Lamber

Ever since I had a battery failure on the 2017 Trans Baviaans the topic of bicycle lights started to interest me.

An electrical engineer by trade - I figured that this cannot be as complicated and expensive as the market seems to suggest. Over the last 4 years (on and off) I have tested the good, the cheap and the ugly when it comes to batteries for endurance riding. 

My findings have led me to build my own prototype and yesterday I finally came to testing it with known parameters. For the first test, I have used the Extreme Lights Endurance light which seems to be most used light for the rides that I have mentioned above. My test setup includes a GoPro with sequence shooting at 60 second intervals within clear view of my G-Shock which was used for timing.

Extreme Lights claim 40+ hours' run time at the 200 Lumen setting when used with their 5200mAh battery - I am using the same Lumen setting but my battery is designed to produce 6800mAh at the same voltage.

My test is 24 hours in and things are looking good thus far - I will keep posting on this thread for anyone that is interested. After the test is completed I will share some findings which may or may not be informative/trivial.

post-10940-0-38234500-1617719198_thumb.jpg

post-10940-0-68770800-1617719209_thumb.jpg

Edited by Lamber

• Replies 54
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Subscribe, since I am busy with a 5 x 18650. REPACK (oldBlackburn quality) setup myself.

Chris

The light needs air flow to cool it doesn't it?

Temperature will also make a huge difference. I remember the first race I ever did in the snow and ice. I couldn't understand why my head torch was going flat every 4 hours but in SA I could use the same set of batteries for 2 nights.

We have made quite a few different battery packs in the past to try to eek out hours on Expedition Adventure Races.