Those batteries need time to recharge. Works great with 2 hours of loadshedding per day, not so lekker when we go into stage 4/5/6.

My brother in law spent thousands on UPS solutions for his servers (he does online back/web hosting/other tech services) - his servers cannot go down otherwise a thousand of his client's websites also go down. The UPS solution didn't work during stage 4 as the batteries did not have time to recharge between the "offs". He slept at the office last week to start up diesel genies every morning at 3AM.

Going full solar now - moerse expensive, but the only real long term sustainable solution.

JIP, UPS was never designed for 3x 2,5h power outages per day, ie Stage 4 as we had all of last week ....

Going to be a hectic week trying to catch up on lost time .... not as if our project dates are going to move due to load shedding .....  And yet the prediction is for Stage 1 on Monday, which means we are dead in the water from 6 to 8:30 .... thus only properly up and running by 9:0, by which time I am already on the road for project meetings.

I had a small genny for home ... toooo damn loud !!  Got rid of it, and did a basic PV installation.  We have not used Eskom lights in 4 years, and I can watch tv if I really want to, though we mostly listen to the 12V radio.  Gas stove and solar geyser means we are even less reliant on eskom.

Edited by ChrisF
  • Replies 16.1k

Do most folks turn these pins in a bit, out a bit or leave them as is at first?

There is very little room to turn them out, I think like 2 turns and they out. Fully turned in I already lost a pin.

Scott Spark 930 (2018)

MTB Vids: ltstyt.be/@remelehane

I used LockTight when I fitted mine

Did that when I got my vaults, I was smarter then, although I think it may have been u who suggested it to me.

The holes are very short, not sure if it screwed or got ripped out with a rock strike, not sure LockTight would help with that, but rather use it than not.

Scott Spark 930 (2018)

MTB Vids: ltstyt.be/@remelehane

I did not do this, over December I lost 3 pins in my Spank pedals.Where can the pins be purchased, if anybody knows?

Get the sizing, i know getstokeddistribution has dmr pins that can be ordered via your lbs

If I'm not mistaken. It's called grub screws, so any nut and bolt place

You are correct good sir. They are grub screws. Best bet would be to take your pedal to a fastener place in an industrial area and get the right size and test it.

I would go for grade 12.9 steel or stainless if you can find it. May not be able to find either and have to stick to Gr8.8, which is fine, just not as strong as 12.9.