Tour de France 2021

gummibear

5 minutes ago, Mountain Bru said:

Probably also the effect of the teams being a bit more balanced in power, and no team being able to completely shut things down on the last few stages. Also the effect of Pogacar being the strongest rider, but his team not being as dominant, and not having a Luke Rowe/Panzerwagon/Declerqc that can ride a high tempo on the front all day and control things. And also Alpecin was also in yellow for a few days, but they made no real  attempt to control the race like the leader's team normally does because MVDP wasn't following the script and was sommer getting into the break himself. 

Makes for great viewing, but probably exhausting for the riders to spend 70km going balls to the wall waiting for a break to get away. 

Speaking of the "strongest team in the peloton..." those okes need to get a few zimmer frames. I can't believe they're playing a waiting game because the 'Car has already left the station

• Replies 2.7k

2 hours ago, dsw said:

Seems Stefan and Nic both failed to make the time cut.

no must be a timing issue

4 minutes ago, DieselnDust said:

Speaking of the "strongest team in the peloton..." those okes need to get a few zimmer frames. I can't believe they're playing a waiting game because the 'Car has already left the station

Not sure if the crashes are to blame, but they really haven't shown up this year. I mean yesterday Gee got dropped from the gun, and today he was their last rider trying to string things out for Carapaz on the last climb? Pogacar must have been laughing to himself when he saw their "attack". Where was Porte, Kwiato, Geoghegan Hart, Castro? Checking the results, Porte, Kwiato and Geoghegan Hart finished with Rowe 31 minutes back? I don't understand. Where they saving themselves for the rest day? ????‍♂️

I'm willing to bet that Ineos have the worst "salary to performance" ratio in the whole tour. Their only competition is maybe ISN who must be paying Froomey millions, and paying Dan Martin to practice his invisibility skills?

2 hours ago, Mountain Bru said:

Not sure if the crashes are to blame, but they really haven't shown up this year. I mean yesterday Gee got dropped from the gun, and today he was their last rider trying to string things out for Carapaz on the last climb? Pogacar must have been laughing to himself when he saw their "attack". Where was Porte, Kwiato, Geoghegan Hart, Castro? Checking the results, Porte, Kwiato and Geoghegan Hart finished with Rowe 31 minutes back? I don't understand. Where they saving themselves for the rest day? ????‍♂️

I'm willing to bet that Ineos have the worst "salary to performance" ratio in the whole tour. Their only competition is maybe ISN who must be paying Froomey millions, and paying Dan Martin to practice his invisibility skills?

I also have no idea what is going on at Ineos. 

If I was their marketing guy however I would have spun a story that they still have a rider who moved into the top 5 today and is therefore still in with a very good chance to make the podium. Further I would have added that they were badly affected by the crashes during the first 2 days and also make a long story about the bravery of Geraint.

I would not mention anything about the "salary to performance ratio" that you brought up  ( although it is a good point and you are probably right). To end off (and to show I am not a bad loser) I will praise Pogacar and mentioned that he would most likely have won in any event. 

The only other thing I can think of is the fact that the team could not descent so fast due to the rim brakes but maybe it would be better not to offend Pinarello so I would have kept quiet about it.

Edited by dsw

Must have been a odd day for Doug Ryder with current rider Nic D the last rider across the line & former rider Ben O' the first rider across the line. Good to see DQS putting faith in Cav' and committing De Klerk & Mørkøv to guide him to the finish. Would have been a big loss to the team for the rest of the tour to lose all 3 to the clock.  

10 hours ago, Vetplant said:

Is it just me or is this edition of the TDF being raced in a completely out-of-control manner thus far? 

It has a Giro-with-added-gunpowder feel to it?! 

I can't remember what I was watching but one of the riders called it a classic a day

Pogacar was always the favourite but I think Roglic could have pushed him.  Carapaz is good but he's not quite up there.  Bernal maybe

Crashes early on have decimated and disrupted the tour.  Riding in pain and pissing rain and cold can't be fun and all of this is contributing to everyone looking ordinary next to Tadej.  He'd still be kicking their respective behinds but it would be closer

One point I'd like to make is that the UAE team is not weak by any means.  Saturdays blitz by Pogacar was set up by some ridiculous pacing by his team and they have been around him all the way.  Obviously not at the end of the stage when only the motorcyclists can keep up. Yesterday they controlled again and kept the pace pretty high judging by the small group left with them

The race is on for second!

Can`t wait for stage 11 and 17. If the four other teams in the running for second place, collectively attack UAE either on Col de la Liguire and Col de Peyresourde, surely Pogacar can`t go alone for 90 and 60km.

Stage 18, Luz Ardiden is a beautiful climb, overshadowed by Tourmalet.

Personally Tourmalet was overrated for me. 

I'm assuming Ben will fall away over the next 2 weeks. But then from Uran in 3rd all the way to Gaudu in 10th, there is only 2 mins separating all 8 of them. 

Its a pity the race for the rest of the podium isn't reeeeally as exciting for us, but for each one of their cycling CV's theres a lot to fight for. 

Maybe time to shift attention slightly from the very, waaaaaaaay out in front, front of the race.

1 hour ago, DJuice said:

The race is on for second!

Can`t wait for stage 11 and 17. If the four other teams in the running for second place, collectively attack UAE either on Col de la Liguire and Col de Peyresourde, surely Pogacar can`t go alone for 90 and 60km.

Stage 18, Luz Ardiden is a beautiful climb, overshadowed by Tourmalet.

Personally Tourmalet was overrated for me. 

Stage 11 is unconscionable.

All I hope for is dry weather. I'm tired of holding my breath down the descents. I know that's equally a skill that should allow someone to make crazy gains, but yoh, enough crashes.