E-Bikes on Tygerberg MTB trail

energizer2k

After taking a friends commuter e-file for a loop around the block after our braai I have to admit, they are a hoot if you just gooi full throttle all the time. I nearly lost the back end twice trying to klap corners at ridiculous speeds.

I'm not really adding anything to the thread other than to say this experience has changed my viewpoint on ebikes on trails to: "Whatever man, let the lazy people have fun."

• Replies 212

Having ridden motorbikes on mtb trails(lead bike regularly) I honestly see no issue with an e-bike in non competition use.

Downhills- the extra weight on a normal mtb fork/wheel/brake/tyre setup is going to affect handling so they not gonna be beating you on downhill sections(I am commenting with the giant ebike in mind as it is the only one I have tested). In tight technical downhills an enduro motorbike with very well set up front end is not much faster than top mtb riders on bicycles cos the bicycles are so light to flick around and tend to dance across the top of the rocks better, and an enduro motorbike has much better suspension, tyres and brakes. So a super heavy mountain bike on mtb tyres and brakes will not be much faster.

On a climb they are only assisted so your pedalling will still limit the speed available, and climbing the relative speeds will be slower(read safer) so also not such a big issue. 

When I get old, and can't pedal so hard cos of age, I will be on an e-bike so I can keep enjoying the mountains and trails.

After taking a friends commuter e-file for a loop around the block after our braai I have to admit, they are a hoot if you just gooi full throttle all the time. I nearly lost the back end twice trying to klap corners at ridiculous speeds.

I'm not really adding anything to the thread other than to say this experience has changed my viewpoint on ebikes on trails to: "Whatever man, let the lazy people have fun."

I know of a guy that has a heart condition that precludes him from riding high intensity (above 80% HR). He used to love riding places like Jonkershoek, but to get to the good stuff would just take way too long to get to as he had to either walk at a very slow pace, or only cycle in short stints to get to the good stuff. Its also a bit of a double whammy, as he now spends less time riding, his fitness is not what it used to be, meaning that he is even more limited to what he can and cannot ride. I know he'll gladly carry the "lazy" tag if it means that he can enjoy the trails like he used to and slowly build up his fitness to enable him to use less and less assistance. As for me... I am one of those lazy buggers ^_^

Having ridden motorbikes on mtb trails(lead bike regularly) I honestly see no issue with an e-bike in non competition use.

Downhills- the extra weight on a normal mtb fork/wheel/brake/tyre setup is going to affect handling so they not gonna be beating you on downhill sections(I am commenting with the giant ebike in mind as it is the only one I have tested). In tight technical downhills an enduro motorbike with very well set up front end is not much faster than top mtb riders on bicycles cos the bicycles are so light to flick around and tend to dance across the top of the rocks better, and an enduro motorbike has much better suspension, tyres and brakes. So a super heavy mountain bike on mtb tyres and brakes will not be much faster.

On a climb they are only assisted so your pedalling will still limit the speed available, and climbing the relative speeds will be slower(read safer) so also not such a big issue. 

When I get old, and can't pedal so hard cos of age, I will be on an e-bike so I can keep enjoying the mountains and trails.

Yes and yes. I am yet to see a counter argument for them that made sense to me. If you don't like them, then cool, but all other arguments I've heard holds no truth.

i wouldnt mind.. 

seeing as this might be an add on option

32794b298ac05d30af9209aca2ca612f.jpg

The Bionicon e-ram is claimed to be the world's lightest mid-mount electric bike motor. It's being included on the company's new Edison Evo mountain bike, although it may be transferrable to other models.

• 4 months later...

I see even the Berg n Bush this year has a division for E-Bikes, obv there will be certain rules you will have to abide by. But if race organizers are starting to consider them on stage races then i'm sure others will follow and seeing e-bikes in races and on the trails is a reality thats coming whether you like them or not.

I only dislike them because I can't afford them. And that's probably a good thing because if i only had to turn the pedals over to get up the hills while the motor did the rest I reckon that's all I'd do. I doubt I'd get any fitter or stronger.

Remember with a pedal assist bike you control the output of the motor, with less ouput you will still need to work going up the hills

• 2 years later...

Love reading through this old thread. Most so against e bikes and a lot not even knowing what it is but they dislike it???????? now they all around us on the trails and you barely notice.

People are so afraid of what they don't know.

I have a couple of friends on them and except for a little buzzing behind you on the hills there's nothing different. Though people still get upset when they get passed by e bikes on the hills never mind the fact there's normal bikes in the bunch. ????

Why dont we just open and "Ebikes bikes bitch and moan thread" like an agony auntie column where everyone can go and complain and gnash their teeth about e bikes and get over it rather than resurrect the topics in new ways shapes and forms.

I have one and its great. There i said it. My name is Paul and i have an ebike and i love the fricking thing.

I also have a whole lot of bikes but they don't have motors ... I used to love them but i don't love them as much as i do my ebike.

So on Sunday i experienced my 1st ever encounter with an E-Bike at Modders. Saw the guy getting ready in parking area and headed off about 10 min before him. On the first long climb up next to the fence he came past, my brain starting hating him and i sooooo wanted to chirp him. But he did politely thank me for the gap (I heard him coming up behind me).

But then i looked at the rider - He was a huge oke, probably 140 kg a massive upper body, basically a heart attack waiting to happen, he was riding with a mate who was a slim guy on a normal MTB. It became clear that he was or had decided to do something about his weight and health and if it were not for E-Bike he'd be sitting at home getting fatter, while his mate was out riding. 

Kind of puts a different perspective of the debate - E-bikes do belong on trails and in races if it gets these guys out on bikes improving their weight and health issues.

So on Sunday i experienced my 1st ever encounter with an E-Bike at Modders. Saw the guy getting ready in parking area and headed off about 10 min before him. On the first long climb up next to the fence he came past, my brain starting hating him and i sooooo wanted to chirp him. But he did politely thank me for the gap (I heard him coming up behind me).

But then i looked at the rider - He was a huge oke, probably 140 kg a massive upper body, basically a heart attack waiting to happen, he was riding with a mate who was a slim guy on a normal MTB. It became clear that he was or had decided to do something about his weight and health and if it were not for E-Bike he'd be sitting at home getting fatter, while his mate was out riding. 

Kind of puts a different perspective of the debate - E-bikes do belong on trails and in races if it gets these guys out on bikes improving their weight and health issues.

My good friend suffered a severe leg fracture last year and decided that now is a good time for an E-Bike.

He got himself a lekker Levo.

He has now gained 10kg.

How is that for a different perspective?

PS - My feelings are neutral towards ebikes.

Love reading through this old thread. Most so against e bikes and a lot not even knowing what it is but they dislike it now they all around us on the trails and you barely notice.

People are so afraid of what they don't know.

I have a couple of friends on them and except for a little buzzing behind you on the hills there's nothing different. Though people still get upset when they get passed by e bikes on the hills never mind the fact there's normal bikes in the bunch.

It's the STRAVA junkies that worry about their segments! 

I had one, really miss the fun on the trails

I was told by a coach that she has been losing weight on her E Bike as she sits in her fat burn zone most of the time coaching, so E bike i think has a place for the overweight person but diet  is all so impotent.