35 minutes ago, Skubarra said:

Glad you are ok'ish

Honestly did not enjoy the race in @ today, too many crashes, bunch way too big. Only started feeling comfortable when the bunch scattered on Chappies. Was always keen on getting to 21 cycle tours, seriously rethinking that goal now.

28 minutes ago, Dri said:

Saw a big crash near the front in & just before chappies. Some guy surged forward and hit a dip, lost his  balance and took out the rider next to him. Few more riders smashed into them. Never seen someone's head smack into the road so hard at 60 km/h

It appears that this poor riding quality and etiquette is just getting worse. Chalked off No.28 today. Seriously contemplating what 29 and 30 will look like. This event seems to bring out the worst in people chasing time

• Replies 502

On a positive note,

The event just felt a little more like the Old Argus. The Marshalls seemed more engaged, The finish area was superb, more thn enough Coke and water, I even had two ice lollies. and the medals. These are proper so well done to the CycleTour Trust Team and CoCT for putting on a superb event.

And the train service was excellent. SO Easy to hop on (Once I had woken up the security and got him to open the gate!!) Kudos to PRASA (ja thats me praising an SOE)

Edited by DieselnDust
8 hours ago, Patchelicious said:

If you ever want to do a study on why our economy and society is in it’s chops, either  watch people at the luggage carousel at the airport or come ride A bunch.

Never in my life have I seen so many very capable people do so little work.

Andre, was great seeing you my man. What a treat.

4 hours ago, DieselnDust said:

Started &….

hardest first 20km I can remember. But as usual there’s the lot who have done only a couple of Argus races and have worked the seeding system to land in the age catergories. Somehow everytime they pass a timing they flippen brake or slow down 🤬

then to the box who took me down at soetwater intersection, don’t come back next year. Stay on zwift where to belong 

Bleak man, there were some okes on Factors and Scotts that were a bit of a mare.

Saw 2 people intentionally just Chuck the wrapper of their nutrition in the middle of the road… hope they choke next time! And these people were near the back of the field, not exactly racing in a peloton. Why are people so ***🤬

A lekker day out even with the issues, after the m3 to miller's point the buggies wheels kept on falling off. Luckily found some tools and a little frustration and we where good to go 😁 thank you to everyone who helped along the way 🍻 my boet burnt out and was along for comedy relief 😂 lekker gees on the route 👌🏻Levi and I will be back next year, I need to train more and loose weight (surprised myself today legs felt strong) 💪🏼

IMG-20260308-WA0066.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0028.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0084.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0026.jpg

19 minutes ago, wolver said:

Saw 2 people intentionally just Chuck the wrapper of their nutrition in the middle of the road… hope they choke next time! And these people were near the back of the field, not exactly racing in a peloton. Why are people so ***🤬

Agreed. Especially when wearing bike shop kit *cough* John O'Connor Cycles *cough*

2 minutes ago, Pure Savage said:

Bleak man, there were some okes on Factors and Scotts that were a bit of a mare.

I should have stayed further up the field. But every time I went forward I dragged some okes with me then they coast up next to me and squeeze me out to side, then they drop back again *%$%$^. Many okes where hanging on by very thin fingernails and i got that point too with all the wasted energy.

Morale of my story is I need to get all my speed back that I've lost through almost exclusively MTBing the last 2 years. But I can handle my bike, except when a big Peter Oliver crashes into me and then just F'soff because you know, "my time".

42 minutes ago, Me rida my bicycle said:

A lekker day out even with the issues, after the m3 to miller's point the buggies wheels kept on falling off. Luckily found some tools and a little frustration and we where good to go 😁 thank you to everyone who helped along the way 🍻 my boet burnt out and was along for comedy relief 😂 lekker gees on the route 👌🏻Levi and I will be back next year, I need to train more and loose weight (surprised myself today legs felt strong) 💪🏼

IMG-20260308-WA0066.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0028.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0084.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0026.jpg

Legends.... all of you...well done!

Eish, do I even want  to improve my seeding and have to deal with all this crap and dangerous riding? As mentioned had some similar shenanigans in 1E, albeit at a slightly slower speed.