So is the Epic getting ahead of itself - elitism in the dining hall

Headshot

• Replies 217

Hahahaha yoh that is hilarious

Not

All that any of us expressed was our shock and disbelief at what the organizers think they can get away with.

It is rightly so a premium event. The privateers/common public participating deserves the same treatment as anyone else. Why? They are paying for it! Not difficult to comprehend

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

That's my point. The organisers can sell this race out multiple times so why are you filled with shock & disbelief with the product they deliver? Clearly more than enough people feel they are getting what they pay for. Not difficult to comprehend? You might disagree but that's irrelevant to the current reality.

In your naive Utopian existence the the common public might deserve the same treatment, but in the real world of sponsors, media rights, professional works teams, charities and good old-fashioned nepotism, that will never happen on a race of this scale and stature.

FFS I'd forgotten what a bunch of cry babies populate this forum. The same who whinge about race prices, and bike shop owners who dare charge them when they just 'pop in' on a Saturday morning with their dirty bike expecting the owner to just drop everything and help them. The same lot who diss races they've never done or bikes they've never ridden. Who complain when there's a bottleneck at a race, but don't want to put in the hours of training to get seeded in bunches where there are no bottle necks

The Epic is what it is; an unashamedly commercialistic event. They will give you the best product they can within the return they need to make on their investment. That means looking after their sponsors and their guests and giving the rest the best they think they can get away with. If you do the race expecting anything else you're naive and ignorant to the nature of professional sports. You either choose to accept that and do the race, or you don't and you don't do it. This is not complicated I promise. But FFS dont do it and then whine because you're too lazy/busy/cool to carry your own water bottle to the table which you filled up at the water bowser outside filled with thousands of litres of fresh, clean, environmentely friendly, drinking water.

Could not have said it better.  :clap:  :clap:  :clap:

Been making this sum in my head:

EPIC:

R 75 000 for team of two -  R 37 500 per person for 8 days/nights = R 4 687,50 pppd

S2C:

R 13 900 for team of 2 - R 6 950 per person for 3 days/nights = R 2 316,66 pppd

QUESTION to okes/ladies who've done both: (I've only done S2C)

What makes EPIC charges double?

I've done Epic, CPT and Sani

In terms of rider treatment Sani is by far superior.  You can have as much as you like - and all top quality stuff.  Reminded me of my days as officer at the Air Force. 

Cape Pioneer not that far off - and great local food is provided by the local tannies - and lots of ostrich!!

Cape Epic was like being a troep in the Army, you felt as if you got screwed.

Been making this sum in my head:

EPIC:

R 75 000 for team of two -  R 37 500 per person for 8 days/nights = R 4 687,50 pppd

S2C:

R 13 900 for team of 2 - R 6 950 per person for 3 days/nights = R 2 316,66 pppd

QUESTION to okes/ladies who've done both: (I've only done S2C)

What makes EPIC charges double?

Because that's the going rate for penis enlargement surgery...

Here’s How Long it Takes for Certain Products to Decompose

Banana Peel: 3-4 weeks

Paper Bag: 1 month

Cardboard: 2 months

Wool Sock: 1 year

Tinned Steel Can: 50 years

Aluminum Can: 200-500 years (But if recycled, it can be reused within 6 weeks!)

Disposable Diapers: 550 years

Plastic Bags : 20-1,000 years

Plastic Jug: 1 million years

Glass: 1-2 million years

Styrofoam: 1+ million years

This should be bumped under a new thread.

Have to agree with the video. Last years food and drinks in the dining tent was very, very average. served in paper plates and plastic cutlery. I truly dont know where the 75k goes.

The kit and rider bag must be a tenth of that. Someone is making leke bokke somewhere.

In addition, they have sponsorship, so they aren't relying purely on entry fees to pay for everything

Put it on your tax return as a business expense. Taking out a client. Just keep the receipt :w00t:

and a disclaimer with a link to this thread saying "Lexx made me do it"

So let me get this straight....

An elitist sport elite athlete at an elitist event is complaining there are more elitist elite?

This is far more interesting than JZ's antics :P  

Whats the criteria for sitting at the fancy tables ? Invite only ? 

A corporate sponsor wants to invite their clients to ride the Epic, and make sure they have a great time when they eat. And they PAY for it. It's essentially a hospitality suite, and it happens at just about any event in the universe. I don't really know what the point of this video is  :unsure:  

The Epic is not a bike race, it's a corporate event. You need to think of it in a similar vein to a golf day, and you'll quickly understand why a) they can charge what they do, and b) why it will continue to be sold out for years to come.

Marketed as a world class event you would at least expect proper hydration.

Who is to say that drum of water was cleaned properly, no funky germs have crept in etc

We know they do like to thin the field out a bit so maybe not....

Totally agree on the tap water aspect...

Normally I do too, but in a race like that I wouldnt touch tap water.

I travel a lot for work and water is definitely different in various parts of the country, you get used to your local water and that is fine.

The problem comes in when you are not used to different water and the stomach problems it can cause.

It may be coincidence but when I switched to drinking only bottled water on business trips I never had hassles after that.

and a disclaimer with a link to this thread saying "Lexx made me do it"

Uhmmmmm.....The person you have reached are not available at present. Try again later.. :ph34r:

FFS I'd forgotten what a bunch of cry babies populate this forum. The same who whinge about race prices, and bike shop owners who dare charge them when they just 'pop in' on a Saturday morning with their dirty bike expecting the owner to just drop everything and help them. The same lot who diss races they've never done or bikes they've never ridden. Who complain when there's a bottleneck at a race, but don't want to put in the hours of training to get seeded in bunches where there are no bottle necks

The Epic is what it is; an unashamedly commercialistic event. They will give you the best product they can within the return they need to make on their investment. That means looking after their sponsors and their guests and giving the rest the best they think they can get away with. If you do the race expecting anything else you're naive and ignorant to the nature of professional sports. You either choose to accept that and do the race, or you don't and you don't do it. This is not complicated I promise. But FFS dont do it and then whine because you're too lazy/busy/cool to carry your own water bottle to the table which you filled up at the water bowser outside filled with thousands of litres of fresh, clean, environmentely friendly, drinking water.

Wadawadawada - stop moaning about people moaning. Your're the worst form of cry baby. its always the same people who pop up and miss the point and start shooting arrows at the messengers and making apologies for greedy race organizers, bike companies and others, I mean FFS, imagine if we all said nothing when Zuma fks us over. Same thing an a different scale. 

How was your ACE this year BTW?