4 hours ago, 'Kaze Pete said:

Staying right did not help this bloke much, and they were not even at a water point. (The link starts at 3:30:50)

Yeah, I sat up when we crossed the 1km line, they seemed a bit too keen to sprint, kept myself well out of it

• Replies 502

19 hours ago, Me rida my bicycle said:

A lekker day out even with the issues, after the m3 to miller's point the buggies wheels kept on falling off. Luckily found some tools and a little frustration and we where good to go 😁 thank you to everyone who helped along the way 🍻 my boet burnt out and was along for comedy relief 😂 lekker gees on the route 👌🏻Levi and I will be back next year, I need to train more and loose weight (surprised myself today legs felt strong) 💪🏼

IMG-20260308-WA0066.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0027.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0028.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0084.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0037.jpg

IMG-20260308-WA0026.jpg

Dit was bakgat om jou by Millers Point te kry! Ons doen die volgende jaar weer.

22 minutes ago, BuffsVintageBikes said:

Ek haal my helmet af vir julle manne, julle is ysters... pure blue steel. 

I helped push the other buggy all the way up Smitswinkel and my left knee is still sore today. It's the only time my HR went into Z4 all day 😄 I can't believe that you guys do that for 109km's, it's truly impressive 👏🙌

My average hr was 160 😂 after finally getting the buggies wheels to stay on at Millers point I was bietjie moerig so trapped all of my frustration out 🤣 the buggy does make it challenging especially in the wind and being so dik doesn't help. But it was a fun day out, great people and gees all the way 👌🏻 will be back next year better prepared and fit as die groot man dit toelaat. 🙏🏼

On 3/8/2026 at 2:52 PM, Moridin said:

How was the heat for the mid bunches? Me and the wife have serious FOMO today. I crapped on junior because he did not go and he is in the best shape of his life. Just muscle and bone and no fat. I told him these are the years that he has to pile on those sub 3s. But he has women fever at the moment. No cure for that.

If I had a teenage son I'd be telling him how amazing the cycling women are these days - must be the fastest growing segment of the sport. So I had a look at numbers for the 109km finishers to back up my theory, and instead it backfired.

2026: M/F 14 700/ 3 300

2016: M/F 22 700 / 6100  

2006: M/F 21 700/ 5 900

2002: M/F 22 000 / 6000

1996: (no gender splits on racetec for these dates)

So what's up - there are LESS ladies doing it than before both in quantum and proportion? Very suprised to see that. Kulula days are long gone and Daddy doesn't pay for flights for the whole family from JHB anymore??

Going up Smits, we had an oversized plonker on his E-Mtb come racing up on the right-hand side gravel section, shouting "Make Way, Make Way". At this time, we were quite a sizeable bunch made up of 2D to 2F riders spread out over the width of the road. This arse almost took out a few riders with his wide handlebars as he veered into the road to avoid the vegetation on the side of the road as well as holes and other obstacles. He got sworn at by quite a few riders, me included, but he just continued on his merry way, endangering other people on his way to position 9900.

Then going past between the trees after Cape Point Reserve where the road surface was so bumpy, the youngster Infront of me decided that it was a good idea to take both his hands off the handlebars in his best Sagan impersonation. He got a quick "Don't be daft, keep your hands on the bars" from me. (OK, this is the censored version).

Going down after Suikerbossie, just before Twelve Apostel Hotel, a few guys in the middle of the road touched wheels and went down hard. At this stage we were pedaling hard and in excess of 50km/h, and we just managed to avoid the tangle by going to the right. This could not have had a good result, and I hope that the injuries were not too severe.

Great to hear that there were fewer crashes this year, although the one by the finish line looked very sore 😬. My "race" didn't go according to plan as the plan was never to take pulls at the front but try and hold on until Suikerbossie. I arrived a bit "late" to the 1B starting chute (15min before gun fires), and took my place at the back row.

Long story short, I couldn't move up when the gun went and on Hospital Bend I got caught behind a split and I knew that it going to be a tough day. Ended rotating pulls with a few people until we got to Edinburgh where I drove the pace and by the time we got to the top of the climb there were only three of us remaining. M3 downhill was hard stayed at the front rotating with the other two until we got caught by 1C train which we hopped on and it carried us until Smits where the group swelled again and I got spat out the back (again), and we formed a 2nd group which took us all the way to Chappies and again we split, and by the time we descended there were groups of twos, threes, and fours that formed and disintegrated along the rest of the route. Crossed the finish line in 3:14, my first Sub-4 after 3 previous tries, happy with how it all turned out although Sub-3 would've been nice. 

Lesson learnt: I need to train more, increase FTP and learn to surge and hold an Anaerobic effort so that I'm not caught behind splits again. The vibe was great along the route, grateful to be able to participate in such a great event. 

That’s a great time , quite a shift from over four hours !

positioning is sooo NB as I’m sure the more experienced racing snakes will confirm. I managed a 3:12 in 1E, my PB and I reckon a lot of it was due to be watchful of the group dynamics , being well positioned before climbs and managing effort once the climb was done. 

Perhaps some of the more experienced guys chip in, would be great to hear their thoughts.

42 minutes ago, The Ouzo said:

I saw a report of someone dying during the event due to cardiac arrest. 
seems to happen most years.
May he rest in peace. 

This is sadly true

A fantastic man who was always full of smiles, laughs and jokes. A well respected member of the Vets cricket scene who got a last  minute entry.

I'm sure the name etc will be released when appropriate. 

I rode what I thought was better than last year but clearly slacked off to much in the final 10km and didn't crack the sub 4 I'd been aiming for. Got PRs on various segments earlier so need to focus a bit better on riding and not enjoying the view.

Post above re the eBiker was similar to my experience. Just after Misty Cliffs a white haired eBiker in turbo raced to overtake the bunch even resorting to off road to do so. At high speed too. The number of eBikes has grown and it does change the experience somewhat. The sound of motorized vehicles approaching fast from behind is more like a training ride on open roads than the tour of old. 

Later what looked like the same eBike mutt seemed to have caused a crash. Cut across the path of another ride who went down hard in Noordhoek just before the start of Chappies. Near the end there were clearly guys who hadn't read the memo and were in turbo overtaking everything in sight. 

Not cool plonkers.

the oke in blue had an eventful day. Dropped the chain somewhere near Scarborough. We passed him while he was struggling with the chain. he got piked up by a group and they piked me up as I was getting going after my crash. Then along Kommetjie road an Outrider he was wheel slipping switched and we nearly had a crash.  And then the finishe line incident where he was trying to lead out a team mate in 1A (wasnt anywhere near for the win so not sure what as going through their heads ). Eish. crap day out and he was still quite magnanimous about it