• Replies 2.7k

?????????

Patch, maybe re-read what i wrote without putting your spin/interpretation on it.

Then re-read what you wrote.

I actually addressed it all exactly in your vein of thinking.

But it's ok....it's been a long week. Friday syndrome has hit lol

Enjoy the weekend

Relax dude, no spin... my post was in good spirit too, promise.

Looks like what this thread needs is less eBikes and more good ol E, maybe then everybody will love everybody.

I care very much.. as I race to get a better time and to improve my seeding.... if my seeding is now affected because of ebikes... then too right I care!!

Perhaps it is 59th this race and that gives me something to work on... which may be 49th in the next race.... there again it could be 69th in the next race because of all the ebikes!!

And none of it has to do will telling my grand children how I did on my death bed.... but for my own personal goals and ambitions.

Maybe you have no interest in racing or bettering yourself where many of us do!!

So I repeat, there is no place for ebikes to be in cycle races!

You want go enjoy the trails at weekends, visit places you would never get to under your own pedaling then that is fine... but compete in races and say you came 58th... no, never !!

Am sure it time there will be plenty of ebike races only and that is where they belong, but not mixing it up with regular cycle races.

No need to get upset about it, I just stated my reasoned opinion and I welcome other's opinions as well, that's what forums are for.

A few fun facts, your seeding gets calculated from the difference between your time and the winner's time (which is not on an e-bike), not whether you were 40th 50th or 60th, so unless the e-bikes holds you up or something it does not affect your seeding.  You can still work on your seeding and improving yourself.

The truth of the matter is your position will depend on who else pitches up for the race, so unless your really racing for the win I'd rather suggest your start racing for time, or against that oke that you generally see in races.  But as the majority of us agree on is that there is no place for e-bikes in this racing part of the field.  You need to read the posts again.  

As for your own ambitions I fully understand

No need to get upset about it, I just stated my reasoned opinion and I welcome other's opinions as well, that's what forums are for.

A few fun facts, your seeding gets calculated from the difference between your time and the winner's time (which is not on an e-bike), not whether you were 40th 50th or 60th, so unless the e-bikes holds you up or something it does not affect your seeding.  You can still work on your seeding and improving yourself.

The truth of the matter is your position will depend on who else pitches up for the race, so unless your really racing for the win I'd rather suggest your start racing for time, or against that oke that you generally see in races.  But as the majority of us agree on is that there is no place for e-bikes in this racing part of the field.  You need to read the posts again.  

Correct, but there are only so many spots in each group so if there are 200 ebikes in front of you they will all have better seeding than you and you will be bumped to the next lower group.

I don't do a lot of races and it took me a couple of years to get get my seeding to the point where I could start in A batch in Sani (Adventure) this year. I have literally started in most groups from A to M over the last couple of years and there is a major difference in skill level between the first and the last groups - both in riding ability and being alert to the riders around you. This is something that has to be learned over time and yes, for some it's quicker than for others. Personally I don't feel improving your seeding using an e-bike would be fair and it will lead to more risk to the non e-bike riders. If you want to race, don't ride an e-bike. If you want to ride one in races, start at the back and stay there as you chose to treat it as a leisurely ride and not a race.

As much as I get a pain in my buttox when passed by an e-bike aunty even when out on a training ride, I totally agree with rudi-h's post. 

It happened the other day when I was doing a good interval session but couldn't catch up with the lady on a bicycle (e-bike) a few hundred meters in front.  When she eventually slowed and I pulled alongside her she smiled and said "I'm sorry I'm cheating".  I just joked along.

Why am I bringing this up, because I'd much prefer her (and many others) to be out on an e-bike, enjoying nature and herself, than sitting in front of the telly watching series or whatever.  It did not negatively impact my ride in any way, so why bother with the "cheating" argument.

Now to bring this back into "racing".  There is only a few of us really racing for top 10, podiums, prize money, sponsors etc. and I agree fully that there is no place for e-bikes in this part of the field (except for Stefan Sahm to bring us and the sponsors some much wanted race footage), as quite frankly it can become a dangerous situation when non-skilled riders mix it up here.  But I don't have a problem with e-bikers starting in the non-racing groups or at the back and "ride" along and enjoy the event in a safe environment.

We sometimes need to take a step back and see the bigger picture.  If family members with different abilities can use e-bikes to ride together, or people with disabilities can enjoy a bit of freedom, it adds value.

Yes I know most of us are competitive by nature, but to be honest, not many people will really care if one day, when retired or on your death bed, you tell them you placed 60th, 70th, 5283th in the Sani2C race or Cape Epic and you could've been 59th if it wasn't for the oke on the e-bike.

I also see the problems with assuming everyone will use it in good faith and I can see why we want them banned as well.  The problem is therefore not the e-bike, but the dof oke wanting to use it as part of mechanical doping to race with.

The solution might be to allow them to ride, but don't give them a time, as I don't see any point in someone racing with it.  In future some races might allow them and others not, it's really up to them which market they want to target.

My personal feeling;

E-bike racing:  Absolutely not

E-bike riding and adding value to life: With the correct rules and regulations and limitations, perhaps it may be possible, alternatively e-bike specific events.

The day my wife agrees I will immediately buy her an ebike !!

The fun we could have cycling together - me, her, and the 6 year old ....

and after enough trails we will get to a point where the three of us could enter an "event" .... probably in the 10 to 20km distance, starting at the back - staying clear and safe of the kids in this group.

Podium is not even a consideration !

mixing it with the racers neither !

BUT, being able to include my wife in the experiences the laaitie and I have - PRICELESS !!  (well seems it might be 35k for a new Giant ebike)

Now why this would worry a podium contender is beyond me ....

Had a quick gook and found a MTB marathon event here in switz that allows E bikes.

E bikes are allowed in the half marathon distance and the Easy marathon (Easy is shorter than half marathon and also teams and tandems allowed, all untimed)

https://www.o-tour.ch/rennen/strecken/

Here's screen shot of the results

E- Bikes (mixed male / female)

post-182-0-11009300-1506712839_thumb.png

Licensed Men

post-182-0-09012300-1506712889_thumb.png

Licensed Ladies

post-182-0-12773600-1506712931_thumb.png

2018 Race pamphlet with categories

post-182-0-36406900-1506712983_thumb.png

Start Times...25 minutes later than the last pedal powered mtb start 

post-182-0-61482600-1506713071_thumb.png

Now why this would worry a podium contender is beyond me ....

Can't really speak on behalf of podium contenders but it doesn't. But do you really think chilling right at the back with your child is the only way ebikes will be used?

Am I the only guy that gets more cynical as I grow older ? Horror of horrors I see clumps of families in multivitamin advert style, cruising up the trail with mom and dad in front and little sister trying to pass.

We need an e bike so the whole family can ride together ? What's wrong with the fastest member just riding at the pace of the slowest on a normal bike, or just an easier route powered by yourself.

Don't want them in races either. But , alas it will happen.

So my only remedy will be to look at you with disdain and contempt as you cruise past me.

I care very much.. as I race to get a better time and to improve my seeding.... if my seeding is now affected because of ebikes... then too right I care!!

Perhaps it is 59th this race and that gives me something to work on... which may be 49th in the next race.... there again it could be 69th in the next race because of all the ebikes!!

And none of it has to do will telling my grand children how I did on my death bed.... but for my own personal goals and ambitions.

Maybe you have no interest in racing or bettering yourself where many of us do!!

So I repeat, there is no place for ebikes to be in cycle races!

You want go enjoy the trails at weekends, visit places you would never get to under your own pedaling then that is fine... but compete in races and say you came 58th... no, never !!

Am sure it time there will be plenty of ebike races only and that is where they belong, but not mixing it up with regular cycle races.

Relax Boet. I think the consensus seems to be no in races. There's always Strava for hardcore guys like you, who want to be 58th instead of 59th. Some of us don't even collect medals at the finish anymore. Can you believe that?

[sarcasm] definitely can't have ebikes in a race, as they are faster than normal bikes and could affect the outcome of the race. If you allow this, then the next thing is that they would let men and women race on the same course and that is clearly not a good idea [/sarcasm]

Relax Boet. I think the consensus seems to be no in races. There's always Strava for hardcore guys like you, who want to be 58th instead of 59th. Some of us don't even collect medals at the finish anymore. Can you believe that?

Very chilled dude, but as usual you miss the point... being that ebikes can influence not only the race they are participating in but the whole seeding system!

As for the personal insult thrown.... says a lot more about you... but anyway, we digress from the topic of discussion!

Edited by shaper

Very chilled dude, but as usual you miss the point... being that ebikes can influence not only the race they are participating in but the whole seeding system!

As for the personal insult thrown.... says a lot more about you... but anyway, we digress from the topic of discussion!

Exactly, why do we need insults?

Those who want to chill: ride the event at your leisure but stay out of the way of those who would like to race. You are most welcome on any ride, and if anyone says otherwise they are a fool. On one, selfish level.

If you really want to race an eBike, or be a Strava king, against normal bikes you are also a fool. Truly. On many levels.

But they can, and will, coexist. Like Fat bikes. Hopefully. (Yes, I am biased towards self-propulsion.)

Am I the only guy that gets more cynical as I grow older ? Horror of horrors I see clumps of families in multivitamin advert style, cruising up the trail with mom and dad in front and little sister trying to pass.

We need an e bike so the whole family can ride together ? What's wrong with the fastest member just riding at the pace of the slowest on a normal bike, or just an easier route powered by yourself.

Don't want them in races either. But , alas it will happen.

So my only remedy will be to look at you with disdain and contempt as you cruise past me.

Longing back to last week where my days started with a ride on gravel roads ....

So excuse my nostalgic view this morning ....

It may just possibly be better to get some people away from their social media devises .... even if that means getting them onto e-bikes .....

OR ... take then to the Northern Cape where there is NO signal, and they actually have to put their heads outside the house at some point .....

then again, some WANT to cycle ..... an e-bike probably wont get a lazy sod of his couch .....

right now I WANT to be on my bike on those Northern Cape routes ..... !!