If I understand correctly / remember correctly, the stats you are pointing out was 52% e-bike sales and 48% conventional bike sales ......... but this was specifically for "general riding" bikes, or city bikes, and not MTB / trail riding bikes.

Yeah I would see the biggest appeal being for commuters.

I have very little interest in e-bikes because I like to suffer and feel like I have accomplished something. I wouldnt mind have something like a spez levo in my bike room though for the lazy days where I just want to be outdoors looking at the scenery.

• Replies 2.7k

I'm heartened by the robustness and quality of debate here. 

About trail wear, I highlighted this issue: 

"an issue around trail wear and maintenance that’s conveniently ignored in South Africa: mass and bike set-up. Heavier riders, will harm a trail more. Heavier riders on relatively narrow, stage-race width tyres (at high pressures), will do this even more so."

About trail access, again, I think a point which is being ignored: 

"
The momentum of trail access is empowered by participant numbers and people of influence – and they’re mostly mature stakeholders, unlikely to threaten Nino in a VO2 max test. If there are bikes that make these influential stakeholders ride more frequently and further, they’ll chair the negotiations for greater, lasting, trail access."

And of course, this:

"
Of all the unconsidered benefits of e-MTBs, safety is the outlier. Imagine a member of your riding group has an off in technical terrain, and you’re at the bottom of a valley, with the nearest mobile phone signal at the drop-in point you’ve just descended from. You have a problem. The ability of an e-MTB to get back up faster than anything else, and make that emergency call for help, might gain those crucial few minutes between a manageable evacuation and the delirium of an emergency evacuation."

Pedal assistance and open throttle. Two very different things. 

Ride one..you'll love it! Yes, they definitely don't belong in races or on Strava but if you're like me who rides for the pleasure  of riding and enjoys bombing down a hill but hate going up the hills then an e-bike is the perfect piece of equipment. I've seen a bunch of old ballies in their 60s and 70s on e-bikes having a jol. If it wasn't for the e-bikes they'd probably be sitting at home, watching golf on the TV. If you can afford one, get it! 

Nice article Lance- and a subject I'm sick of speaking about (though it is interesting to debate where this is going to lead our pedalling world). One thing that hasn't come up yet is a big concern of mine. No E-bikes are coming out with a standardised battery fitment solution (ie the way it clips in/integrates into your bike). What happens to your E-bike when the batteries get better (smaller and lighter) and the clip-in system gets modified to suit? You may well not be able to get a battery in the future for your e-bike and it becomes a heavy hunk of junk :o A big cost to the future consumer and a bigger cost to the environment.

On a side note: I hear Nicolas Vouilloz is super amped on E-Bikes and they are starting to race them in an enduro type format but not only limited to the DH side. There are engine management skills and engine mods that can get these things up crazy inclines that can also be timed/judged. Trust the crazy French to adapt!

Nice article Lance- and a subject I'm sick of speaking about (though it is interesting to debate where this is going to lead our pedalling world). One thing that hasn't come up yet is a big concern of mine. No E-bikes are coming out with a standardised battery fitment solution (ie the way it clips in/integrates into your bike). What happens to your E-bike when the batteries get better (smaller and lighter) and the clip-in system gets modified to suit? You may well not be able to get a battery in the future for your e-bike and it becomes a heavy hunk of junk :o A big cost to the future consumer and a bigger cost to the environment.

On a side note: I hear Nicolas Vouilloz is super amped on E-Bikes and they are starting to race them in an enduro type format but not only limited to the DH side. There are engine management skills and engine mods that can get these things up crazy inclines that can also be timed/judged. Trust the crazy French to adapt!

This I like. An E-Bike only Megavalanche would be cool.

LOL  :clap: "super amped"

Can't really say I care either way.

But, as for pedaling myself half-stupid up that long Bloemendal drag, only to be passed by a woman looking like she's on a merry ole Sunday ride, made me feel pretty useless a couple weeks back. As she passed me I heard her mutter something, but all I understood was "gmmpf agaajjssj gmmpfs madjll bleh" as my hearing was flooded by the sound of rushing blood from my over-revving heart beat.

About 2 minutes later the hubby caught up to me, also looking quite messed up from the climb, and informed me not to feel too stupid, as his wife passed me earlier riding her Spez e-bike. That was quite an a-ha moment there, as I was just about ready to give up cycling permanently at that stage.

So ja, they look lekker and make climbing a breeze, but I can't really see how the e-bikes are going to be justifiably blamed for messing up the trails, as the back-brake brigade, stravassholes and the wannabe-pinners are doing a real fine job of that already without the added benefit of e-bikes...

I love how e-bikes broaden the sport's target audience. It makes cycling more inclusive.

It gives more people the opportunity to experience the outdoors. That's great.

I think its also a great training tool for athletes. 

But these are becoming quite popular. I would be curious to see how many of the people who buy these simply sold on the easier alternative. People who are considering an e-bike as their next bicycle. Because if you are. I think that's just a terrible injustice to ones self.

I hate climbing. I'll never like it. Ever. But once I reach the top, gasping for air, wiping my tears, calling the wife and kids.

Its not long before I can feel those endorphins. The euphoria one feels after a tough slog. 

Throw in a cool breeze at high altitude, drying the sweat on my brow. And the taste of fresh chilled water. Man it feels good. Its not just the joy of descent. Its that feel good sensation post physical exhaustion I don't want to give up.

Most of them are heavy and guys use way too much brake on them.

Its damaging to the single tracks.

Ban the out of the forest and the real single tracks.

There plenty open gravel roads to ride for them

I still maintain they won't take off.As has been said,it's for the fat,lazy or handicapped.

E riders will always have that stigma.

As Skollie says the majority of E riders are people who take the easy way out so after a few months the bikes will simply be parked in the garage.We already starting to see some in classifieds.

Throwaway statements like these don't advance the discussion.

That's not fair. If Oubaas can experience the joy of single track because an e-bike enables him to do so then why not? The trail destruction argument doesn't seem like a fair point to me either. I wonder how many of those arguing this point ever picked up a spade...

Half of us on regular bikes ruin the trails too. I've seen too many people lock up their rear wheel on corners instead of just riding them. Its not an e-bike specific problem. 

Maybe I'm a bit dof, 'cause I don't see the point. Cycling, and specifically climbing, makes you fit and strong. The more your climb, the stronger you get. So having a motor sort of defeats the objective (objective: getting fitter and stronger), doesn't it?

I can see some oke/gal on his/her e-bike, halfway up a long, steep climb, almost effortless compared to the non e-bikers, and the battery or motor says "Fark this, I'm out."

But hey, whatever makes your boat float.