2 minutes ago, Mook said:

Clearly I have touched a nerve, judging by the slandering and personal attacks that followed my post of yesterday.

Obviously high volumes of corroboration amongst the group of cyclists in question have taken place since yesterday, which is to be expected. Many comments are even made by "cyclists" who were NOT in this group based on the corroborated responses of 2 that apparently rode in this group ................  since context is mentioned above.

The picture was not photoshopped or created by AI. No cyclists or animals were injured during filming. I stand by my statements based on what is clearly visible in the image. 

There were 2 groups of riders - the second group appeared to have broken off from the group in the distance. I overtook the group at the back and moved over to the left lane before some riders from the back group started overtaking me because I was not going fast enough to slipstream to the group in front. All this time the front group(pictured) were riding over the width of the left lane. I spent 20 seconds behind the group in the photo - when I eventually passed them on the right they were still in the same formation ........................ since context is mentioned above.

Calling me a liar wont get you far. I have respect for cyclists with this motto in life "We are grown men with wifes and kids and driver’s licenses. We know how the road works"

The question begs why these loving husbands would jump the red traffic lights at the intersection of Jan van Riebeek and Stokery Roads? Yes, I was there when you arrived at the red intersection and I was still there when you were 700 meters down the road by the time the green came on.

Perhaps you should consider ending your victimhood mentality and realize that, as cyclists, we share the roads with cars and trucks. Neither one of us stand a reasonable chance to survive a hit from any of these vehicles. Stop weaponizing cycling to change the minds of motorists.

Stop your petty personal attacks on those that do not hold or support your opinions. 

I have actually figured out what this is about. You have beef with @Bro Derek ... saw an opportunity to take a pic and come make some point and continue your faf with him.

I apologise for spoiling your motive and come and explain ourselves. Personally being attacked and saying meds won't work on us is offensive. I'm sure with the correct meds we can be saved!

Anyway, will leave you to it then.

• Replies 1.9k

1 hour ago, Mook said:

Stop your petty personal attacks

Toit questioned your motives, which was fair. He then went a touch too far with a statement about your potential past experiences, but other than that no-one has launched any attacks at you. You opened up this narrative with a personal attack suggestion these men need medical intervention beyond what is currently available. The one response you elicited was pretty much on par.

1 hour ago, Mook said:

I spent 20 seconds behind the group in the photo - when I eventually passed them on the right

Why though? This is either extremely odd or extremely suspicious. So many people have pointed this out.

1 hour ago, Mook said:

The question begs why these loving husbands would jump the red traffic lights at the intersection of Jan van Riebeek and Stokery Roads? Yes, I was there when you arrived at the red intersection and I was still there when you were 700 meters down the road by the time the green came on.

I shouldn't bite, as this is just a red herring argument following your original comment, which has not held water thus far, but okay fine... First off, where's your dashcam footage of this, or are we dropping the charade and admitting you were recording on your phone and deliberately positioned yourself behind the group to capture their formation? Secondly, you know why they jumped the red (we all know), but is your argument actually that they were unsafe doing this on a quiet Sunday morning at an intersection where you can see 700m in either direction? Remember, your argument was never one of legality, but in minor part one of safety and in major an objection to them choosing to collectively occupy the space you wanted for your sole self and your car "whilst fully aware of me". Don't add "strawman arguing" to your list of faux pas...

3 hours ago, WaldoZ said:

I have actually figured out what this is about. You have beef with @Bro Derek ... saw an opportunity to take a pic and come make some point and continue your faf with him.

I apologise for spoiling your motive and come and explain ourselves. Personally being attacked and saying meds won't work on us is offensive. I'm sure with the correct meds we can be saved!

Anyway, will leave you to it then.

Mook and I have no beef as far as I know. Sorry if we do

I don't have beef with anyone, I just hope that people like Robbie and others will take a good look at how they view their vehicle, how they use it and whether or not it does in fact need to exist the way it does. Spoiler, it doesn't. 

I doubt it, but like Lloyd Christmas said, even one out of a million still means there is a chance.......

Cyclists can use the road, if there are two lanes, occupy a lane. It will save us the posts about how someone opened their car door without looking and killed someone.

Eish, we all cycle and know this rider 'group' scenario happens to all of us, particularly on quiet roads.

And we know the dangers on busy roads and the relaxed space occupation on empty roads

...... Perhaps the only neutral, unbiased question should be .... is it legal ?  Could one be lawfully and successfully be prosecuted by a zealous cop ?

12 minutes ago, Max Headroom said:

Eish, we all cycle and know this rider 'group' scenario happens to all of us, particularly on quiet roads.

And we know the dangers on busy roads and the relaxed space occupation on empty roads

...... Perhaps the only neutral, unbiased question should be .... is it legal ?  Could one be lawfully and successfully be prosecuted by a zealous cop ?

Legal... you are opening a can of worms there... Defamation law being being broken is witnessed by everyone here.

3 hours ago, Bro Derek said:

I don't have beef with anyone, I just hope that people like Robbie and others will take a good look at how they view their vehicle, how they use it and whether or not it does in fact need to exist the way it does. Spoiler, it doesn't. 

doing shuttle runs for 5 x MTB's will be challenging using a half-loaf. Also, driving up to the cattle and sheep on our family farm will be challenging. Not impossible I dare say, just pretty damn frustrating. Also, carting a bleeding kudu in the back of said half-loaf will also be frowned on by the missus after the hunt. I dunno hey, I find many reasons why my DC 4x4 is THE perfect vehicle to fit my lifestyle. I am not going to apologise for driving what I do. And if that offends anyone, then they can go find some meaningful way to get over it.

And now for something completely different or related… 

I’m not wading into the above arguments. While riding at the weekend I saw a car that had a sticker on the wing mirror that read: “can you the cyclist”. 
Not a prefect solution - no such thing exists - but thought it an idea to have a small visual reminder. 

29 minutes ago, mountian_hare said:

And now for something completely different or related… 

I’m not wading into the above arguments. While riding at the weekend I saw a car that had a sticker on the wing mirror that read: “can you the cyclist”. 
Not a prefect solution - no such thing exists - but thought it an idea to have a small visual reminder. 

These were handed out at CTCT..... they actually suggested giving these to NON cycling friends and relatives ....

On 8/17/2025 at 3:29 PM, Bro Derek said:

There we go. You have quite literally just made what I said in my 2 posts a reality

The first person to want to cling to their car because they use it a lot 

My post before the one you quoted is relevant to your reply.

Not you or anyone can tell me you need a double cab bakkie to visit clients alone

I do t think k that was his point but ya no well, both right and both wrong. More on that later . I’m just trying to catch up here….

On 8/17/2025 at 4:17 PM, Bro Derek said:

How am I wrong?

It's not about you, it is the broad picture. 

You can do whatever you want to. 

You are trying to convince me that there aren't alternatives to what exists. 

If you read my first post and my second posts that flow into the discussion, you will see that your replies quite literally just reinforce what I have said. 

So perhaps stop trying to make it about you, read the comments to understand what I'm saying instead of reading them to be more right, and come back to me.

Again, 1 person in an SUV or Bakkie is not necessary. You can drive a small footprint vehicle when necessary.

Anyway, until you can understand motonormativity, how you fit in and have experienced the alternatives in a working, everyday environment, you will never agree with me. Which is again, the point I was trying to make

I'm not right, as mentioned, we are talking ideals. You are also not right, unless you want to keep making it about you. I don't know you other than your ability to use personal anecdotal facts to prove points on this site, so I can never win that

I learned to ride a bicycle when the only people who owned a bakkie was either a plumber, a builder or a farmer. To buy one you needed to go to the commercial vehicles section of the auto dealership. Now anyone can get one especially those who don’t need it other than to take up two parking bays at the beachfront while they hog the waves on the long long boards or mtb trails. along with prosperity comes a healthy dose of phuquism….

so biggger cars in the same roads has created a space problem. More cars due to a population 4x bigger than it was 30 years ago is another part of the problem.

On 8/17/2025 at 8:28 PM, openmind said:

I'm sorry, but I don't think that's a problem. It's a Sunday morning in a country town, not much traffic and there is a whole other lane for you to pass in. Live and let live.

Agreed, there plenty of space to pass. The cyclists are not the issue. Driving attitude is the big problem . Motorists believe they have more economic right to the roads than anyone else.

23 hours ago, Bro Derek said:

Is there another lane to pass slow moving traffic?

Again, you're seeing the problem from a car/driver point of view and all other road users are the problem when sharing the road with cars.

Motonormativity. 

I will type it 500 times until people can see that the problem IS cars and how they are used/perceived and how THEY share the road when they shouldn't be there a lot of the time anyway. 

Until this entire perspective shifts, none of the peacock clothes, flashing lights and self gratifying behaviour arguments and anecdotes mean anything

People keep saying things to 'prove me wrong' but instead keep showing just how ingrained motonormativity is in our heads.

That perspective is what stops anything from changing. 

Agreed, motonormativity is a global problem driven by high taxation. End user pays, end user believes they have more right. It’s flawed logic but humans are largely stupid creatures driven by simple impulses. 
eg neighbour buys 4tjunher, then “I” must buy a metallic coloured one. Can’t be viewed to be earning less than that box can “l”..?!

cyclist?!  “Nah humbug damn freeloader having fun and the wife’s having a good look at the legs and ass too , let’s just squash the bug like that nerd we locked in his locker back in matric …Jean that’ll teach him to Get all flashy with those legs.”

your average motorist has the EQ of a 5year old, the computing power of a Commodore 64 , the awareness of a blind and deaf sloth and about as much accountability as an ANC minister whilst also filling said ministers cookie jar everytime they fill up. You’d think that this alone would incentivise people to be more independent in their transport choices but sadly …..no……

23 hours ago, Jbr said:

Were they supposed to ride on the empty parking bays ? And then sverve onto the lane every time there's a curb ? what's preventing you from overtaking here ? if there is no trafic I don't see a problem, I'm not saying that because these are close friends of mine. If instead of cyclists there was a car going the same speed or a tractor with only the driver in it, noone would have anything to say about it, yet it would be a single person taking all that space instead of 4+ in your photo.

Well of course, how dare you be infront of a motorist. What gives you the right to fill their field of vision with ass and leg from a chippnedales skit. ?!? Huh what’s wrong you cretins man how dare you make the driver feel non hetero desires, you you you cyclists are the root of all evil, bloody moving pornhub bill boards in your tight Lycra and see through white tops…..and on a Sunday …..die skandaaaal!!

22 hours ago, WaldoZ said:

Is it just me or do I look fat in that photo?

Anyway also a bit out of context photo and you can really say anything there and make up stories. The whole situation was us passing an extremely slow moving car that looked like it wanted to park. It now appears it could have been a stalker waiting to get some pics of us 😁

Yeah you need to diet bro.120gr /hr CHOnis race day only man

22 hours ago, Mook said:

@DuToit Van Den Bergh, you are wasting your condescending rant on the wrong driver, who also happens to be an experienced cyclist.

This very outburst of yours proves my point that many cyclists, like you for example, don't really give 2 hoots about the opinions drivers have of cyclist behavior in general.

Perhaps you and you friends should contemplate why I was driving slowly. Perhaps it had something to do with bicycles all over the road ahead of me while there was clearly more than ample space to stay single file until you reached the outskirts of town.

Mutual respect and consideration from both sides ........ surely you can grasp these concepts.

You can relax, I am quite happy and content with my life.

Are you ? Happy and content…? Well I guess if stalking Lycra clad blokes while having chippendale fantasies is your thing then I guess you might be. I have my doubts bru.. it’s women’s month … is there something you want to share? This is a safe space, it’s Monday.

I really don't support whatever it is that Mook is trying to achieve, but what some people seem to feel are acceptable comments just aren't.

This thread is meant to be about motorists vs cyclists, but what it has unfortunately highlighted is that most cyclists are also motorists ☹️