I was there for wine tasting yesterday and even that was not great… 

it’s shoved in the back corner with zero view making it a very meh wine farm to visit. 
They have a stunning view and do not use it? - bizarre 

• Replies 108

Maybe consider the following .....

All farms are multiple businesses on the same premises.

Meerendal has the following businesses running in parrallel :

1. Wine farming

2. Wine tasting and sales

3. Wheat farming

4. Hospitality units

5. Different restaurants for different markets

6. Open air shows

7. Events tent, with dedicated parking

8. Parkrun .... 

9. Cycling routes

Reality check ... "the owner" of a mega farm seldom gets involved in the day to day details of each of these business units.

This thread started due to an issue with the hospitality business unit.  This issue should be brought to the attention of the hospitality manager.  

Cyclists not being allowed to take their bikes to the restaurants (big grass areas) is a whole different topic.  As much as I miss the good times we had at these restaurants, with our bikes .... this is their businesses, and their right to make rules to optimize their target market ...

TRAILS ... the old complaints are mute.  Patrick's team have already repaired the trails.

Taking a step back, looking at the bigger business picture .... cycling is a small part of their business model.  If the complaints and issues outway the benefits it is easier to stop cycling on the farm ....

All rational thoughts aside .... stopping a toddler with a balance bike .... SAD day for any business when they alienate the next generation of clients.   More than enough other farms that will welcome these clients.

In short:

1. As long as these trails are available we will ride it

2. The trails are in good nick at this moment

3. As long as these rules are in place we will spend our money elsewhere

4. Clearly their epic marketing team are working to a different set of rules .... not the first time money trumps rules ....

12 hours ago, Robbie Stewart said:

@tygerbergmtb

Are you even going to respond to this? Why should this trail be supported by the club if this is how they go about business? Why should part of our yearly fees go towards funding this farm and their rubbish attitude towards cyclists? Why should your member base put up with it? It's time to reconsider your loyalty. Is it towards the landowners, or your members you're so quick to want to hand out PK's to?

Also @tygerbergmtb, I -  and im sure others…didn't take kindly to the passive aggressive ‘PK’ email that was sent out this week….

You are a service provider. Regardless of any fact…that does not warrant you to speak to clients that way.

get a grip.

Forgot to quote this but see above^

11 hours ago, Mtree said:

"you have my full permission to deliver them a moerse PK", as taken from the newsletter.
So when two people be it a land-owner and cyclist, security etc get into fisticuffs on the trails, the standard response is going to be, "Pat said we could hand out PK's".:ph34r::oops:

@tygerbergmtb just some food for thought.

6 minutes ago, capediver said:

Yoh, I don't get this newsletter...but what would I have to do to warrant a "PK"...said "PK" better be legally defensible...(doubtful but lets hear it!!)

Im going to make a thread out of it. This is BS im sorry. 

5 minutes ago, MORNE said:

Yeah, definitely not on....

They will have to re-write their Disciplinary code...

• If the Subcommittee for Discipline finds the accused member guilty of an infringement
  • as charged, it may –
  • warn the member;
  • impose a fine not exceeding R5 000.00 (Five Thousand Rand) on the member;
  • suspend the member for a period not exceeding six months; or,
  • recommend to the Management Committee that the member should be expelled from the Club.

😎

New amendment:

• "Dish out PK's as and when"
Edited by capediver
38 minutes ago, MORNE said:

I emailed them. Please do the same. Thats unacceptable. 

F1325938-CA3E-4C03-9EF5-6816766E198A.jpeg
info@tygerbergmtb.co.za

Will be doing the same shortly.

Unfortunately have noticed a downward trend in managements (read: the club's) attitude toward the cycling community. Glad it's not just me that has the same impression.

Yes, what they have isn't easily replaced, but annoy enough of your member base and you are going to have a problem.

48 minutes ago, capediver said:

Yoh, I don't get this newsletter...but what would I have to do to warrant a "PK"...said "PK" better be legally defensible...(doubtful but lets hear it!!)

It seems that all that is needed is to dare to ride their sacred trails. Then all bets are off and you can get freely bliksemed by any member.

The last time I had some of this was as a surfer at Vic Bay in the mid nineties. There was heavy localism at play and I had to moer my way to the top of the lineup.

Are we there again? It would seem so.

By the way. I rode the Hammer yesterday. I can't see what was done to the trail that would warrant such cocky demeanor.

1 hour ago, Robbie Stewart said:

It seems that all that is needed is to dare to ride their sacred trails. Then all bets are off and you can get freely bliksemed by any member.

Challenge accepted. I'll be in that neck of the woods on the 18th. I'll chat to mtb1234 to get a bike. 

I'll even come dressed in lycra so I'm easy to pick out from the locals

Makes me the f*%cking moer in when people flex their rank without their brain farting first

3 hours ago, MORNE said:

I was away for an hour, thread has disappeared?

Edit, gone from Active Topics now here

Edited by capediver
Edit
3 hours ago, Robbie Stewart said:

The last time I had some of this was as a surfer at Vic Bay in the mid nineties. There was heavy localism at play and I had to moer my way to the top of the lineup.

Are we there again? It would seem so.

By the way. I rode the Hammer yesterday. I can't see what was done to the trail that would warrant such cocky demeanor.

Boet, nobody, and I mean nobody, beat their way to the takeoff when Leonard Giles was out.....

Unless...Leonard...is that you!? If it is, I'm sorry, really sorry, never again....😇

Edited by capediver
43 minutes ago, capediver said:

Boet, nobody, and I mean nobody, beat their way to the takeoff when Leonard Giles was out.....

Unless...Leonard...is that you!? If it is, I'm sorry, really sorry, never again....😇

Nah, not me 🤣

Lucky I was on Muscles Giles good side. He was the only local I never had issues with. I had my best wave at Vic thanks to him. We were sitting at the rock boil up from the take off spot. He was just hanging, I asked if he was going. He looked, said Nah, I turned and paddled into the biggest and longest shack of my life. I got spat out by Green Doors after riding the foam ball from Rod Hossack's spot.

I was mates with Stuart, his nephew. We had many many sessions together and spent many Decembers together at their Herolds Bay beach house.

In my day Len, Rob Pollock, Stephen Hair, Rod Hossack, John Pfaff, Torty Cloete, Shaun Holmes, David Pfaff were the main manne.

2 hours ago, 117 said:

Challenge accepted. I'll be in that neck of the woods on the 18th. I'll chat to mtb1234 to get a bike. 

I'll even come dressed in lycra so I'm easy to pick out from the locals

Makes me the f*%cking moer in when people flex their rank without their brain farting first

You're gonna have to drop the Lycra if you want to stand out. The club is run by Lycra Tigers.