[Event] The Munga MTB 2017

Slowbee

Better start training.....

already on it ... I did the stellenbosch cycle tour 97km this weekend ........ in the wet and cold .... :)

• Replies 1.6k

Ooh quite a bit of Munny.I am not sure if this gravel thing appeals to me.

I am going to do a couple of gravel events next year and we will see

Mmm I don't know..I thought it would've been more..so I was quite surprised at the price.

I think seeing our beautiful country this way is probably priceless..some of those roads aren't available to the public

If you do that route or ..or similar by yourself outside of the event it would probably cost a lot more...the event really offers a lot of support.. from the mechanics at Water points to food and medical support..

I am not sure what an entry to the Epic costs these days..but I doubt the support at the Epic is as good as the munga....Every year it seems the people are complaining more and more about the Epic.. plus at the Munga you probably don't need to stand in a line to go to the loo ????????..or to get food or to well do anything [emoji6]

Suppose it just depends what kind of experience you want to have..if I had the metal strenght and could make the time to properly prepare for the Munga I would do it..

But I am very honest about what I am capable of..and I am not capable of doing the Munga..????????

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

Edited by Gen

Mmm I don't know..I thought it would've been more..so I was quite surprised at the price.

I think seeing our beautiful country this way is probably priceless..some of those roads aren't available to the public

If you do that route or ..or similar by yourself outside of the event it would probably cost a lot more...the event really offers a lot of support.. from the mechanics at Water points to food and medical support..

I am not sure what an entry to the Epic costs these days..but I doubt the support at the Epic is as good as the munga....Every year it seems the people are complaining more and more about the Epic.. plus at the Munga you probably don't need to stand in a line to go to the loo ..or to get food or to well do anything [emoji6]

Suppose it just depends what kind of experience you want to have..if I had the metal strenght and could make the time to properly prepare for the Munga I would do it..

But I am very honest about what I am capable of..and I am not capable of doing the Munga..

I doubt very much its an enjoyable site seeing experience..........220km a day is a tough ask on an mtb...its 15 to 20 hours a day on the bike

I get gatvol after 5hrs????????

I get gatvol after 5hrs

I suppose it's different for everybody.

I like the idea of pushing my body to see what it really can do.

Would be a great story to be telling on the stoep at the old age home one day as well. :P

Boys....a lady called Karina just proved that you can do a lot more than you think!

This is one of those "once in a lifetime" experiences - similar to doing the Epic.

It isn't for everyone, because not everyone is prepared to suffer - the reward is a "potential" one and essentially really only for one's own ego. So, it's up to you. Only you.

Price of Epic: R37.500 (7 days of hard work). High profile.

Munga: early bird R15k. Normal 18k (max 5 days of hard work). Low profile. It is attracting more attention though...

Can't compare the two - different types of events.

I'm seriously considering doing it next year. I'm not the gravel grinder (more the technical freak), but as mentioned above - a once in a lifetime challenge.

He already went off route just before Ceres and did not self-correct. Finsher, Non-finisher?

Same goes for the Horton's as well.

I looked at these tracks just now - 

http://trackleaders.com/munga17i.php?name=Gavin_Horton

http://trackleaders.com/munga17i.php?name=Ryno_De_Kock

Unfortunately if you want your event to be taken seriously then this has to be a DSQ as the rules are very clear on this, anything else and you're just opening the door to a very big rabbit hole.

It sucks, but part of the race is navigation - and you have a GPS, so it's not even that hard. If it was a mistake then it is now a big lesson. If it was intentional then they should DSQ themselves.

Guys, if I may. Just a little story about Taito. Taito is a tiny little skinny oke with a permanent smile on his face.

One night during a freezing cold, windy night I was taking a break at a waterpoint on a farm in the middle of the night. I was fighting my own demons. Taito came rolling in, he looked close to death. Pale shivering and skinny, very skinny.

A quick wave and his usual smile and he walked away and let loose. Sounded like a student on his first drinking spree. I leftwishing him luck while he lay wrapped in a blanket shivering and dry heaving.

As I left the farm, the farmer said to we well that is his race done. I couldnt agree more.

The next day I was sitting at a race village eating, as usual when I look up and Taito comes waltzing in. Looked like death but the smile plastered over his face.

Somehow he had picked himself up and out of that deep black hole and was back on the go.

I asked him if he thought that he should continue. I like being a hubber so I wont repeat his answer for the risk of being banned.

From there Taito showed me what it is to HTFU.

As somebody told me before the race, hy is in taai klein etter.

I have now seen it myself.

Respek Bra jy is n yster.

I'm kind of glad that Tim Brink and Ride chose you for this competition instead of a top10 dude. Because you are obviously going to be putting in an EPIC article in RIDE soon, I'm going to queue up to purchase that one for sure.

I think you would dig Ride to Rhodes, that's if you don't want to do the Race to Rhodes

http://www.freedomchallenge.org.za/index.php/2015-01-17-17-56-04/srtr-spring-ride-to-rhodes

plus at the finish you can just sommer keep pedalling to bloem

no no, you're really wrong on this one. If you want to ride this sort of stuff then it is way way cheaper. You can do it DIY with your own backup, or just take a credit card and swipe at fancy places. OR you can choose one of the many blossoming touring companies. I'm not sure how much of the Munga route is private land but there are loads and loads of similar places you can ride without needing to be an event organiser.

This is a RACE. You can't create that atmosphere without all the RACE stuff, that is what makes it so amazing. The fact that 100 okes have chipped in R18k to ride this in december is flippen amazing! 

no no, you're really wrong on this one. If you want to ride this sort of stuff then it is way way cheaper. You can do it DIY with your own backup, or just take a credit card and swipe at fancy places. OR you can choose one of the many blossoming touring companies. I'm not sure how much of the Munga route is private land but there are loads and loads of similar places you can ride without needing to be an event organiser.

This is a RACE. You can't create that atmosphere without all the RACE stuff, that is what makes it so amazing. The fact that 100 okes have chipped in R18k to ride this in december is flippen amazing!

Mmmm I don't know..could you really have the same support as the munga has..I am not talking about a back up vehicle alone..those riding backup also need food and a place to sleep etc..they have ambos following mechanics, physios waiting..

I am sure it is very do able PVT I was referring to the same support..I think when you start adding up etc the price tag is perhaps not as high as why a lot of people think.

But I am very honest about what I am capable of..and I am not capable of doing the Munga..????????

Look I agree it’s a *** idea.....

But never ever underestimate your capabilities

One very tired Vetseun in the middle of nowhere.

attachicon.gifIMG-20171201-WA0006.jpg

I wouldn't say tired, that look is a gatvol look. How many kgs have you dropped since starting training? I've lost almost 10kgs just by doing minimal training for Baviaans 2 years ago.

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

Better start training.....

Yesterday already [emoji23]

Sent from my VTR-L09 using Tapatalk

R18k is pretty expensive I reckon.

I did the Dutch Cross Country race this year. Half as far but only 200 euro including GPS hire.

There were 3 rest stops each with full meals, mechanical support etc as well as 4 or 5 nutrition stops between the 3 big stops. Full start and finish villages with free everything. Cool medal and Vermark race jersey with your own country's flag on the sleeve too.

That''s what value is!

Vettes please share your training regime for this Munga BEAST....

Would love to hear that.

I follow Dion Guy on Strava, and he averages about 1000km/month.  I know he did a ton of 200km rides, but somehow I don't believe 1000km/month will win you a 2nd place in the Munga.