Sugary sweets while riding

WaynejG

I was reading a cycle magazine today and they had the following tip: eat a couple of jelly beans at the base or start of a climb. Would a couple of jelly beans really create a quick release of energy?

• Replies 41
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I am not a doctor or dietitian, but Jelly Beans are full of simple carbs (sucralose sugar) which does release quickly, and carbs are a source of energy, so maybe it will help. Wether or not it is worth it I cannot tell.

I am quite happy just sticking to 32 gi for the first 2 to 3 hours and then maybe consuming some sort of carb for energy for the last hour or so.

Edited by Wimmas

mmmm. Good question indeed. My understanding is that the bottleneck is the intestine wall..

I can't see a quick release of energy unless it can get to the bloodstream quickly. 

My approach is to fuel up correctly on the morning of a ride and to keep maintaining the fuel source throughout the ride. I don't like the idea of spikes and bonks. 

Edited by DR ◣◢

I am not a doctor or dietitian, but Jelly Beans are full of simple carbs (sucralose sugar) which does release quickly, and carbs are a source of energy, so maybe it will help. Wether or not it is worth it I cannot tell.

I am quite happy just sticking to 32 gi for the first 2 to 3 hours and then maybe consuming some sort of carb for energy for the last hour or so.

You do know that 32GI (Endure) has 44g of carbs per 50g portion (2 scoops), of which 37g is sugar?

I use 32GI too, and find it has the least sweetest taste, compared to the other drinks on the market.

I used to work for an Italian confectionary company, and they purchased a lot of sugar for their products - normal table sugar (a super link per month), plus all the other sweeteners, i.e. sucrose, fructose, maltodextrin, but not isomaltulose (found in a few sports drink brands).

The three "carb/sugar ingredients in 32GI are: