2 hours ago, Skubarra said:

Well they were following the marshall who also missed the turn-off, is it technically a short-cut if the marshalls gave you wrong instructions? And I am fairly certain they still ended up doing longer than the supposed route

I ended up doing about 4km extra because of the missed turn-off, weirdly after we were turned back to the correct route some of the mid-bunch people also missed the turn-off. Not sure how it happened that people kept on missing that turn-off after it was corrected.

I had a fun day on the bike, I enjoyed the flat fast route and would definitely be back next year (on a gravel bike not a mtb) - think most of the critisisms here should be easily fixable and this event have a lot of potential.

Just to be difficult 😜 Try telling this to Emma Pallant who was DQ’d from 947 Ride Joburg after following the lead vehicle the wrong way (she already had quite a healthy lead at the time)… argument is that riders are

to study the course in advance and may only leave the prescribed course if ordered to do so by a police officer. The Regulations go on to state that should the rider take a shortcut that constitutes an advantage, he/she shall be penalised in accordance with point 13 of the table of race incidents. Point 13, among other things, calls for elimination or disqualification.

This is UCI though, not sure of CSA rules. 

• Replies 150

I've just come out of my post-race coma and thought I'd give my race report:

I did the 100 miler. I'm pretty new to endurance events, having done mostly Gravity/Enduro racing since 2015 until I moved to Cape Town at the end of 2021. So this was a farken long race for me.

I did it on my full suspension MTB, which usually has trail/enduro tyres for my general riding. I swopped these out for a 2.4 Maxxis Ikon at the front and a 50mm (2.0) Gravel tyre on the back end. I was ready to roll with the fast dudes.

I was close to the front at the start, and there was a friendly atmosphere and lots of cheerful banter. I was ready to roll slowly off the start and continue the banter, but when the race started, the manne just raced off in a cloud of dust. I managed to catch the back of the group on the tar road (which wasn't closed to traffic btw), when a huge crash happened right in front of me. Two riders went down really hard, and I barely missed one of them. One of the riders looked seriously injured. When I got going again, the main group were nowhere to be seen.

I caught a small group on gravel bikes. They all had "Autism" jerseys on. I sucked their wheels for quite some time. They had a SUV following them. I thought I was at the back of the field and the SUV was a sweeper. Then the SUV started handing out cokes and donuts to the riders. I never got a coke or a donut. These okes had their own support vehicle. I was lank disappointed. The donut-fuelled gravel bros dropped me on the next climb (it was a slight uphill, really). I was now completely alone with just miles of dusty road ahead of me.

I made it to waterpoint 2 and nearly hugged the lovely lady who offered me a hotdog. That was the best hotdog I've ever had. My energy levels were really flagging at this point, but I set off for water point 3.

Waterpoint 3 was not the oasis of treats I was expecting. A short dude was standing next to a table with what looked like paper shot cups. He said: "would you like some weed?" I said, "I don't smoke weed." He looked at me funny. So, I said, "but I'll have one of those tequilas." He said, "it's weed, not tequila." So, I looked at him funny and rode off.  Found out later he was peddling Heed, not weed.

I made it to the end. My Garmin said 157kms. I was lank disappointed. I'm going to draft a letter to the organizers asking a 2% refund for my race fee. I paid for 160kms, not 157.

After the race I could not find the Belgian Beer, but did have one of the best burgers I've had in a while. 

Overall I really enjoyed the race and have no complaints, besides being offered weed and being shortchanged 3kms. I did it in 7 hours and 40 minutes and will do it again. And, no, I'm not buying a gravel bike.

Thanks to the organizers, I'll see you all next year.

2 hours ago, El Duderino said:

I've just come out of my post-race coma and thought I'd give my race report:

I did the 100 miler. I'm pretty new to endurance events, having done mostly Gravity/Enduro racing since 2015 until I moved to Cape Town at the end of 2021. So this was a farken long race for me.

I did it on my full suspension MTB, which usually has trail/enduro tyres for my general riding. I swopped these out for a 2.4 Maxxis Ikon at the front and a 50mm (2.0) Gravel tyre on the back end. I was ready to roll with the fast dudes.

I was close to the front at the start, and there was a friendly atmosphere and lots of cheerful banter. I was ready to roll slowly off the start and continue the banter, but when the race started, the manne just raced off in a cloud of dust. I managed to catch the back of the group on the tar road (which wasn't closed to traffic btw), when a huge crash happened right in front of me. Two riders went down really hard, and I barely missed one of them. One of the riders looked seriously injured. When I got going again, the main group were nowhere to be seen.

I caught a small group on gravel bikes. They all had "Autism" jerseys on. I sucked their wheels for quite some time. They had a SUV following them. I thought I was at the back of the field and the SUV was a sweeper. Then the SUV started handing out cokes and donuts to the riders. I never got a coke or a donut. These okes had their own support vehicle. I was lank disappointed. The donut-fuelled gravel bros dropped me on the next climb (it was a slight uphill, really). I was now completely alone with just miles of dusty road ahead of me.

I made it to waterpoint 2 and nearly hugged the lovely lady who offered me a hotdog. That was the best hotdog I've ever had. My energy levels were really flagging at this point, but I set off for water point 3.

Waterpoint 3 was not the oasis of treats I was expecting. A short dude was standing next to a table with what looked like paper shot cups. He said: "would you like some weed?" I said, "I don't smoke weed." He looked at me funny. So, I said, "but I'll have one of those tequilas." He said, "it's weed, not tequila." So, I looked at him funny and rode off.  Found out later he was peddling Heed, not weed.

I made it to the end. My Garmin said 157kms. I was lank disappointed. I'm going to draft a letter to the organizers asking a 2% refund for my race fee. I paid for 160kms, not 157.

After the race I could not find the Belgian Beer, but did have one of the best burgers I've had in a while. 

Overall I really enjoyed the race and have no complaints, besides being offered weed and being shortchanged 3kms. I did it in 7 hours and 40 minutes and will do it again. And, no, I'm not buying a gravel bike.

Thanks to the organizers, I'll see you all next year.

The autism okes arrived at wp2 as I was stuffing the last of my hotdog into my maw. When the nice hot dog lady asked them what she could get them he announced "het jy n nuwe anus" which made me wonder if he wasn't perhaps on the spectrum.

16 hours ago, Skubarra said:

On a aside - which races form part of the WP league?

I cant quite remember all of them. I know it's:

• Swartberg100
  • Ronde van Riebeek
  • The Ceder 140

I think it includes Prince George and Race to the Sea. Something like your best 4 results count towards the overall standings. 

16 hours ago, Wane Rossouw said:

More riding less moaning - I've seen your results - give the events guys a break. So much negativity on here. I loved the event, so nice to be out and able to ride. 

who is this directed at?

16 hours ago, Wane Rossouw said:

More riding less moaning - I've seen your results - give the events guys a break. So much negativity on here. I loved the event, so nice to be out and able to ride. 

cool story bro. If that's aimed at me and my finish outside the top100 then taken on the chin. I've had enough to say here, but it's all constructive criticism.

These guys might have a valid beef though as I'm guessing that is the shadow from the finish arch

May be an image of 4 people, bicycle and text

image.png.38f8bb4c864465dbca18a45654768e99.png

1 hour ago, KingZA said:

I cant quite remember all of them. I know it's:

• Swartberg100
  • Ronde van Riebeek
  • The Ceder 140

I think it includes Prince George and Race to the Sea. Something like your best 4 results count towards the overall standings. 

Great idea - they should put in some effort to market this... Think these events attract the same crowds so a proper league would be nice.

20 minutes ago, no calves said:

who is this directed at?

… I think it’s for a guy “with calves”?

😜 (my bad). It’s generally good to chat about events since they cost of partaking is an issue. Nothing worse than supporting an lacklust event that leaves a bad taste 👅 in your mouth.

It’s like back in the day, some events handed out smart embroidery patches while others just screen printed…😂😂😂

1 minute ago, betaboy said:

… I think it’s for a guy “with calves”?

😜 (my bad). It’s generally good to chat about events since they cost of partaking is an issue. Nothing worse than supporting an lacklust event that leaves a bad taste 👅 in your mouth.

It’s like back in the day, some events handed out smart embroidery patches while others just screen printed…😂😂😂

i will most certainly race it again, since we were promised free entries... Its a great route and i am certain most will agree. BUT we pay a lot of money for these races AND the cost of travel on top of that and i am sure I have the right to be a little cheesed off. i could have overseen a few of the stuff if it was organized by ie. the lions club of said town of the school itself. but for an events company this is a bit amateurish.

ps. also heard Adrian reversed over someone's bike... 

but even this still does not top a race we did in Beaufort-West where the event was advertised as 45km, at registration they apologized and told us its actually 65km.. finished the race on 105km... did not get lost. the person who rode the route to count the kms forgot about a few sections. needless to say the event never took place again

1 hour ago, no calves said:

i will most certainly race it again, since we were promised free entries... Its a great route and i am certain most will agree. BUT we pay a lot of money for these races AND the cost of travel on top of that and i am sure I have the right to be a little cheesed off. i could have overseen a few of the stuff if it was organized by ie. the lions club of said town of the school itself. but for an events company this is a bit amateurish.

but even this still does not top a race we did in Beaufort-West where the event was advertised as 45km, at registration they apologized and told us its actually 65km.. finished the race on 105km... did not get lost. the person who rode the route to count the kms forgot about a few sections. needless to say the event never took place again

Most of my races feel like its about double the distance that I trained for

1 hour ago, no calves said:

Can confirm this 🙈 lucky for him @MattBCR is a Lekker guy! 😅 (and insured…)

Last year Tour de Worcester (road cycling) I ignored the commissaire when he went straight over an intersection. Organisers changed the route 5 days before the event, they reminded everyone of the change, I updated my GPX file.

I was leading the field and they all followed me. The comm chased us down, made us turn, took us onto the old route, and the race was promptly stopped when Worcester traffic said they have no officers on these intersections.

Sometimes you just can't win...

2 hours ago, bleedToWin said:

Last year Tour de Worcester (road cycling) I ignored the commissaire when he went straight over an intersection. Organisers changed the route 5 days before the event, they reminded everyone of the change, I updated my GPX file.

I was leading the field and they all followed me. The comm chased us down, made us turn, took us onto the old route, and the race was promptly stopped when Worcester traffic said they have no officers on these intersections.

Holy moly… maybe it’s time to change your user name? 🤪 you need not to bleed mate, but enjoy them pedals. 👍🏻 but getting marshalled the wrong route I can concur! 🙈

9 minutes ago, betaboy said:

Holy moly… maybe it’s time to change your user name? 🤪 you need not to bleed mate, but enjoy them pedals. 👍🏻 but getting marshalled the wrong route I can concur! 🙈

Change a decade old username? Never!

2 hours ago, bleedToWin said:

That was a fun one