The title to this thread is wrong. We are suffering power failures. Dressing it up as load shedding is just PR bulldust.

I particularly like that my mates living in Newlands don't suffer power failures as the MPs live there.

I'd actually think that it was due to the fact that SAB is there, not the MP's... But okay. 

• Replies 328

I already have a skottel and a similar two plate setup as Eddy, the problem comes in that you can't cook everything on it - for example, that roast leg of lamb is going to be pretty disappointing if you try cook it on that ;)

I'm all for the braai or gas, but the problem comes in when you've taken something out that you're not able to cook on there, and since I don't have a gas microwave I can't defrost on a whim ;) :P

I hear but the one plate is my backup. I have a gas hob for 2years+ and its great. Cooking time is also less and tastes better( thats just me probably)

Also my wife makes banting meals etc so gas is the best economic option

The title to this thread is wrong. We are suffering power failures. Dressing it up as load shedding is just PR bulldust.

I particularly like that my mates living in Newlands don't suffer power failures as the MPs live there.

Was thinking the same thing. The term load shedding didn't exist pre 1994 and only reared it's ugly head in about 2005 in the Cape if I recall....

Load shedding? Pffft...

It is simply the inability for the parastatal to meet the demand.

Regarding the gas options mentioned, we run a 5 burner gas hob and do a lot of stove top cooking. 9kg lasts us around 3-4 months. Recently added an en suite and decided to go gas instead of a conventional geyser. Installation costs were fractionally cheaper on a 16lt unit vs a conventional 200lt geyser. Running costs are a fraction more on gas if an assumption of R200-R250/month on electricity are estimated. We burn through a 19kg cylinder in about 8-9 weeks @ about R490.

HOWEVER it is hot water on demand ;)

Solar geyser also hot water on demand, but initial cost is hefty, however I started seeing savings in the first month and got better each month. Now that summer is over I am surely gonna be using the electric backup system when sky is completely covered. Yesterday the water got heated to 75 by the sun alone 

I think is is about 10kg.... :wacko:  :)  About knee height.  We filled it when we first moved in eight months ago and it still feels quite full. 

When we have no power.....I often sit outside have coffee and brush the dogs.  They are looking very shiny and well groomed lately. :)

Sounds the same as ours.  Ours is a 9kg and as I said, lasts a year.  I use it almost every day.

I already have a skottel and a similar two plate setup as Eddy, the problem comes in that you can't cook everything on it - for example, that roast leg of lamb is going to be pretty disappointing if you try cook it on that ;)

I'm all for the braai or gas, but the problem comes in when you've taken something out that you're not able to cook on there, and since I don't have a gas microwave I can't defrost on a whim ;) :P

Just buy a weber !!!  Great for doing roasts. 

As for defrosting, just need to plan a bit and take your meat out in the morning.  Its better that way anyway.

Just buy a weber !!!  Great for doing roasts. 

As for defrosting, just need to plan a bit and take your meat out in the morning.  Its better that way anyway.

Ah but I do, what I meant was for those things that can't be cooked on my gas setup and suddenly need to make another plan, then the other stuff is frozen ;)

I have never had a cold shower because of load shedding. Water in the geyser stays hot for a long time. Gas however is a lot cheaper than heating water in a geyser, but then why do we add cold water to our hot water to take a shower? Makes no sense to me, would make sense to have a small geyser for the kitchen @ hot enough for dishes and a separate one for the bathroom at shower temp. or just go with gas.

Like with most things, a little planning goes a long way :thumbup:

So far, for us, Eskom has been within a few minutes of either switching the power off or on. When it comes to "load shedding", there shouldn't be any random power cuts.

A work colleague said the same thing. I told him to pay attention to where he was driving on the way home so that he could figure out whet neighbourhood he lived in.... :ph34r:

There could be instances that some areas overlap and you don't quite live in the neighbourhood that you thought you did but I find it highly unlikely that they have a guy in a bakkie driving around switching off random sub stations :D

I'm all for the braai or gas, but the problem comes in when you've taken something out that you're not able to cook on there, and since I don't have a gas microwave I can't defrost on a whim ;) [emoji14]

Then you need one of these... has the following cooking surfaces: BBQ Braai grid, Skottel, Pot Stand - with the following optional extras Roast Pan, Paella Pan and Pizza stone.

Edit: the optional extras don't show in the photo.

Better than a charcoal (Weber) braai because of the versatility.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71g5y5m%2BssL._SL1500_.jpg

Edited by geraldm24

Then you need one of these... has the following cooking surfaces: BBQ Braai grid, Skottel, Pot Stand - with the following optional extras Roast Pan, Paella Pan and Pizza stone.

Better than a charcoal (Weber) braai because of the versatility.

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/71g5y5m%2BssL._SL1500_.jpg

Ok, I definitely need that

Stage 1. So I am off 6.00 till 10.30 tonight :thumbdown:

They reckon either 16:00 - 18:30, or 18:00 - 22:30, and since I still have power I guess it's the latter...