These bikes are already at the weight limit, so these kinds of changes must be for other reasons than just weight savings. Where you have the weight should not have a massive effect on how fast you can climb, GCN explained it in a recent video.

More rotating mass means more gyroscopic effect keeping things stable, but makes it a bit more difficult to make the bike turn in. MotoGP bikes experience this to a much larger extent, but these guys must surely also look at those types of things to gain advantages in the descents.

Mmmmm.

I saw that clip and interpreted it a bit of pseudo-science sprouted by a manufacturer of nice but slightly heavyish wheels......

• Replies 3.5k

Tirreno-Adriatica, Stage 1:

If you Google the word 'courage' then Pascal Ackermann's picture will pop up in the top 10 searches.

I was going to post it here.. but thought not to get the 2 events in one thread.. so i started a thread.. what a sprint yoh..

I think there was a post here about teams of unbranded wheels? I tried to find it but cant. To answer that on Jumbo their unbranded are Corima and Ineos use unbranded Lightweight. Normal they both run Dura Ace.

And Groupama FDJ and Team Sunweb are testing what people think are new Shimano wheels. The drama the drama!

I wonder if Jumbo and Ineos have some clauses allowing debranded wheel use? If not someone is not getting a Christmas bonus this year!

I think there was a post here about teams of unbranded wheels? I tried to find it but cant. To answer that on Jumbo their unbranded are Corima and Ineos use unbranded Lightweight. Normal they both run Dura Ace.

apparently the Dura ace are too heavy for JV and because they are contracted to use Shimano they ride the unbranded lighter Corima - assume similar for Ineos

The Corima are also very strong wheels with a foam core. They handle heat very well too. My wheelbuilder once emailed Corima to ask if they had a misprint in their rim brochure spec sheet because he didn't think that the rims could handle the spoke tension they list as a max.

He received a phone call from France within an hour offering lessons on wheelbuilding. He was mighty inpresseed by this afkecking. These wheels haven't needed truing or a re tension in 4 years

and they're light

Here's the link... https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/racing/tour-de-france/why-are-jumbo-visma-using-unbranded-wheels-in-this-years-tour-de-france-466205

The article does state that JV are using Corima's and why, as well as why they have lack bikes with celeste-coloured decals compared to the normal celeste-coloured bikes.

The Corima are also very strong wheels with a foam core. They handle heat very well too. My wheelbuilder once emailed Corima to ask if they had a misprint in their rim brochure spec sheet because he didn't think that the rims could handle the spoke tension they list as a max.

He received a phone call from France within an hour offering lessons on wheelbuilding. He was mighty inpresseed by this afkecking. These wheels haven't needed truing or a re tension in 4 years

and they're light

I wouldn't be too surprised to find out that this kind of reliability also played a part, albeit a small one, in Team JV's decision to make use of these wheels. Would loved to have been a fly on the wall when they discussed this. It would give a fascinating insight into the teams mentality regarding bike tech.

Here's the link... https://www.cyclingweekly.com/news/racing/tour-de-france/why-are-jumbo-visma-using-unbranded-wheels-in-this-years-tour-de-france-466205

The article does state that JV are using Corima's and why, as well as why they have lack bikes with celeste-coloured decals compared to the normal celeste-coloured bikes.

All very interesting in view of the weight limit that the UCI has. Obviously the aim is to be as close to that limit as possible without going under it. Those Black with Celeste Bianchi's are rather pretty though.

Gen - this oke says "Hi"

[emoji173][emoji173][emoji173][emoji173] and now you are one of my favourite people[emoji4][emoji6]

PS you don't maybe have space in your luggage to bring him back with you by any chance [emoji6]

Edited by Gen

I’m sure Jumbo-Visma would allow WvA some freedom, but not at the expense of losing the yellow jersey.

In Wiggins’ biography, he mentions the incident where Froome wanted to ride away from Wiggins and win the stage, but was told to stop. So much so that Wiggins wanted to keep back Froome’s share of the winnings:

Froome: But I can win the stage.

DS/Wiggins: We’re here to win yellow, not a stage.

Note:

I loaned my copy of the book out, so I can’t quote what was quoted.

You should hear the story Jonesy tells on The Social distance Podcast with Sam Bewley and George Bennett. One of the best cycling ones out there for some inside goss, on bike fights and general banter. He was rooming across from Wiggins room by chance and said it went off between Brailsford, Wiggins etc and he had a front row of the action. The they all came out to the next press conference with tight smiles and 'it's all good' line. 

Edited by Dirt Tracker

Listening to a few podcasts, I’m getting gatvol listening to these guys that expect riders to perform on every single stage and at every race. When they don’t perform, there must be something wrong.

Take Sagan as an example:

DNF - Strada Bianche

4th - Milano-Torino

4th - MSR

Exclude the big mountain days, when he finished with the Gruppetto, he’s finished: 5-108-5-125-4-111-13-140-164.

The 13th place included a chain problem.

Compare that to Bennett, Kristoff and Caleb:

4-168-2-169-3-169-114-164-153

1-137-15-158-14-147-152-110-123

19-173-1-166-8-153-163-165-126

Sagan has had 4 scoring positions at the finish, one more than the other.

For the points jersey classification after each stage, Sagan has been: 3-2-1-1-2-2-1-1-1

His team did what they needed to on stage 7... drop the sprinters to allow Sagan to get points. Does Sagan have to win every intermediate sprint, and does he need to win every finish? No, he just needs to capture more points than his rivals do, finish each stage and get to Paris. That doesn’t mean he needs to be in form.

Sure, he’s not dominant like he was a few seasons back - WvA is the current one dominating many events/stages.

Bernal

He doesn’t have as dominant a team as JV to help him win. I’m sure if Nic Portal (sp) was still here, he would have told Bernal to sit on the back of the JV train and use them as his team (in the mountains). Sure, it’s more difficult but it doesn’t mean Bernal is out of form. We just don’t know his team tactics - maybe they are saving themselves for week 3, and letting JV do all the work. Time will tell.