Okay, its poorly written and fairly entitled... But she has a point. The fact is, in suburbs, built up areas, and in intersections, there are still way too many cyclists who ride like ***... And the responses to cars are often heavily aggressive.

Just the other day, on Broadway Blvd here in strand, i was behind a cyclist, and gave him a toot so he would look back, and i would motion that he could move over to get to the right place at the robot... It's a shitty section of road and i wanted to helo a fellow rider. He immediately responded with swears and fingers, flapping of arms, and shouting. I was trying to help.

I understand we're all traumatized by the various actions of drivers on the road, but I can tell you how hard it is to get upset with someone following the rules and riding well. Robots are there for us too. So are stop Streets, pedestrian crossings, lanes and the requirement to indicate. Just, generally, dont be a ****.

Carry on with the bashing.

• Replies 32

He didn't know that

Of course not. He didnt give me the chance to indicate my intention. Which is the basis of my rant. We all need to take our anger back a notch on the road, and treat drivers like humans too, instead of seeing them as killers in a metal shell. Maybe then we can start building some common respect rather than wanting to fight anyone or anything that crosses our paths...

We are conditioned to react with anger at a hooter. Sadly in South Africa it is used in anger most of time.

Slow news day at EWN. They've beaten the Covid horse to death and are now looking for other material to click bait readers

Slow news day at bikehub too I'd say. 

Variations of this thread come up every few months and yet, here we are.... 

Let's just fastforward to the part where everyone agrees that the only rule is to "be lekker", and not a d**s, whatever your mode of transport.

We are conditioned to react with anger at a hooter. Sadly in South Africa it is used in anger most of time.

Thats not a good enough reason to immediately respond in anger. Are all abused children destined to only abuse their own? Im saying exactly this - we all need to make a personal commitment to change the status quo for the benefit of those who go after us...

Dude, you meant well. But lesson learned, rather don’t hoot at cyclists.

Do you what freaked me out this morning, heard a vehicle approaching, so as usual I held my line, but just as the vehicle get next to me I hear this loud bark.

Nearly jumped off the bike.

Was a security van towing a trailer with dogs in.

Cycling buddy told me what sound terrified him even more than a dog bark, while out riding around the outskirts of Pretoria on a completely silent morning... suddenly, the sound dog nails on tar as the dog accelerates...

Quick sprint interval was engaged to outrun the pooch that was intent on getting a bite of calf muscle...

Sorry for derailing the thread. As you were.

On Topic:

In an ideal world I would put these types of outspoken people on a bicycle in peak traffic and have them experience it themselves, it is easy to go on blasting a whole subset of people who are generally "lekker" okes without walking a day in their shoes.

In an ideal world I would put these types of outspoken people on a bicycle in peak traffic

Honestly, this would be enough for most people.

Just make it a Hilux doing 120 in an 80 zone. Skrikked my gat off this morning. Also, there was no oncoming traffic, they could have easily given me some extra space. I really think that drivers don't understand how we experience a close pass, even though they think it is perfectly fine.

Cycling buddy told me what sound terrified him even more than a dog bark, while out riding around the outskirts of Pretoria on a completely silent morning... suddenly, the sound dog nails on tar as the dog accelerates...

Quick sprint interval was engaged to outrun the pooch that was intent on getting a bite of calf muscle...

Sorry for derailing the thread. As you were.

On Topic:

In an ideal world I would put these types of outspoken people on a bicycle in peak traffic and have them experience it themselves, it is easy to go on blasting a whole subset of people who are generally "lekker" okes without walking a day in their shoes.

Normally a little pee comes out when that happens.

bit that got me was this

Maybe a lot of cyclists don’t drive cars, so perhaps it’s not a matter of entitlement but simply a matter of not being educated about what certain road signs mean and how to obey them.

assumptions galore perhaps i need to sell my bakkie to fit her freaking stereotype

Most recreational cyclists drive cars often, most car drivers don’t ride bicycles often. So we can safely assume the lack of education or understanding is on her side.