I have an idea for a new thread...

TNT1

so here's the headline:

Boy, 16, arrested for driving 168km/h in a 60km/h zone in father's GTI

https://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/boy-16-arrested-for-driving-168kmh-in-a-60kmh-zone-in-fathers-gti-20180918

let's play the stereotypes game

is he:

a)a kid from Cape Flats

b)a kid from East Rand

c)a kid for Joburg

d)a kid from Durbs

edited to not reflect the population registration act.

Edited by dekker

• Replies 78.7k

• 'Dale

• Hairy

• gummibear

• Eddy Gordo

so here's the headline:

https://www.news24.com/SouthAfrica/News/boy-16-arrested-for-driving-168kmh-in-a-60kmh-zone-in-fathers-gti-20180918

is he:

a)a coloured kid from Cape Flats

b)a white kid from East Rand

c)a black kid for Joburg

d)an indian kid from Durbs

first paragraph rules out pretty much all of those options

A 16-year-old boy was arrested by the Gauteng traffic police on Tuesday for driving at 168km/h in a 60km/h zone.

so here's the headline:

is he:

c)a black kid for Joburg

e: why the fark does it matter. He's a stupid kid. 

Except I’m SA one guy will pick all the fruit, then sell them on the street corner.

if the streets are lined with free fruit trees, then there would be no market to sell to

first paragraph rules out pretty much all of those options

I meant without reading the article!!

there's a picture too.

e: why the fark does it matter. He's a stupid kid. 

it doesn't matter...but people who fool around in cars and get caught need to be laughed at.

if the streets are lined with free fruit trees, then there would be no market to sell to

Except if all the fruit have been picked.... 

I meant without reading the article!!

there's a picture too.

it doesn't matter...but people who fool around in cars and get caught need to be laughed at.

Agreed, i was caught once when i was young and stupid, except i was caught by a tree and a written off car...

so here's the headline:

Reminded me of yonkers in the little town where I grew up.

One morning the (just about crime free) town woke up and found that nearly every car that wasn't parked in a garage, had one or several of its' tyres slashed with a knife. Altogether something like 20 cars. Moerse gemors!

Of course rumours flew thick and fast, most of it blaming delinquents from the "onderdorp" (wrong side of the railway tracks in city terms).

A week or so later the culprit was found to be the NG dominees' son! Yes! Little angel from the front church benches himself!   :D

Edited by DJR

so here's the headline:

is he:

c)a black kid for Joburg

So which one are you?

Seeing as you think it's acceptable to stereotype and point fingers and laugh at other people.

Just take a moment, and think of what you are busy with here...(here's a tip - think Penny Sparrow, Vicky Momberg etc. etc.)

So which one are you?

Seeing as you think it's acceptable to stereotype and point fingers and laugh at other people.

Just take a moment, and think of what you are busy with here...(here's a tip - think Penny Sparrow, Vicky Momberg etc. etc.)

none of the above, and this is miles from penny sparrow.

Taking dad's car for a joyride is a well trodden path.

Getting caught is embarrassing.

now poking fun at who does this is not that offsides.

http://www.watkykjy.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Lenasia.jpg

is this a uitenhage or a verulam corrolla?

$_20.jpg

is this a kempton park or mitchells plain escort?

$_20.JPG?set_id=8800005007

answers below

$_20.jpg

so here's the headline:

is he:

c)a black kid for Joburg

Let's just not go down that road, at all. Even if it is in good fun - it's a bad idea.

none of the above, and this is miles from penny sparrow.

Taking dad's car for a joyride is a well trodden path.

Getting caught is embarrassing.

now poking fun at who does this is not that offsides.

http://www.watkykjy.co.za/wp-content/uploads/2017/01/Lenasia.jpg

is this a uitenhage or a verulam corrolla?

$_20.jpg

is this a kempton park or mitchells plain escort?

answers below

$_20.jpg

Fair point. I would however go about it slightly different than bringing race into the mix. I per se don't care either way, but in this over-sensitive PC world we live in today, you never know who might take offence.

As for taking dad's car for a joy ride, my older boet and I took ma's Uno for a night out to Plett one fine Friday in '92, when I was in standard 8 (grade 10). I rode shotgun, along with some buddies. The car was pranged by someone else, and we rigged the scene to portray our "innocence". All went fine and dandy until the headmaster made a tannoy announcement that my boet and I had to report back home immediately after school....turns out the honest bugger who pranged us decided to trace the owner of the car and come clean, the bugger.

We ended up grounded for 24 hard months.

Then about 3 years after that, my younger boet decides to take the old man's bakkie for a surf trip to the beach, when he should be at school. The folks were away for some trip at the time.

So off older boet and I go to rescue pa's bakkie. We left younger boet and his mates to surf their hearts out. They had to hike home.

you sure can't pull stunts like those these days.

Fair point. I would however go about it slightly different than bringing race into the mix. I per se don't care either way, but in this over-sensitive PC world we live in today, you never know who might take offence.

As for taking dad's car for a joy ride, my older boet and I took ma's Uno for a night out to Plett one fine Friday in '92, when I was in standard 8 (grade 10). I rode shotgun, along with some buddies. The car was pranged by someone else, and we rigged the scene to portray our "innocence". All went fine and dandy until the headmaster made a tannoy announcement that my boet and I had to report back home immediately after school....turns out the honest bugger who pranged us decided to trace the owner of the car and come clean, the bugger.

We ended up grounded for 24 hard months.

Then about 3 years after that, my younger boet decides to take the old man's bakkie for a surf trip to the beach, when he should be at school. The folks were away for some trip at the time.

So off older boet and I go to rescue pa's bakkie. We left younger boet and his mates to surf their hearts out. They had to hike home.

you sure can't pull stunts like those these days.

agreed it probably is asking for trouble, edited to just leave location. but it's been quoted so doesn't really matter to me.

ha ha, lekker stories! got a mate who took his mom's car whilst she was away for a weekend. She could be very pedantic about some things so they made sure as hell that they drove it EXACTLY 1000km so the odometer looked almost the same. The neighbour bust them anyway!

I suppose everyone has to make an extra buck here and there. It's like the okes at the robots trying to sell Avo's - they probably picked those avo's off someone's avo tree, but I assume they're out of work or need extra dosh to survive.

2 wrongs doesn't make a right. Just saying [emoji850]