Beware of CB 68 GK GP

argie1

4x4 drivers on tar roads are like dual suspension MTB riders on tar.. missing the point a bit :whistling:

Not so sure with the state of our roads these days!

• Replies 198

Me - I'm all for the might is right approach offered by 4x4entosias. I own a 225kW vehicle and a gun so 99% of cars on the road are slower than I am and are vulnerable to my high velocity lead slugs.

Brilliant - all I have to do is hoot at every vehicle (4x4 drivers especially) and if they don't get out of my way (for their own safety) I get to pump them full of lead.

Excellent idea. 4x4dude for president.

Over here in the real world - everybody is somebody's bitch. Cyclists are vulnerable to cars, cars are vulnerable to bigger cars/4x4s and bigger cars/4x4s are vulnerable to trucks/buses. So unless you drive the biggest badassed vehicle on the road perhaps excercising some patience is not a bad idea.

Sure some cyclists ride like dicks - but so do some 4x4 drivers, car drivers, taxi drivers, truck drivers etc. Quit tarring everyone with the same brush and see everyone as a human being. It aint that hard buddy.

Nope, the Red Bull truck does.

Wouldn't mind seeing it go head to head with the Monster truck. My money would be on the Redbull though...

Me - I'm all for the might is right approach offered by 4x4entosias. I own a 225kW vehicle and a gun so 99% of cars on the road are slower than I am and are vulnerable to my high velocity lead slugs.

Brilliant - all I have to do is hoot at every vehicle (4x4 drivers especially) and if they don't get out of my way (for their own safety) I get to pump them full of lead.

Over here in the real world - everybody is somebody's bitch. Cyclists are vulnerable to cars, cars are vulnerable to bigger cars/4x4s and bigger cars/4x4s are vulnerable to trucks/buses. So unless you drive the biggest badassed vehicle on the road perhaps excercising some patience is not a bad idea.

Sure some cyclists ride like dicks - but so do some 4x4 drivers, car drivers, taxi drivers, truck drivers etc. Quit tarring everyone with the same brush and see everyone as a human being. It aint that hard buddy.

and once again eldron comes in with a gem..... :thumbup: you must have been the captain of speakers circle when you were at school!

Do you know how many non-cyclists hate cyclists? Just today I heard at least 15 people voice this. And that was in the office I work. So now the odd "********" has caused this view of cyclists. Its not that I want to kill anyone - far from it - An accident is just waiting to happen is what I'm saying.

Do you know why they hate them? Just read my first post about nearly driving over an idiot that swerved into a traffic lane...

The 4x4 people have an issue with some okes destroying the environment and we have gone and started educating them. There will always be a "vrot kol" but the best way to fix it is too show that you are at least trying get things right.

I don't see this being done in cycling (maybe someone can show me where too look?), all I'm seeing are cyclists obstructing the free flow of traffic (which is against the law) and causing people in all sorts of cars to get angry at them. Yes you are allowed to use the road. Do it by obeying the rules of the road. I have to do it in my vehicle, I am not allowed to run a red light or skip a stop street (and I dont because it is dangerous) so what/who gives a cyclist the authority to do that? I don't believe ALL cyclists are evil but some just need to be given a couple of "warm klappe" so they can wake up.

Hopefully now you understand why I've joined your forum. I won't be the one that drives over you on purpose, it will be that Taxi driver who need to drop off his customers that will cause you the most harm. All of you who called me names and think I am just a tjop, you are the guys who need to look at your attitude and look at ALL the road laws. You are the guys that will be carrying on about how bad drivers are and how no-one can drive. While all those driver think even worse of you and again would say that all cyclists are a bunch of lycra monkeys.

Use the advice or don't, its your life.

PS: Just for the record, a Discovery 4 has terrain response and won't roll easily when going from tar to gravel - that lady was never in any danger of rolling her vehicle - it would just adapt to the gravel and carry on. Brilliant vehicle in my opinion.

Hey Robo-ox, I take exception to that! I was riding my DS MTB down the road yesterday. I also had a 4x4 driver hoot at me as he overtook me. It was a 'polite' hoot and I reckon he was just trying to say 'careful, coming past now'. So maybe not all 4x4 drivers are tools!

4 x 4entpoesias more people talk about the bad drivers on the road than the selfish cyclists on the road, I read about 15 Facebook status updates today that were related to bad driving. As mentioned above if all road users(including cyclist)practiced some patience we wouldn't be here.

If you joined this forum with a less aggressive approach I am sure your first post might have been taken seriously.

And ps just for the record most woman (sorry ladies) are capable of doing the impossible behind the wheel and while that vehicle might have been trying to "adapt" to the gravel she may well have killed a cyclist. Great thing for her kids to witness at that age

Edited by fabes

It's strange to have an individual that does not ride a bicycle contribute to a highly debatable topic.

What would happen if a cyclist chirped on a 4x4 forum about this issue?

Most, if not all, live in both worlds of being a motorist AND on two wheels.

I strive to respect both sides, depending whether I'm behind the wheel or in the saddle.

4x4 & SUV's are popular with the mtb community, come perve in the parking lot at the next Van Gaalens event Mr 4x4 .Most of us are drivers as well.

My good self, I drive a 4x4 Colt TD which I have jacked up with all sorts of goodies, but its also a workhorse. Mainly I enjoy driving cross-country, not having to worry about the roads, which is a concern on any road now just about what with 'road works' and vrot roads abound. Done plenty cross-border trips as well.

What I don't enjoy seeing is environmental damage from 4x4 trails, for instance Mabalingwe, which over the years I have seen dongas develop along the routes. Look each to their own, but it seems to go unchecked, and new trails being opened for short term fun and games.

I also commute just about everyday here in Jhb, not for the faint-hearted. I can honestly say dangerous drivers span race and vehicle categories, although surprisingly taxi drivers show one a bit more consideration than would be expected. And watch out for coogles chatting on cell phones in posh SUV's rat-running the back roads in the leafy Jhb suburbs. And if you read here, most of us also get cheesed with a minority who fly through red lights whilst cars are waiting. As for road space, make space for cyclists please, although I do not take that for granted, I avoid all traffic, call it survival instinct.

And ja boet, I am also on a local 4x4 forum but mainly just reading what's happening, mostly in gear, vehicles and trips.

Yes I am also a member of a 4X4 club ans active on a particular 4X4 forum. Lots of decent people in 4X4's. Same as lots of decent people on bikes.

The problem I have is why the rush? It's a nice car so why so in a hurry to get somewhere and end the journey. Slow down, take a chill pill, enjoy the fancy sound system. People act like pressing gently on a brake or accelerator or turning the power steering involves a lot of effort. Well it doesn't. It just involves some respect. So the cyclist is breaking the law, that is for the cops to sort out. No one hauls after a Hells Angel to tell him he is making an unreasonable noise on his Herley. Cyclists are just an easy target.

There's a prevalent attitude of 'might is is right' on our roads, that goes hand in hand with a general stuff you attitude of contempt for fellow road users. All kinds of drivers, pedestrians, cyclists, motorcyclists etc do this, daily.

On my bike I've had taxis give me the most consideration, that stereotype we all love to hate.

Daily I see pedestrians jaywalk, equally and maybe even more so though I'll see drivers not even slow down for a crossing. Sit outside Vega and you'll see.

So maybe, we should all stop being so quick to throw stones at glass houses and look at our own behavior on the road.

A **** is a ****, on two wheels, two feet or four wheels.

Sounds like there are three sides to this story! The Discovery drivers, the cyclist and the truth! I think the truth is we are as South Africans far too arrogant on the road, be it in a car, a bicycle or a motorbike! Consideration for other road users makes a big difference!

SA is pretty much an unpoliced, survival of the fittest, devil take the hindmost, I'll choose what laws apply to me type of society. In this situation I think the common sense approach is best. Riding a bicycle on the road makes you the lowest form of life to many drivers; not just taxis. Riding abreast etc is Darwinian; it's not if, it's when you will be crushed by some mechanical beast that is higher up the weight chain that your (or someone else's) behaviour has irritated. That's ignoring the 9am gym/school moms applying make up, adjusting the radio, drinking coffee latte and gabbing on the cell phone, late for pedi/mani whatever fills their day. I've nearly been nailed by such a stereotype so excuse my irritation. I won't start on the blueheads and drivers wearing hats.

I also waste time on 4x4 and offroad mbike forums and am surprised and disappointed at the amount of aggro directed at cyclists. Be careful (sensible?) out there.

Sounds like there are three sides to this story! The Discovery drivers, the cyclist and the truth! I think the truth is we are as South Africans far too arrogant on the road, be it in a car, a bicycle or a motorbike! Consideration for other road users makes a big difference!

At least three sides to every story, always!

Thing is with cyclists as Maz mentions, we are nothing / invisible / dont' matter / have no right to be on the road to most motorists. Which is why I don't own a gun. Because there would be a war grave cemetery in Jhb for all the motorists that almost killed me.

Do you know how many non-cyclists hate cyclists? Just today I heard at least 15 people voice this. And that was in the office I work. So now the odd "********" has caused this view of cyclists. Its not that I want to kill anyone - far from it - An accident is just waiting to happen is what I'm saying.

Do you know why they hate them? Just read my first post about nearly driving over an idiot that swerved into a traffic lane...

The 4x4 people have an issue with some okes destroying the environment and we have gone and started educating them. There will always be a "vrot kol" but the best way to fix it is too show that you are at least trying get things right.

I don't see this being done in cycling (maybe someone can show me where too look?), all I'm seeing are cyclists obstructing the free flow of traffic (which is against the law) and causing people in all sorts of cars to get angry at them. Yes you are allowed to use the road. Do it by obeying the rules of the road. I have to do it in my vehicle, I am not allowed to run a red light or skip a stop street (and I dont because it is dangerous) so what/who gives a cyclist the authority to do that? I don't believe ALL cyclists are evil but some just need to be given a couple of "warm klappe" so they can wake up.

Hopefully now you understand why I've joined your forum. I won't be the one that drives over you on purpose, it will be that Taxi driver who need to drop off his customers that will cause you the most harm. All of you who called me names and think I am just a tjop, you are the guys who need to look at your attitude and look at ALL the road laws. You are the guys that will be carrying on about how bad drivers are and how no-one can drive. While all those driver think even worse of you and again would say that all cyclists are a bunch of lycra monkeys.

Use the advice or don't, its your life.

PS: Just for the record, a Discovery 4 has terrain response and won't roll easily when going from tar to gravel - that lady was never in any danger of rolling her vehicle - it would just adapt to the gravel and carry on. Brilliant vehicle in my opinion.

The lady in the Disco made a *** decision with children on board. Not a good example of a mother. Made her hormones rule over sensibility