Dopers suck

fandacious

• Replies 2.9k

But that is my point....is he really a "doper" or a funrider that pays for the PRO's to get lekker prize money?

Did he "dope" or was he unintentional funrider caught for something he did out of the sport?

The answer will never be binary.

If SAIDS decides to only to test winners then up and coming athletes will dope until they've developed the physiology to win then stop doping.

If SAIDS spends all it's money testing back markers then too many pros will slip through thanks to reduced Pro testing.

I think the "winners plus random" system is the best trade off. We could argue the split of winner versus random testing budget but it would be useless given that I/we don't know what the split is...

Jip.  Huge tinfoil conspiracy.  But it makes you think..........

How do they afford all those traveling and marketing budgets?

Not my circus.......

I firmly believe the back marker testing is targeted based on tip-offs.  

Must be. The guy that came in 193rd is angry at the guy that took 192nd and is a known juicer. 

Or somebody just reported him on principle.  You shouldn't be doping; even if you don't win it will p*ss people off.

I for one don't mind them testing, catching and banning back markers.  Rules are rules and apply to everyone to keep the sport clean.

Nope. Epic has a no doper policy (with a date cut off - 2012 I think).

Apparently the bowling lady had an entry to the epic in the lottery, had to let it go due to this clause.

I would be rather proud if they tested me.

Would ask for a framed copy of the result. 

Been tested a couple of times.  At funrides.  Moer funny.

Like....kerkbasaar rides.

Kudus to SAIDS for trying to catch cheats in the smaller races though.   :thumbup:

You don't want to get tested. 

They don't send the pretty ladies....they send this big weird looking dudes that stares at your weewee like they have nothing else to do....and they don't have anything to do. :whistling:

So they stare.   :ph34r:

And I am a VERY private person.   :blush:  Can't even go in front of the Mrs.  There's actually a name or a medical condition for being shy in front of others.....None the less.....

Horrible experience for me as such.

The rest (After the cup is filled) is easy.  Unless you pee too much.....

You have to handle your own sample.   Throwing it in this bottle...then that bottle....then seal this....seal that.  Spillage is a HUGE problem if you don't concentrate.   :lol:      :rolleyes:

And then you hope the concentration is good enough for a sample otherwise you have to pee again.

Then going home, you have to stop at every F#$* garage on the way because of all the water and cold drink you had to fill the cup.   :wacko:  :lol: :D

And you NEVER get the result.  Unless it is positive.  Otherwise....nothing. 

So nothing to frame.   :thumbdown:

I for one don't mind them testing, catching and banning back markers.  Rules are rules and apply to everyone to keep the sport clean.

100% agree.

But you have to wonder what the end goal is (For SAIDS)

Catching #193 won't clean up the professional sport.  Johny Bravo getting 1520th is not him defrauding the sport.  He is defrauding himself and his braai tjommies.  :whistling:  ^_^  

He does not care about himself or the sport.

Or maybe I am wrong.  Don't know.

Also.......SA has a unique habitat where racing and participation is mixed and thus both disciplines are tested.

The show goes on.

I dunno... I am a bit conflicted, I agree everyone should abide by the same rules and that cheaters should be sanctioned. However, applying the same penalty to tannie Marie doing her anual 94.7 fun ride while taking some cough medicine because she was feeling a bit flu-ish seems harsh. In all probability she didn’t even think to check whether it is a prohibited substance. Is it really in the best interest of the sport to ban tannie Marie who came in 19826th place in over 7 hours for her race. Seems a bit ridiculous

Again, not sure why we are ranting about this. How many tannie Marie's who tested positive at x fundride are there on the SAIDS website?

I think you need to lookup the definition of “ranting”

Been tested a couple of times.  At funrides.  Moer funny.

Like....kerkbasaar rides.

Kudus to SAIDS for trying to catch cheats in the smaller races though.   :thumbup:

You don't want to get tested. 

They don't send the pretty ladies....they send this big weird looking dudes that stares at your weewee like they have nothing else to do....and they don't have anything to do. :whistling:

So they stare.   :ph34r:

And I am a VERY private person.   :blush:  Can't even go in front of the Mrs.  There's actually a name or a medical condition for being shy in front of others.....None the less.....

Horrible experience for me as such.

The rest (After the cup is filled) is easy.  Unless you pee too much.....

You have to handle your own sample.   Throwing it in this bottle...then that bottle....then seal this....seal that.  Spillage is a HUGE problem if you don't concentrate.   :lol:      :rolleyes:

And then you hope the concentration is good enough for a sample otherwise you have to pee again.

Then going home, you have to stop at every F#$* garage on the way because of all the water and cold drink you had to fill the cup.   :wacko:  :lol: :D

And you NEVER get the result.  Unless it is positive.  Otherwise....nothing. 

So nothing to frame.   :thumbdown:

Don't you ever wonder if ..

somewhere out there 

someone is saying a prayer,

trying to clone a Spinekop

in that big somewhere, outthere

?

I think you need to lookup the definition of “ranting”

late 16th century (in the sense ‘behave boisterously’): from Dutch ranten ‘talk nonsense, rave’.

Yep, sums up nicely how I feel about the discussion of the "problem" we are having with back markers being tested

Amazing how we want different rules for different people.

On the one hand, catch all dopers , tar and feather the bastards, burn them to the ground

On the other hand but these people don;t deserve to be caught.

the whole thing about having sanctioned races vs non sanctioned race.

If you want to test yourself against the best athletes in your discipline then participating in sanctioned sport is the way to go. It comes with some rather serious rules though.

Don't smaak those rules then there's the Non Sanctioned events....no SAIDS, no CSA commissaires, just Paul Valstar tjunng you k*k on the start line and Racetec providing some bragging rights at the finish...

Now 90 pages later we must have gone full circle 3 or 4 times?

late 16th century (in the sense ‘behave boisterously’): from Dutch rantentalk nonsense, rave’.

Yep, sums up nicely how I feel about the discussion of the "problem" we are having with back markers being tested

That is not the definition of rant, it is the definition ranten, which is obsolete now btw ( Interesting how you chose to ignore the first 2 definitions on google and rather find one that fits your argument, however irrelevant)

Anyway, back to the DISCUSSION, seeing that there is only 20 cases on the SAIDS site for doping, maybe there is no doping problem at all then

I think you have a misunderstanding of who they test. 947 has a much broader set of people who enter than a race like the epic.

The guy that came second last in the epic and got tested is probably be riding in the A group in 947. This is odd that he got tested, but it was probably initiated by a tip off.

Trust me, Tannie Marie riding a 7 hr 947 is not going to get tested.

That is not the definition of rant, it is the definition ranten, which is obsolete now btw ( Interesting how you chose to ignore the first 2 definitions on google and rather find one that fits your argument, however irrelevant)

Anyway, back to the DISCUSSION, seeing that there is only 20 cases on the SAIDS site for doping, maybe there is no doping problem at all then

Interesting how easily you get sidetracked by the exact definition of a word when the whole point of my post is just to state that  Tannie Marie's getting tested is a non-existing problem, yet this is now being discussed page after page.

Maybe point me to a few examples of tannie marie's getting 4 year bans for cough medicine and I'll gladly join in the "DISCUSSION".