How was the heat for the mid bunches? Me and the wife have serious FOMO today. I crapped on junior because he did not go and he is in the best shape of his life. Just muscle and bone and no fat. I told him these are the years that he has to pile on those sub 3s. But he has women fever at the moment. No cure for that.

Edited by Moridin
  • Replies 502

30 minutes ago, Zebra said:

@ChrisF how did your ride go?

I planned and trained for that 3:50 ... even a 44 ring to maximize a couple of spots ...

Then the wind .... I was going through my batteries faster than ever .... same with my energy bars and juice.  Quickest I have ever finished my juice .... had to stop at a waterpoint for more juice, first time ever.

I was digging deep .... hugging the mountain side in the hope of a bit of reprieve from the wind.

But the 3.50 was still doable ... so I just kept on pushing as hard as possible.

I know it is supposed to be gun to mat .... but I was not going to gamble a DQ on that .... so I started my Garmin after the turn at the first mat.

Finshed in 3:50:09 on my Garmin ... 8th to 12th in 3 seconds ... lost 3 spots in the last 20m 

PS . Yes, it is gun to mat !

PPS ... this is just the maths ... will do a ride review once I have sorted out my photos

5 minutes ago, Moridin said:

How was the heat for the mid bunches? Me and the wife have serious FOMO today. I crapped on junior because he did not go and he is in the best shape of his l. No cure for that.

Experience perhaps? 

26 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

Started &….

hardest first 20km I can remember. But as usual there’s the lot who have done only a couple of Argus races and have worked the seeding system to land in the age catergories. Somehow everytime they pass a timing they flippen brake or slow down 🤬

then to the box who took me down at soetwater intersection, don’t come back next year. Stay on zwift where to belong 

Ouch, that sucks

Water point, 90 degree turn, then that sharp downhill to Scarborough .... nasty crash, high up, just after the first turn ... lady and a gent in the ditch, bikes flung higher up .... still waiting for the ambulance as we passed it ...

1 minute ago, Moridin said:

Me and the misses are celebrating our 30th this year, so at least it was worth it 🙂 And she loves cycling with me.

Nothing like the love of a good woman

3 minutes ago, Mamil said:

I started at the back of 1e. Got dropped by 1f at smits.  stopped fir coffee and pain au chocolat at hout bay. Was nice not to take it as seriously as I have in the past. 

Lots of internal conversations .... brutal 3.50 vs just stopping for coffee at Seattle ....

Tough day fir PB's ...

8 minutes ago, lenzman said:

Completed my first one today!

Why is the woman's racing route 78km?

eBikes should be banned IMO. 

The 78km Cape Town Cycle Tour women's elite route is designed to ensure a fair, competitive, and safe race, preventing elite women from getting caught up in or using the large, slower men's seeded groups. It ensures a true, tactical race for the women and avoids dangerous, high-speed, mixed-field sprints at the finish.

2 hours ago, Moridin said:

How was the heat for the mid bunches? Me and the wife have serious FOMO today. I crapped on junior because he did not go and he is in the best shape of his life. Just muscle and bone and no fat. I told him these are the years that he has to pile on those sub 3s. But he has women fever at the moment. No cure for that.

Women fever is faaaar more fun than cycling fever.

2 hours ago, DieselnDust said:

Started &….

hardest first 20km I can remember. But as usual there’s the lot who have done only a couple of Argus races and have worked the seeding system to land in the age catergories. Somehow everytime they pass a timing they flippen brake or slow down 🤬

then to the box who took me down at soetwater intersection, don’t come back next year. Stay on zwift where to belong 

eish - sorry to hear - did you manage to finish?

7 minutes ago, Skubarra said:

eish - sorry to hear - did you manage to finish?

Yes I did. Shoulder is a back to being stuffed and wounds didn’t bleed down to my socks so I carried on but lost the group I was with 😢

im just so gatvol of this crap mentality funriders have where it’s just me me me me. 
we lost the main & group up Smits so it was a mad chase to get back and a few of us tried but okes just sit on the wheel and never come through.  
then when they do they knock  you off the bike! 

10 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

Yes I did. Shoulder is a back to being stuffed and wounds didn’t bleed down to my socks so I carried on but lost the group I was with 😢

im just so gatvol of this crap mentality funriders have where it’s just me me me me. 
we lost the main & group up Smits so it was a mad chase to get back and a few of us tried but okes just sit on the wheel and never come through.  
then when they do they knock  you off the bike! 

Glad you are ok'ish

Honestly did not enjoy the race in @ today, too many crashes, bunch way too big. Only started feeling comfortable when the bunch scattered on Chappies. Was always keen on getting to 21 cycle tours, seriously rethinking that goal now.

Saw a big crash near the front in & just before chappies. Some guy surged forward and hit a dip, lost his  balance and took out the rider next to him. Few more riders smashed into them. Never seen someone's head smack into the road so hard at 60 km/h