[Event] Cape Town Cycle Tour 2018

Pure Savage

40th anniversary version 2. 2nd attempt for my 27th consecutive finish. CTCT trust must just send me the pre-entry mail and take my money. Will sommer go book flights and car hire and accommodation now.

Lekker man! You've got N+1 on me :thumbup:

• Replies 2.4k

Any protest action on the cards to shorten the route again...?

Kind of like asking is it gonna rain? or will the wind blow?

There are apparently measures that will be in place to make sure event happens.

I have faith in Bellairs and co. Really don't feel like going all that way again only to ride 21km of non scenic route. 

Kind of like asking is it gonna rain? or will the wind blow?

Wind and rain most people can handle.  Although the organisers don't think so.

I did 80km on "race day" this year.  It was rof but not as bad as 2009.

The protesters can cause groot kakkas and they know it.  Don't underestimate it for one second.

All said and done.....you as a "participant' should look at it another way. 

We are not racers.  We don't earn a living from it.

You are a cyclist.

The Cape is quite pretty.

Ride the WHOLE week that you are there.  Do Chappies.  Do Suikerbossie.  Go for coffee in Houtbay. 

Don't wait for Sunday to do it all on.

If Sunday comes and it is a "perfect day" then you have experienced all the nice riding TWICE in one week.  How cool is that.

If it gets cancelled, worst case scenario is that you can't brag with a time.

But you still have the memories, photies and life experiences for the whole week that you did cycle.

The protesters can cause groot kakkas and they know it.  Don't underestimate it for one second.

You are a cyclist.

Ride the WHOLE week that you are there.  Do Chappies.  Do Suikerbossie.  Go for coffee in Houtbay. 

If Sunday comes and it is a "perfect day" then you have experienced all the nice riding TWICE in one week.  How cool is that.

But you still have the memories, photies and life experiences for the whole week that you did cycle.

Exactly what I did in 2015 for the short one, we rode every day.

Last year rode every second day & had a blast.

CTCT needs to be part of a holiday, not an event in itself, especially for those of us from up country.

always too many cars.

guess it should be done early morning. very early in the morning :ph34r:

Double like to the glass is half full okes here.

It's almost like people are looking for excuses. Argus might seem like a soft target, but there are measures in place now after this years attempt at scuppering the race by Masi okes. 2Oceans went off without a hitch this easter, and that goes straight past IY, where there have been protests before and since.

You are a cyclist.

oi oi oi, all these suggestions are going to make Strolla and Booties ques are going to be massive!!

You are a cyclist.

I am deeply offended pleased you dont mention the incredibly great roads and coffee and wine Somerset West/Strand/Gordons Bay has to offer. No need to congest our roads with more cyclists.

Maybe its a good thing, you vaalies seem to cycle like drive. Terribly! :ph34r: :nuke: :whistling:

#insert comic sans font as you wish

When okes like you type that I feel very lucky to live in Hout Bay.

You are a cyclist.

Although when one lives in the fairest Cape, it becomes a bit blasé to go cycle around the peninsula to train for CTCT, or simply just because...stopping to have coffee in Houtbay, Noordhoek, Simonstown is such a same old same old... :ph34r: 

I would not recommend it to anyone, truthfully. Especially if the sun is out and the wind doesn't blow. (you gotta be local to get that kind of info).

Edited by Robbie Stewart