 years.Many people use the track to get to the cable station and criminals know this. What we want to find out is are there people living in the area and if they are, we will alert the rangers to this. Spending the night on the mountain, outside of designated camping sites, is illegal. What is also worth noting is that fires have started in areas where there are a number of people sleeping in a general area on the mountain. In the Deer Park area, up to 50 individuals have been counted, living there at one time. A number of fires have started in Deer Park. We want to go on regular walks on the mountain and show that we are aware of the criminal element that uses the mountain to hide and perpetrate crime. We did the same 8 years ago when TMB started. We refused to hand over the recreational spaces on the mountain to the criminals and got together a cyclists and kept on riding in groups.It's our response to crime - not to give in, but to keep riding.

Better put in some effort to clear this area up - the front of Table Mountain is Epic Prologue territory - just saying - potentially, a robbery and a stabbing of just one international rider can KILL the race and seriously harm the Cape as a tourist destination. Imagine that getting televised globally! Better clean up SANParks and SAPS! NOW! And while you are at it, sommer clean up the Rhodes Mem and Newlands problem as well!