Not sure of exact location/name of street, on the cycle lane in Paarden Island, close to the one Bus Station, a business had erected their emergency generator, complete in a steel cage, smack bang in the middle of the cycle lane. As I'm avoiding that area for a long while now, I do not know if this is still the case, or if it has been rectified.

Edited by Wannabe
  • Replies 3k

24 minutes ago, Wannabe said:

Not sure of exact location/name of street, on the cycle lane in Paarden Island, close to the one Bus Station, a business had erected their emergency generator, complete in a steel cage, smack bang in the middle of the cycle lane. As I'm avoiding that area for a long while now, I do not know if this is still the case, or if it has been rectified.

I think it's gone, but I just ride in the red bus lane along that section.

2 hours ago, DJR said:

I totally agree, except that it feels like EVERY ******* South African nowadays believe that they should come first at everything including being a ****.

It's worth bearing in mind that 3% of the USA population meets the criteria for anti-social personality - so 3 out of every 100 people in the GenPop " consistently shows no regard for right and wrong and ignores the rights and feelings of others. People with antisocial personality disorder tend to purposely make others angry or upset and manipulate or treat others harshly or with cruel indifference. They lack remorse or do not regret their behavior."

Arguably the social conditions of our country could increase this number.

Considering that as a cyclist on a 5 hour ride around the peninsula my varia radar reports that I could encounter 1000 cars approaching from behind, the stat suggests that 30, perhaps even 40 of them behave as described.

Add to that those antisocial personalities that are actively criminal and congregating in Woodstock at the moment.

Sobering. Chilling actually

2 hours ago, Mamil said:

I simply don't believe there is any meaningful initiative in Cape Town to cater to cyclists of any description - the design of the roads around the monstrosity that is the new riverclub development is the most immediate evidence for this assertion. The general lack of any meaningful infrastructure maintenance and security noted above really hammers home the point.  

I also believe that this creates a climate of disregard for cyclists and pedestrians in the minds of motorists who, because almost all public space is designed around the motor car, automatically and correctly assume that their needs come first

There is a big disconnect between the excellent and  very progressive new draft policy document, and reality out on the streets.  Those tasked with implementing the city's vision seem to simply ignore it, and those with the vision don't seem to have much authority over them.

40 minutes ago, Wannabe said:

These days I take the M5 interchange / Maitland / Black River bridge route to the southern suburbs, but I used the Paarden Island lane for a long time.  On at least two occasions I stormed into the Pudlo warehouse (where the panel beaters used to be) to scream at the manager for obstructing the bike lane, but he was totally indifferent to my rants.  At one stage they used the lane as their private building site while putting up a concrete wall.  For about a month ... They really didn't care.

1 hour ago, Mamil said:

It's worth bearing in mind that 3% of the USA population meets the criteria for anti-social personality - so 3 out of every 100 people in the GenPop " consistently shows no regard for right and wrong and ignores the rights and feelings of others. People with antisocial personality disorder tend to purposely make others angry or upset and manipulate or treat others harshly or with cruel indifference. They lack remorse or do not regret their behavior."

Considering that as a cyclist on a 5 hour ride around the peninsula my varia radar reports that I could encounter 1000 cars approaching from behind, the stat suggests that 30, perhaps even 40 of them behave as described.

Add to that those antisocial personalities that are actively criminal and congregating in Woodstock at the moment.

Chilling indeed

2 hours ago, Mamil said:

Arguably the same % as the USA... 3 or 4 out of 100 vs. 30 to 40 out of a 1000

One could also argue that on a 5 hour sortie around the peninsula, a fair amount of traffic users are not local or not used to the left hand side of the road driving, which would explain why a fair portion of them are trying to flatten you via your Varia. This could in fact reduce the % value somewhat. But ok, i digress

Whilst i might agree with you that the bridge gang could be considered anti-social, I'd lean more towards a bunch of drug users that have no regard for consequences. As an example, i went fishing off millers point the other day and told a young local to p!ss off as he was harrassing us for money and tips. I was promptly put into the car for my own protection as these locals tend to stab people if they don't get their way, all thanks to drugs

So, what's the solution? Well, police do nothing, private security or investigation costs money and politicians dont care, and dancing like we all know the moves to a toy toy does nothing either. What does that leave the cyclist? Well, to be frank, i dont think you'd like my answer of finding other options to ride the bikes to stay out of harms way. I dont condone whats happeneing, but its sometimes easier to stay away from the crocodile's mouth when feeding time happens

Or, go be heard at the local town council meetings, and if that doesn't work, then vote for someone else to govern the city

Semi related. I was cycling along the beachfront in Melkbos earlier today when suddenly I found myself having to take drastic evasive action to avoid being flattened by a boet in his new Ranger. Yes, it was a white one complete with paper plates stuck to the glass. Anyway, boet was driving one handed over a Stop which he decided wasn't meant for him to stop at. All this while holding a can in his other paw. I can't say if it was a soda can or another kind of less legal beverage that may not be consumed while operating a vehicle. But boet tried to stare me down while I was counting the cost of kicking his door in its moer. I decided to just leave and get on the cycle path as soon as possible. 

Be careful out there mense, the morons are in town again.

9 minutes ago, Robbie Stewart said:

Semi related. I was cycling along the beachfront in Melkbos earlier today when suddenly I found myself having to take drastic evasive action to avoid being flattened by a boet in his new Ranger. Yes, it was a white one complete with paper plates stuck to the glass. Anyway, boet was driving one handed over a Stop which he decided wasn't meant for him to stop at. All this while holding a can in his other paw. I can't say if it was a soda can or another kind of less legal beverage that may not be consumed while operating a vehicle. But boet tried to stare me down while I was counting the cost of kicking his door in its moer. I decided to just leave and get on the cycle path as soon as possible. 

Be careful out there mense, the morons are in town again.

One of the 3 percent possibly. They are legion

3 hours ago, mikkelz said:

I'm pretty sure I'm missing the obvious, but I'm curious how putting up signs by the danger spots to warn cyclists not to ride there will solve anything. Especially as the article suggests that out of town cyclists would not know the risks of the area so they need to be warned. In Afrikaans there's an idiom that aptly applies to this; "dit is mosterd na die maal". If a cyclist finds themself on that stretch of road with seconds to spare before they get mugged, I fail to understand what benefit a colourful sign will add to the already messed up affair? 

I'm also curious how anyone thinks to put signage up to warn cyclists off their poor life choices is better than removing the vermin that causes the problem in the first place. 

THIS is why I don't support the PPA. I just don't see the value they bring to the table. They need to do better than this.

12 hours ago, 117 said:

Or, go be heard at the local town council meetings, and if that doesn't work, then vote for someone else to govern the city

Well, best of luck with that. But there are always choices, I cannot see that voting for some other entity, in the CT and SA context, to govern the city will miraculously make cycling in danger areas safer. Take precautions; groups, guns and moering tools, harass the authorities and lobby groups or move to where it is perceived to be safer, areas, closed trails, other countries or accept the random risk. Eish.

1 hour ago, mazambaan said:

Well, best of luck with that. But there are always choices, I cannot see that voting for some other entity, in the CT and SA context, to govern the city will miraculously make cycling in danger areas safer. Take precautions; groups, guns and moering tools, harass the authorities and lobby groups or move to where it is perceived to be safer, areas, closed trails, other countries or accept the random risk. Eish.

Also brings it back to the actual problem in that spot….local gov has no pull to remove people from that PRASA owned land.

Ive already mentioned it but It took years, an election, a coalition government and new ministers for national gov to finally agree that a national keypoint, heritage and tourist attraction (the castle) shouldnt be a squatter camp - which finally gave local gov the scope to get vagrants moved. 

we all know WC government has been lobbying for years to be allowed to self regulate local rail infrastructure too - you know, to hopefully get it to a point where it actually is useful to the people of CT again.

The fish unfortunately rots from the head….

10 hours ago, Robbie Stewart said:

I'm pretty sure I'm missing the obvious, but I'm curious how putting up signs by the danger spots to warn cyclists not to ride there will solve anything. Especially as the article suggests that out of town cyclists would not know the risks of the area so they need to be warned. In Afrikaans there's an idiom that aptly applies to this; "dit is mosterd na die maal". If a cyclist finds themself on that stretch of road with seconds to spare before they get mugged, I fail to understand what benefit a colourful sign will add to the already messed up affair? 

I'm also curious how anyone thinks to put signage up to warn cyclists off their poor life choices is better than removing the vermin that causes the problem in the first place. 

THIS is why I don't support the PPA. I just don't see the value they bring to the table. They need to do better than this.

Those signs are all over the place, including MTB routes and hiking trails.
It's not a PPA thing, but its the best that an entity with no real power can achieve.
They best they can do is attempt to warn you.
Its better than nothing.
(Sort of...)

But the 'rotten fish heads' don't do much and feel that a 'Band Aid has been put over the tumour', so it's OK for now.
(Two quotes previously used by other Hubbers)

Just image if 1000 hubbers put in R15 a month into a fund to put a security company on the spot/s patrolling in those problem areas until the situation is resolved.

I live in Durbs but I'd contribute...or maybe with every sale in bikehub, R5 is contributed to this fund.

(PS: we could apply same for other problem areas countrywide - this could be kinda revolutionary, just like a bicycle wheel..ha ha)