Braai etiket...

The expat cyclist

I given a “braai mat” as a gift by somebody. Like some rubber mat you put on the grid.

Anybody used this weird contraption before?

I also got one. I am going to try it this week. Thinking maybe some fish.

• Replies 1.5k

I also got one. I am going to try it this week. Thinking maybe some fish.

Also got one from a best mate few months ago....

I'm sukkeling to decide my biggest fear: me actually having to use it or having to answer his question whether I have used it and what do I think...

Also got one from a best mate few months ago....

I'm sukkeling to decide my biggest fear: me actually having to use it or having to answer his question whether I have used it and what do I think...

It appears to be somewhat like a gap jump..... :ph34r:

Is the idea behind the mat that you can braai marinated items without the marinate dripping and causing flames? Trying to figure this one out ...

Not sure if I’m sold on this idea, sure non stick but you loose all that Smokey Braai flavor I am sure, might as well put a non stick pan on the braai

The idea of a rubber something over the coals is simply too much for my traditional brain.......I imagine my fillet will  have a condom taste.......and yet, the wife uses rubber baking tray things in the oven..... :unsure:   :P

Made a nice little braai for some friends last night.

Half a lamb and 2 chickens.

Eish it was lekker

That's an interesting way of doing it :thumbup:

That's an interesting way of doing it [emoji106]

It turned out reaaally nicely. The meat was super tender and juicy.

I basted it every 10 minutes or so with a 50/50 mix of olive oil and lemon juice with some Ina Parmans rosemary and lemon spice as well as Ina Parmans seasoned salt mixed in.

It turned out reaaally nicely. The meat was super tender and juicy.

I basted it every 10 minutes or so with a 50/50 mix of olive oil and lemon juice with some Ina Parmans rosemary and lemon spice as well as Ina Parmans seasoned salt mixed in.

The chicken will add fat to the leaner lamb. Nice idea :thumbup:

Representing the vegetarians - new year's braai - don't worry there was meat and fish too for those inclined

Must say in this weather,

What beats a braai and a beer

Cheers all [emoji482]

attachicon.gifIMG_20180101_161027.jpg

Is that garlic bread, top left? Yum!

I still want to braai mielies.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

Is that garlic bread, top left? Yum!

I still want to braai mielies.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

Yup garlic bread. Braai'd mielies are yummy. And a delicious roasted butternut and beetroot salad :)