I commuted that stretch for a few years, loved it. Only got purposely got cut off by a Merc once - and got nearly hit by people turning into the avenues in Fish Hoek from time to time. I stopped using Fish Hoek Main Road after that, and chose the avenues instead. People don't look in mirrors before turning. Honestly, I find a wide road with options more scary than Kalk Bay - Muizenberg. Ride fast and latch on to flow of traffic. 

An awareness line would be already something though. Half a meter of colour paint on both sides of the road. A cycle lane will be fantastic, but where is it going to go? And if it's there, are cyclists going to use it? Take a ride up the West Coast and see how many are riding on the road instead of on the cycle path they paid for... 

• Replies 47

22 hours ago, DieselnDust said:

Main rd between Muizenberg and Fish Hoek is so busy that runners are now running in the road facing on coming traffic.

Side note- this is actually an internationally accepted and promoted standard. Where there is no sidewalk you should walk or run facing oncoming traffic.

15 minutes ago, dave303e said:

Side note- this is actually an internationally accepted and promoted standard. Where there is no sidewalk you should walk or run facing oncoming traffic.

Yeah I’m aware of that. It’s law here too. I’m just pointing out that that stretch of road is very busy and motorist have not adjusted their behaviour despite the volume of pedestrian and activity traffic ranging from walkers to skateboarders to cyclists swimmers aiders coffee revellers . Yet motorists just drive faster run red lights at pedestrian crossings and the traffic police are issuing tickets instead of policing bad driving behaviour 

26 minutes ago, Eddy Gordo said:

and there is pavement on both sides, but runners dont use it like cyclists dont use the bike lanes where available. 

You can't run on the pavement. There's people pushing prams, licking icecream etc.

Personally I wouldn't run along that road I would run on the walk between Muizenberg & St James if I was going to run along there but only VERY early before people arrive.

Funny story. I'm guessing it was around 1989. A mate of mine and myself were lifting (I was on the handlebars). We went for a surf check  at Kalk Bay. We were ON THE PAVEMENT and we got knocked over by a COP VAN opposite the St James tidal pool.

Edited by Duane_Bosch
3 minutes ago, Duane_Bosch said:

You can't run on the pavement. There's people pushing prams, licking icecream etc.

Personally I'd run on the walk between Muizenberg & St James if I was going to run along there but only VERY early before people arrive.

you can EASILY run on the pavement!

You just pause for a second for people to either let you past, or else DIP into the road - carefully - for a nano second, and then back on the pavement.

Is it perfect? No! But it is eminently do-able.

my 5c.

Chris

1 hour ago, DieselnDust said:

Yeah I’m aware of that. It’s law here too. I’m just pointing out that that stretch of road is very busy and motorist have not adjusted their behaviour despite the volume of pedestrian and activity traffic ranging from walkers to skateboarders to cyclists swimmers aiders coffee revellers . Yet motorists just drive faster run red lights at pedestrian crossings and the traffic police are issuing tickets instead of policing bad driving behaviour 

Sorry, what....so if I come down Chappies from the viewpoint to Noordhoek and take one of those blind corners and collide with a runner coming up from Noordhoek running against the cliff and on the "wrong" side of the road...it's my fault?

Edited by capediver
3 minutes ago, capediver said:

Sorry, what....so if I come down Chappies viewpoint to Noordhoek and take one of those blind corners and collide with a runner coming up from Noordhoek running against the cliff and on the "wrong" side of the road...it's my fault?

Runners aren't allowed between those gates at the top of chappies and the one's at the hoek. So if you encounter one of those fks along there you are within your rights to pepper spray them. it's the law.

😄

Edited by Duane_Bosch
11 minutes ago, Duane_Bosch said:

It suck balls to run on a pavement. And on that stretch it must be a nightmare. But yes you can.

Going off topic now, I tend to go Boyes Drive out of Muizies. The pavement is wide and empty. Then you can run much of the way back unmolested through the Kalk Bay houses and mountain-side pavement. Before crossing over where the pavement is much wider from St James on the sea-side. The walkway is by far the worst route to do anything but walk. It's super busy these days, which is great because fewer stabbings.

There's also a lekker mountain right there to run on.

2 minutes ago, Duane_Bosch said:

Runners aren't allowed between those gates at the top of chappies and the one's at the hoek. So if you encounter one of those fks along there you are within your rights to pepper spray them. it's the law.

😄

Ahhh, never paid much attention to those gates...now imagine the chaos if you were on my handle bars and we were going down to check out the Hoek!!!!???🤣

On 11/14/2022 at 9:53 AM, MudLark said:

One good thing was that the Uber driver said that one has to be careful of the cyclists (after I remarked on how dangerous the situation was for the cyclists we passed) because **They have organisations that pursue you if you bump one. **No idea if it is true but it is a good thing if it makes drivers more careful. 

This is what we need to make our roads safer. 

46 minutes ago, Duane_Bosch said:

............. We were ON THE PAVEMENT and we got knocked over by a COP VAN opposite the St James tidal pool.

The cops' driving skills have not improved since then. Just in the last week I saw two traffic cops jump a red robot.........no blue lights or sirens, so no emergency. One cop bakkie with a dead headlight. One cop car changing lanes without indicating......... and the list goed on. 

On 11/14/2022 at 9:53 AM, MudLark said:

I am not sure if we are taking about the same strip of road (I am not that familiar with CT and surrounds) but on the way in on Friday I saw loads of tannies with "Slow Down for the Baboons" signs and so on. But nothing warning motorists about cyclists. One good thing was that the Uber driver said that one has to be careful of the cyclists (after I remarked on how dangerous the situation was for the cyclists we passed) because they have organisations that pursue you if you bump one. No idea if it is true but it is a good thing if it makes drivers more careful. As for the guys that cycle Chappies... there's no room for forgiveness there either if a driver screws up. I considered walking a few km into Hout Bay from near the Chappies toll gate around sunset time but looking at the road realised that I might easily get smacked by a car in the dusk... then thought about the poor bloody cyclists. I have ridden Chappies on a cycle tour and it must be the best bike route anywhere in the world.... but for this aspect. A pity indeed. Maybe one's pespective is different if you live and ride there frequently. Don't know. I was thinking of schlepping a bike down there to go just ride around for a few days in the area given how beautiful it is. But the safety situation makes me think that it may be better to give it a miss, partly because a lack of local knowledge on my part.

This would have been constanitia nek , but also a tight road.

The cape drivers are far more accomadationg than JHB, bring your bike or  hit me up I will loan you one , Chappies is a specail ride as is the coastal road to town.

Edited by Milosh
2 hours ago, dave303e said:

There are two pavements here. Sea facing one is VERY wide 90% of the way

and everyone runs here, view is 100% kiff too, Mountain side has lots of slip lanes and property entrances so is not used

I am on this road a lot, and it is a very rare occasion that a runner will be on the road for anything but briefly passing pedestrians. 

1 hour ago, Eddy Gordo said:

and there is pavement on both sides, but runners dont use it like cyclists dont use the bike lanes where available. 

first point = rubbish, second point mostly correct

18 hours ago, sierrrd said:

. A cycle lane will be fantastic, but where is it going to go? And if it's there, are cyclists going to use it? Take a ride up the West Coast and see how many are riding on the road instead of on the cycle path they paid for... 

It's really disappointing that all the cycle lanes built in CT have now been around over 10 years and have not fuelled an explosion of commuting. I have no problem with cyclists choosing the road where the cycle lane is K&KLY designed. I'm talking about rondebosch/woodstock/greenpoint, but the low adoption on the milnerton section has been such an own goal by local cyclists. 

1 hour ago, Duane_Bosch said:

😄

Try me, bru.