Lower back surgery and spinal fusion ???

johnson

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

I had a L5/S1 fusion in 2012. Made no difference to my life. I only started riding in 2017 but no adverse effects.

I do however err on the side of caution when riding very technical stuff and will rather walk. For the same reason I ride with flat pedals.

I have had three procedures all being the laminectomy and discectomy - no spinal fusions. First one on 1994 between L5 and S1, second in 2008 between L4 and L5 (right side) and the third in 2013 also between L4 and L5 but on the left side.  All three instances resulting in excruciation referred leg pain owing to the sciatic nerve being pinched. All three procedures where successful....I just have a generic disc degeneration, which extends up into my neck. Critical to follow the recovery procedure and exercises spelled out by the physio and pretty much do nothing strenuous for the first 6 weeks, limit the amount of sitting, so I would basically stand or lie down.  To date, I cannot complain about life afterwards, but I do take general caution.

Had L4, 5 and S1 fusion and decompression done in 2001 at age 34.

For me, the most important part was the first 3 months after the operation with only standing, walking and lying, no sitting and did not get in a car at all.  Wore the brace permanently.

Since then, not many worries, but avoid lifting heavy stuff.  Still need to work on core.

I only started cycling some years ago and had no problems - have done 36One (long time on bike) to Tankwa Trek (bit rougher) to 200km Audax rides on roadbike - no back issues at all.

Life went on pretty normal, still need to see how it catches up when we get older.

If it is inevitable to have the procedure done, make sure you have a decent surgeon...

Good Luck