Who remembers?

DPG

My dad had a mk1 escort running Cossie motor etc. 

Stories are pretty wild about that thing! 

Also had a Renault Gordhini, which he had years and years ago way before my time! 

Proper cars those!

if you had a 2 door Escort Mk1 body shell now its worth a bomb as they have become classics. 4 doors were not as cool. I cant remember how many we hacked to pieces to make up our rally cars. we could change hte gearbox in 45 minutes with the two of us working quickly. I reckon if you came with some of the bolts i could still tell you where they came from. 

Renault Gordini - now that is in a whole different league of classic - man if you had one now it would be cool.

• Replies 3.1k

Like the baby-blue Peugeot 404 Bakkie that my parents had when they were doing alterations at our house.  And we absolutely cringed every time we had to drive in it with either my mom or my dad.  

Until the day my brother went off to Wits and the bakkie became the base for one of the floats.  And a mobile pool.  And a transporter of drunk students.  And suddenly the 404 Peugeot wasn't so uncool anymore.....

Like my mates mom who had a 1600 Kombi. Not cool to get collected from school in.

But at varsity you could get a whole lot of students in that bus.

Uber cool to have at varsity.

We had a whole plan how we stole the car when we were lighties and would go drinking at the Hyde Park hotel. even greased the hinges of the garage. He would slow down on the way home and i would hop out and run ahead and open the garage door of their house and he would freewheel in with lights off and engine stopped. Once inside i would pull the door down and we would check to see if the coast was clear and then scarper inside or wherever we were going next. He even had his own keys made so the folks suspected something and hid the keys but we were ahead of them. We thought we were stupid clever until one night the neighbour who was an insomniac called us over to have a chat at about 1 am on a Sunday morning - he had been watching us for months. To his credit he never spilled the beans just told us he would maybe have a chat with my mates old man if he caught us doing it again.

(Which is why my own son will get something diesel, slow, uncool and ugly. In other words, something he'll want to do his best not to be recognized in rather than to get to the next traffic light first.)

I'd like to give my son something like a Land Rover or a Jeep, something that he can work on, and will have to work on, hopefully instilling a mechanical sympathy and the knowledge to fix things himself..

One six double O Sport...(imagine the jingle) :thumbup:

Two of my friends had those. Later they progressed to Golf GTIs......it is a miracle we are all alive today. Those cars encouraged youngsters to do stupid stuff! Which is why my own son will get something diesel, slow, uncool and ugly. In other words, something he'll want to do his best not to be recognized in rather than to get to the next traffic light first.)

Stupid stuff included donuts in the dirt/gravel, robot to robot wheel spins, hand brake turns and other stupid stuff.

I’m surprised I never rolled or hit anything in my stupid days.

That said, I did replace the main drive shaft on the gear box. The spline part that sticks out the front of the box broke off, and had to balance the prop-shaft many times.

So thankful to have two daughters... who come with other “worries”.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Not my first car, but the first car my wife and I bought together. And the first car I truly fell in love with. Suzuki SJ410. That thing took me anywhere I wanted to go, cheap-cheap, and never missed a beat. On the beach between Big Bay and Eerste Steen, waiting for the wind and the waves. Before the beach driving ban! Great times!

post-17716-0-22104700-1528709264_thumb.jpg

My dad had a mk1 escort running Cossie motor etc. 

Stories are pretty wild about that thing! 

Also had a Renault Gordhini, which he had years and years ago way before my time! 

Proper cars those!

My dad also told me many stories about his Renault Gordhini from back in the day… Apparently the big thing was dicing Ford Anglia’s…

Not my first car, but the first car my wife and I bought together. And the first car I truly fell in love with. Suzuki SJ410. That thing took me anywhere I wanted to go, cheap-cheap, and never missed a beat. On the beach between Big Bay and Eerste Steen, waiting for the wind and the waves. Before the beach driving ban! Great times!

Who was the poor oke tied to the roof and what did he do to deserve that?

:D It does look like a body  :D

Stupid stuff included donuts in the dirt/gravel, robot to robot wheel spins, hand brake turns and other stupid stuff.

That said, I did replace the main drive shaft on the gear box. The spline part that sticks out the front of the box broke off, and had to balance the prop-shaft many times.

Yes.  Now you have to worry about some other guys propshaft.......

My dad also told me many stories about his Renault Gordhini from back in the day… Apparently the big thing was dicing Ford Anglia’s…

I've heard the same stories lol... 

including the time he lost to one with a rover v8 in it... 

You remind me now. the first motor we built for the rally car had a bit of a wild Richie Jute cam in it and we had some big wheels on the car. My boet decided he would drop the clutch at full revs. All it did was take all the teeth off first gear, hence we learnt to change the gearbox quite quickly.

Donuts and Hand Brake turns all over Northcliff hill cause thr roads were still dirt then. 

if you had a 2 door Escort Mk1 body shell now its worth a bomb as they have become classics. 4 doors were not as cool. I cant remember how many we hacked to pieces to make up our rally cars. we could change hte gearbox in 45 minutes with the two of us working quickly. I reckon if you came with some of the bolts i could still tell you where they came from. 

Renault Gordini - now that is in a whole different league of classic - man if you had one now it would be cool.

I have an aunt who lives in Holland, she has a 1976 Mk1 in pristine condition, that currently has 13 000km on the clock.  It lives in a garage, gets started once a week, and taken for a drive once a month or so.  She has no use for it, but refuses to sell it.

Smart old aunt. :thumbup:

Mate of mine sold this recently

:D They were so seriously uncool that it made them ice cold cool! :thumbup:

( Always were an air cooled VW fan, buses, beetles, Ghias, odds, the lot)

:D They were so seriously uncool that it made them ice cold cool! :thumbup:

( Always were an air cooled VW fan, buses, beetles, Ghias, odds, the lot)

Nope, it made them super hot. 

My godmother's one went up in flames twice. :P