Recommend Me a Protein Shake

P.A.K.

Hi guys,

I have searched the forum but could not find and concrete results.

For the past 2 months I started training more intensely than usual. I found that my body takes long to recover after a decent workout - sometimes more than two days.

From what I understand I could benefit from having some whey protein directly after my workouts to aid in recovery.

I am however a complete noob with these supplements, and don't know what to look for in a protein shake. Any advice will be appreciated.

I should also add that I am a bit overweight at the moment, and currently on the Weigh-Less diet, which includes a surprising amount of carbs, but not much protein.

My idea is to take the protein shake once a day after my morning workout, replacing the recommended protein (yogurt or milk). I would still have 2 slices of toast together with the shake, as per Wheigh-less.

So, who can tell me what I must look for in a protein shake, possibly recommend some brands etc. Hopefully there is something cost-effective.

Thank you very much!

• Replies 40
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I go with EnduraShake from Pace and Power: http://www.paceandpower.za.net, their shop is at St Peters Primary school in Joburg. Have a chat to Megan who runs the place she's pretty clued up on nutrition etc....

Good for pre race loading and post race recovery.

Also some L-Glutamine with whatever you have after training and an additional serving before bedtime. Helps a lot

I use Evox Whey Protein (cookies & cream flavor).

I only use mine after high intensity training session though and not as a meal replacement.

I use USN's whey protein. Mixes easy with water, juice or chocolate milk. I use vanilla which means you can mix with anything even in a fruit smoothie. It has some L- glutamine in it. It can be mixed without a blender.