Rant - safe cycling this morning

Oufy MTB (Roadie)

I'm pretty sure the temptation has set in with many cyclist to draft a truck like that... but... the grey matter should set in and scream at you... you can't see jack sh&*, so what if the truck flicks up a rock, what if there is a huge hole in the middle of the road???

9 out of 10 times the break lights on thetruck doesn't work anyway so it will be pointless watching those.

You'd better have abs on your bike if that truck decides to stop suddenly... the list goes on and on about the "what ifs"

• Replies 56

Motor pacing behind a truck rocks!!!!!!!! Been doing it since I was a kid. Apparently it's dangerous. My mom warned me about it 40 years ago but I never could resist it.

If that is a freeway that is not cool. Have to agree with that. No excuses.

Used to be common practice up the 'steps' in the souf but these days you need to be more concerned with the 'locals' than drafting a truck ......

Gentlemen,

If Darwin's Army needs another soldier, who are we to interfere?

If (or when) he gets his call-up papers, that's his business.

Agree with this statement 100%. If you don't value your precious life, then do stuff like that.

I'm pretty sure the temptation has set in with many cyclist to draft a truck like that... but... the grey matter should set in and scream at you... you can't see jack sh&*, so what if the truck flicks up a rock, what if there is a huge hole in the middle of the road???

9 out of 10 times the break lights on the truck doesn't work anyway so it will be pointless watching those.

You'd better have abs on your bike if that truck decides to stop suddenly... the list goes on and on about the "what ifs"

Keeping and eye on the break lights would be your first mistake. I listen to the truck engine. More trusting.

Normally motorpace should be done on roads you know well where you know what the status is of potholes and things. Yes flipping of bricks and rocks is a risk but have never had a problem, but the risk is there.

I prefer not to sit directly behind the truck but towards the side of the truck just inside the draft. You can drift out quickly and always keep an eye on the road ahead and it is your exit route should the truck manager to stop quicker than you can.

Used to be common practice up the 'steps' in the souf but these days you need to be more concerned with the 'locals' than drafting a truck ......

Ditto...!!

Anything wrong with this? I see how they might be endangering their own lives, if they can't brake at least as quickly as the truck (and are watching the brake lights closely), but the potential cost to others is far less than the potential cost to themselves, to the point that it seems they can fairly make the choice themselves. I do agree, however, that a cyclist who chooses to ride like this/run red robots (however carefully) must take responsibility for mishaps that occur (provided drivers are not intentionally aggressive).

Sure, he is only risking his own life, but just think if he did bash into the truck and die, and a kid riding in a car with his parents saw that happening - what sort of trauma would that kid (or any other motorist) go through?

It is idiots like him who give all cyclists, including those who are trying their level best to stay safe and not piss motorists off, a bad reputation.

Sure, he is only risking his own life, but just think if he did bash into the truck and die, and a kid riding in a car with his parents saw that happening - what sort of trauma would that kid (or any other motorist) go through?

It is idiots like him who give all cyclists, including those who are trying their level best to stay safe and not piss motorists off, a bad reputation.

I chased a truck on Sunday, have been doing it since the early 80's, I have not been in court yet for traumatizing the public.

Keeping and eye on the break lights would be your first mistake. I listen to the truck engine. More trusting.

Normally motorpace should be done on roads you know well where you know what the status is of potholes and things. Yes flipping of bricks and rocks is a risk but have never had a problem, but the risk is there.

I prefer not to sit directly behind the truck but towards the side of the truck just inside the draft. You can drift out quickly and always keep an eye on the road ahead and it is your exit route should the truck manager to stop quicker than you can.

Agreed!

Doesn't look like boxing gloves are out yet.

So the oke is a zipp and wants to die....let him. No lights is doff, and on the freeway is unacceptable...but its Cape Town right?....where isn't there a decent stretch of road that isn't freeway?

From judging from the photos (because that's all we can judge from)...

1) in photo 2 it looks like the oke could have been keeping in that lane to avoid being squeezed off at the upcoming off-ramp. If you ride on the road, you'll probably know how *** and dangerous it is to be squeezed off

2) guy obviously moved over into shoulder when needed....so he was out of anyone's way

3) if the oke wa that close to the truck, well he is simply not in anyone's way unless you want to draft the truck in your car

4) what if there's an accident???....well, what if the sky falls down??....if you are practicing a safe following distance, you should be able to come to a stop before any obstacles in the road.

5) are there any decent alternative roads that aren't highway, aren't full of potholes, and won't go through any hoods where some zolkop bergie tries to steek you with his zamalek bottle?

But at the end of the day motor pacing is lekker man, and if you know the roads and you can decently predict the truck's changes in acceleration/deceleration, why not. :ph34r:

It is illegal to ride a bike on that particular stretch of the M5. Exactly as illegal as it is for a taxi or a motorbike to ride in a bicycle lane. Simple.

Hope this thread carries on into Friday, its going to be fun :eek:

I bet , deep down, he's an MTB'er, he has never seen 64km/hr in his life :whistling:

Cycling on the M5 is illegal anyway, hes lucky he didnt get stopped, let alone make it out alive. That road in the morning is painful

I watched a young roadie up in Sandton do the exact same thing behind a truck, going down past the Ferrari factory. Rounded a corner and the truck hit a nice big puddle... needless to say this completely soaked the cyclist and he had to pull over to wipe his face and outfit. I had such a good laugh.. made my week.

It is illegal to ride a bike on that particular stretch of the M5. Exactly as illegal as it is for a taxi or a motorbike to ride in a bicycle lane. Simple.

This is the point.

And I can only imagine it got interesting at the N2 interchange.