• Replies 2.7k

ok, my strava skills are pathetic ... can't find much 

Much like the toolbag that logged that ride. You can mark a ride as a E-bike ride.

Doing what he did is like putting a banana in your underpants.

Edited by Duane_Bosch

Much like the toolbag that logged that ride. You can mark a ride as a E-bike ride.

I asked you not to tell anyone......

I know deep down that Strava is dof and could go bang tomorrow, but there is this annoying 'fair play' gene I have that makes me really want to throttle okes who don't make their things private or mark as 'e-bike' or worse, 'car'. Mostly cos I have massive respect for the actual lap time of the Savage and would give my testicle to be able to do it.

Ja look we all know it's not real.

But it's like smoking in a restaurant. You aren't ACTUALLY going to give everyone in the restaurant lung cancer but it tells everyone that you have no respect for them and that you are a selfish dick.

I've no problem with e bikes. But you don't go around claiming KOMs on them. 

Ja look we all know it's not real.

But it's like smoking in a restaurant. You aren't ACTUALLY going to give everyone in the restaurant lung cancer but it tells everyone that you have no respect for them and that you are a selfish ****.

I've no problem with e bikes. But you don't go around claiming KOMs on them.

Someone solved the issue already, it seems. Perhaps an 'Ebike d*ckery' thread is actually the way to stop this debate and let the old, feeble and rich like Myles ride their Ebikes in peace and quiet...

(That may have been purposefully ambiguous... Or not ????)

Guest dirkieuys

Hi guys.

I rode a pedal assist/e-bike last weekend at Bloemendal/magik forest and Yes, i strava'd it and named it as a ebike ride as i wanted to see how far i rode that day. No KOM's as i dont have any aspirations to own one or try and fake one.

I will admit, I Loved it. I loved it for the fact that i rode the furthest trail ride i have ever done in one go and had a blast while doing it in the same time i do my normally very short weekend ride. I had way more energy for the down bits, which is why i started riding in the first place.

Everyone that has ridden with me knows that i moan and groan, not so much anymore, all the way uphill because I honestly hate it. I suck at it. I get passed by joggers.

Now i am not new to cycling, I have been cycling for quite some time and I enjoy most cycling disciplines. Having a family, work etc. does mean that i dont get as much time in the saddle as i would like to.

I ride dh, scratch that, love dh, enjoy trail and road riding as well.

Road rides are done before work, getting up at 5 am and putting time in takes some commitment, especially during winter time, or commuting home from work.

Trail rides i try and fit in at least twice a week after work or Saturday mornings early if i am lucky. It gets dark quite early after work as we all know and i manage to fit a measly 4km loop in before dark and having to rush home to the family to pack lunches and do all the fatherly duties. How great would it be if i could ride a few more loops before dark.

Downhill rides are to few and far inbetween as there arent many shuttle days that i know of. A bit of a loner by choice I admit. I am lucky enough to own a bakkie and the wife and kids sometime shuttle me at Paarl. I dont think there is another dh trail that you can just go shuttle yourself in CT area, i might be wrong so please correct me and make my year.

How great would it be if i could go ride up the gravel roads at Tokai or Jonkers, which are my favourite trails, and do a few dh runs in a day.

The point i am trying to make is this. I know I am a unfit mediocre cyclist at best and i dont pretend to be anything else. I dont want to out climb or race anyone.

I just want to ride to have a smile on my face.

That ebike ride did just that for me.

Now I know I will never own a ebike as they are and will always be out of my non existent budget, but if I had the means to, I would own one as part of my bike lineup.

It would give me more ride for my time, if that makes any sense. This post is not meant to offend anyone, its merely my opinion.

D

I think and e bike is a great way of getting what is essentially a motor bike onto bicycle trails you would normally be banned from.

... uhm ... actually NOT.

Look at the Isle of Man TT.  There is a class for "electric motorcycles".  These things are beasts, and outperform most roadgoing racing bikes !

and "e-bike" is NOT such a "motorcycle".  True to its definition an "e-bike" is "pedal assisted" - so if the rider dont pedal, the bike goes no-where..  IF the cyclist pedals his heart out the "motor-assist" only functions up to 25km/h, and for the rest of the time you have another 5+km to lugg about.

So as Myles said - it is a great way to reduce rider fatigue on the way up a mountain.  But due to the speed limitation it should add virtually zero benefit on the way down the mountain.

so the image of a moto-X rider tairing up a track is totally misplaced when talking about an ebike

At what point do e-bikes become unrecognizable as such, and move into the realms of mechanical doping.

Coz trust me, guys will do that, if not already.

Then becomes a larger policing issue.

Hi guys.

I rode a pedal assist/e-bike last weekend at Bloemendal/magik forest and Yes, i strava'd it and named it as a ebike ride as i wanted to see how far i rode that day. No KOM's as i dont have any aspirations to own one or try and fake one.

I will admit, I Loved it. I loved it for the fact that i rode the furthest trail ride i have ever done in one go and had a blast while doing it in the same time i do my normally very short weekend ride. I had way more energy for the down bits, which is why i started riding in the first place.

Everyone that has ridden with me knows that i moan and groan, not so much anymore, all the way uphill because I honestly hate it. I suck at it. I get passed by joggers.

Now i am not new to cycling, I have been cycling for quite some time and I enjoy most cycling disciplines. Having a family, work etc. does mean that i dont get as much time in the saddle as i would like to.

Road rides are done before work, getting up at 5 am and putting time in takes some commitment, especially during winter time, or commuting home from work.

Trail rides i try and fit in at least twice a week after work or Saturday mornings early if i am lucky. It gets dark quite early after work as we all know and i manage to fit a measly 4km loop in before dark and having to rush home to the family to pack lunches and do all the fatherly duties. How great would it be if i could ride a few more loops before dark.

Downhill rides are to few and far inbetween as there arent many shuttle days that i know of. A bit of a loner by choice I admit. I am lucky enough to own a bakkie and the wife and kids sometime shuttle me at Paarl. I dont think there is another dh trail that you can just go shuttle yourself in CT area, i might be wrong so please correct me and make my year.

How great would it be if i could go ride up the gravel roads at Tokai or Jonkers, which are my favourite trails, and do a few dh runs in a day.

The point i am trying to make is this. I know I am a unfit mediocre cyclist at best and i dont pretend to be anything else. I dont want to out climb or race anyone.

Now I know I will never own a ebike as they are and will always be out of my non existent budget, but if I had the means to, I would own one as part of my bike lineup.

It would give me more ride for my time, if that makes any sense. This post is not meant to offend anyone, its merely my opinion.

D

brilliant. With time ebikes will come down in price

Hi guys.

D

I suck on the ups as well. I do 2 or 3 runs mood dependant at tokai. Other places normally just one run. Eventually I would most likely get an e bike, but right now I like to suffer trying to pedal up a hill.

But well done, thanks for the info. Awesome.

As jy iemand anders wil wen ry n gewone fiets,as jy ry vir die lekkerte daarvan is dit nie eens iets om oor te debateer nie.Met die groter bande teen 0.8 bar het jy ook n groter oppervlak wat met grond kontak maak en sleep mens jou agterwiel  baie minder en ry jy ook op teen n klim sonder wielglip wat tog minder erosie veroorsaak.

Pedal assist bikes are part of the natural evolution of cycling. We might as well stop moaning and get used to the idea. I foresee far more of these bikes on our trails in the coming years as the technology improve and prices come down. I will miss my few strava KOM's though...

Hi guys.

D

I know the feeling ... I also used to get passed by joggers (Not even runners) on the climbs .... now after a few years riding and TITS I get passed by walkers on the climbs :P