Trying to give up or cut down on Sugar intake

Bonus

For the umpteenth time I am trying to cut down on my daily sugar intake.

Giving up completely is not necessary because we all need to eat "some" sugar and there's sugar in almost everything, but I have a sweet tooth that could, I'm informed, lead to Diabetes if I don't start being careful.

I seem to have two things making cutting down difficult:

1) I generally feel like I need a sweet or biscuit, not because I'm hungry but just because I feel like one. So more out of habit than anything.

2) I'm not good at limiting myself once a packet of sweets or biscuits are open. It's all or nothing with me. (which is just plain greedy and immature)

If anyone has succeeded I'd be interested to know what worked for you? Giving up slowly or going in hard and cutting everything until your body detoxed?

• Replies 270
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Sugar is apparently just as addictive as cocaine?!?

For me it is better to cut it out totally, as you would not stop craving for it if you keep it in your diet.

Go hard man, all out, no sugar for 2 weeks. Completely cold turkey. Read the labels on anything you eat, including things like tomato sauce. The first couple of days will be tough, because you are currently literally addicted to sugar - studies shows it is more addictive than cocaine, and stimulates the same area in the brain.

After about 2 weeks the cravings should be completely gone, and after about a month you won't be able to believe how you could usually pick up a slab and stuff it in your mouth.

Think about maybe eating no sweets (chocolates, gummies, etc - not no sugar) from Monday to Saturday, and then spoiling yourself every Sunday. This makes it more into a lifestyle than a diet restriction.