Who remembers?

DPG

• Replies 3.1k

The good old days when childish sadistic pr!cks found a home in the SA education system.

I had a teacher at school who had it in for me since standard 6. He turned out to be standard head, and thus ended up hounding me all through school. Every morning we would line up and have inspection, and he would regularly pick on me with threats of "ek klap jou dat jou kop op Roland Garros hop". This went on until one day in Matric, when I turned out to be one of the biggest blokes in the school. Again he glibly dropped his Roland Garros threat, to which my retort was "Meneer moet dan maar klap, want as jy klaar is dan gaan ek jou moer." The boys line detonated with laughter.

He never did that again. Then on my LAST day in school, I decided to forego Afrikaans Eerste Taal homework. I, together with the entire contingent of guys in my class ended up lined-up in front of his office. I was 3rd in line, and we had to go in one by one for jacks. The first two okes went, got 3 and came out laughing. I went in. He started laughing. I took my shots, turned around, shook his hand and said, "Jy's nou klaar" and walked out. Upon exiting the class, the rest of the line of guys were crying, wanting to know what I did to piss him off so much.

The joy's of a school tyrant. Today, he is a washed out has been.

The good old days when there was discipline and respect in the SA Education system...  :ph34r:  :whistling:

the two do not necessarily go hand in hand. You could whip kids half to death and it won't solve SA's discipline problem. The problem, and it's solution, starts and ends at home. K@k parents, k@k kids.

And another thought. When I was at school, the okes who were getting jacks, continued to cause k@k and get jacks, week in and week out, same okes. So clearly the jacks were doing jacksh!t for their discipline.

Edited by MTBeer

the two do not necessarily go hand in hand. You could whip kids half to death and it won't solve SA's discipline problem. The problem, and it's solution, starts and ends at home. K@k parents, k@k kids.

And another thought. When I was at school, the okes who were getting jacks, continued to cause k@k and get jacks, week in and week out, same okes. So clearly the jacks were doing jacksh!t for their discipline.

To a certain extent I agree, especially at school. But a pa must be able to discipline his kids today. My dad every now and then had to get my boet and myself to toe the line, and he used a belt as the weapon of choice. I do not resent my dad for this. He never used it in anger, but out of love. Love in the sense of he does not want his kids to stray of the path he has set them on. My brother and I laugh about it today, not because he hit us, but more about the reasons we kept giving him to do so.

Now, on a global scale, if we look at the situation in North Korea, it is clear the "new" way of discipline REALLY does not work, i.e. sanctions (go to your room) or let's talk about it. It does not work at home, so why would it work on a Geo-Political level? Sometimes a hiding is all that will sort a problem out.

Spot on here.

Those stickers look very familiar, might belong at Heuwel Laan if I'm not mistaken, or was it Bergsig?

the wheel turns, I might be moving across the road from your old place at the end of the year, but hell Newcastle architecture is so bad!

To a certain extent I agree, especially at school. But a pa must be able to discipline his kids today. My dad every now and then had to get my boet and myself to toe the line, and he used a belt as the weapon of choice. I do not resent my dad for this. He never used it in anger, but out of love. Love in the sense of he does not want his kids to stray of the path he has set them on. My brother and I laugh about it today, not because he hit us, but more about the reasons we kept giving him to do so.

+10000

Last hiding I got from my Mom was about Gr 2. Thereafter she could never caught me...

So she would tell my Dad when he got home from work. When he decided it was time, he sent me to the bathroom. He then strolled to the cafe on the corner four blocks away, bought the newspaper, came back, read it about halfway through and only then gave me what was coming. Never ever did he raise his hand in anger, never. And he never gave my sister a hiding...

Also, I only got punished for things like disrespect, or for being dishonest or disobedient... never for just being a kid... I remember the day is about St 4 where in one afternoon I first kicked a rugby ball through my bedroom window, and then hit a cricket ball through a neighbor's window. My Dad refused to punish me, told my Mom I was a boy, I'm supposed to be playing outside with a ball, and accidents happen... (but if I had kicked the ball through my bedroom window from the inside, I would have had hell to pay, because I knew I was not allowed to play with a ball inside the house...)

Kids need to be punished, but for the right reasons, and in the right way. Fair punishment is good, hitting a child with a stick in anger is assault.

M2cw.

Now, on a global scale, if we look at the situation in North Korea, it is clear the "new" way of discipline REALLY does not work, i.e. sanctions (go to your room) or let's talk about it. It does not work at home, so why would it work on a Geo-Political level? Sometimes a hiding is all that will sort a problem out.

I on the other hand have never hit my son or my daughter. They are both well behaved, well adjusted kids who do great at school.

Hand in hand not necessarily but side by side as pieces in a bigger puzzle definitely.

The biggest problem that we face in this country IMO is our complete lack of respect for everything. 

Can you imagine what a wonderful place this would be if we all had respect?

We all need a bit of discipline. There needs to be some form of consequence for our actions other than a stern talking to. I suppose a psychologist could figure out a custom package for every individual (in an ideal world). What works on some doesn't necessarily work on others.

As an aside, the thought of getting jacked certainly got me to think twice about what it was that I was planning to do on more than one occasion. In my case it worked as a good deterrent.

Hand in hand not necessarily but side by side as pieces in a bigger puzzle definitely.

The biggest problem that we face in this country IMO is our complete lack of respect for everything.

Can you imagine what a wonderful place this would be if we all had respect?

We all need a bit of discipline. There needs to be some form of consequence for our actions other than a stern talking to. I suppose a psychologist could figure out a custom package for every individual (in an ideal world). What works on some doesn't necessarily work on others.

As an aside, the thought of getting jacked certainly got me to think twice about what it was that I was planning to do on more than one occasion. In my case it worked as a good deterrent.

This is actually a serious topic. .I wouldn't be able to teach.. I would most probably lose my marbles with some of these kids and I am generally not phased by too much..all I can say is the teacher's have a tough job and half of the struggle today isn't the teaching part but having to deal with very very difficult situations.

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

Each person had their own ideas on discipline and how they bring up their kids. I personally don't believe in smacking my kids but what works for my family may not work for another family.

But there must be consistency and a No means NO. Often seen it out and about where a mum says no to child,child carries on whining or whatever and the mum gives in.