Cost of MTB racing....

TSF

Transcape is 614 km and a heady R33 500 PP for the guest house option  - Thats R54.56 per km. The Epic is no longer no. one. Are you listening Iron Man???

• Replies 50

you sure you dont work for advendurance? :ph34r:

No, I just used their races for an example as they seem to attract large amount of people to their events.....well in Gauteng at least.

Something else one should add to the cost of the race is travel costs there and back. A R300.00 race down the road is much cheaper than a R20.00 race in Cpt.

Personally I would go for entry fee per day for stage races and add the costs not covered by the entry fee to see if a race is good value for money.

My perception of value for money is not really linked to kilometers unless stages are ridiculously short.

That's the cool thing about this.... we all see value slightly differently. So trying to use somebody else's value calculation on your view will never work. But because I have never attached value to Km, I have never done the calculation. So it's just cool to see others viewpoints on this.

I for one lean towards your view of days etc, food quality, networking, less single track the better :P

The problem is that "value for money" and "value for experience"are two different things...

Man oh man I need a benefactor. I wonder if Zuma needs someone to ride all of SA's stage races for him...

this oke would kill for him, back in the day

Something else one should add to the cost of the race is travel costs there and back. A R300.00 race down the road is much cheaper than a R20.00 race in Cpt.

Hexriver event :

2 x R50 entry fee (for the 5km ride ...)

350km by car to get there and back

toll fee

Breakfast and lunch for three people

I can attach rand values to each of these items

A day out on a farm dirt road with the little one - PRICE LESS !!

PS - I do know that the original post is aimed at a slightly different marked segment.   Just adding a different perspective to the mix.  Pretty sure many of the "casual riders" may share our approach.

PPS - and WHY would Epid/Ironman charge a cent less as long as it sells out in minutes .... supply and demand rules ...

Hexriver event :

A day out on a farm dirt road with the little one - PRICE LESS !!

This is true. Well even for a social ride I find it easy to travel from Kyalami to Buffelsdrift for a 2 hour ride. 100km return + tollgate for a R30.00 ride. But it's still a day out.

However I do think that when one does work out the cost of riding it's something to consider. But then again when I work out how much I spend on beer and biltong it makes me depressed... Think I'll handle cycling the same, there's petrol in the car = I can go ride. No petrol= riding from home

My 2c

If you want to do a tit stage race,,exceptional value for money as far as stage races go

3 towers can't be beat

If you want brilliant chow, and experience a longer stage "race" expience can't beat JOBERG2c

If you want best value for money organize a group ride with a bunch of mates and stop being BEAN COUNTERS it's a life experience if you can afford it DO IT ,,,if you can't make friends and race the *** out of them and hook up for beers AFTERWARDS and repeat 3 times, boom you have a stage race with less traffic

Ronde ven Vlaanderen (in Belgium on cobbles)

R10,500 for 237km = R44.3 per km (including the flight and weekend accommodation, not including money spent on beer).

here take my money, where do i sign?

If you want best value for money organize a group ride with a bunch of mates and stop being BEAN COUNTERS it's a life experience if you can afford it DO IT ,,,if you can't make friends and race the *** out of them and hook up for beers AFTERWARDS and repeat 3 times, boom you have a stage race with less traffic

Read what you wrote again and process it.

Expecting your call  :whistling:

My 2c

If you want to do a tit stage race,,exceptional value for money as far as stage races go

3 towers can't be beat

If you want brilliant chow, and experience a longer stage "race" expience can't beat JOBERG2c

Mates you say? 

I don't see how people can afford that. For me the most expensive is K2C purely because of the travel and accommodation costs involved. I promised my wife I'll only do 10 so this year it's number 7.

Bicycles have 1 handlebar so I don't believe in team events, multi-stage races are also not that attractive to me since it interferes with my race -> drink -> braai -> hangover routine. 

My limit for an event entry is R2k, which is why I found the Trans Karoo event good value for money.