29er braking performance

ArrieS

Hi Guys

I'm new to the world of 29ers and have a query about braking performance. My old 26er hardtail would stop quite nicely with its Deore brakes, even when one finger braking was applied.

To get my 29er dualie to stop, with SLX brakes, half as quickly I am needing to apply a considerable amount of extra force to the levers compared to my old bike and one finger braking is definately out of the question.

I've fitted new pads, had the brakes bled and the discs cleaned and buffed and the stopping performance is much poorer than what I expect. Am I missing something?

Any hints/tips would be appreciated.

• Replies 99
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Bigger wheels need bigger rotors.... what size rotors do you have? If it's 160, try 180, it should help. Also, are you using metal or resin pads? I think the resin pads will have more bite.

No issues on either of mine, got both SLX and XT and both stop the same...

I have 180mm rotors in the front and 160 on the back.

Stopping wasnt as good with a 160mm rotor up front, check what size you have. Rotor size does make a difference in stopping power.

No issues on either of mine, got both SLX and XT and both stop the same...

I have 180mm rotors in the front and 160 on the back.

Stopping wasnt as good with a 160mm rotor up front, check what size you have. Rotor size does make a difference in stopping power.

Couldn't say it any better than Chukky up here.

I have SLX 180 front, 160 back and easy 1 finger braking...

Tires also make a big difference. My Nevagal in the front stopped me much faster than the WTB I have on now.

if you have sintered pads then the issue is likley rotors. go 180mm front and 160mm back. Go ICE TEC and you will be amazed....

Bigger wheels need bigger rotors.... what size rotors do you have? If it's 160, try 180, it should help. Also, are you using metal or resin pads? I think the resin pads will have more bite.