Braai etiket...

MJ the Expat

Braai'ing is very much a thing of your upbringing. While i enjoy a good braai every now and then, It is not something that I do often..and 9 times out of 10 ..I am going to someone else's house for a braai. We hardly ever had braai's growing up..if any...and I guess that is why. I think the last time I fired up the weber was when my sister was here on holiday in April and I put a pork belly in to roast

• Replies 1.5k

Braai'ing is very much a thing of your upbringing. While i enjoy a good braai every now and then, It is not something that I do often..and 9 times out of 10 ..I am going to someone else's house for a braai. We hardly ever had braai's growing up..if any...and I guess that is why. I think the last time I fired up the weber was when my sister was here on holiday in April and I put a pork belly in to roast

well you gave away your lack of braai knowledge right there - a Weber is not a braai.

just pulling your leg dude. calling a Weber a braai is like calling a Makro special a mountain bike...

dont worry...i know you were...but as you rightly pointed out...i am no expert at braai etiquette

I also don't like eating late. I have a big braaier, so I make fire until long after we've eaten. If you want to dine and dash then it's fine. If you want to stay for coffee or a nightcap then it usually gets very lekker.

My golden rule: when you are someone's guest, don't meddle with his Braai. His house, his rules.

It is okay to take tjops to a guy who has a habit of ruining steak though.

A South African braai is made with newspaper and wood. For those who use webers or blits/charcoal I should tell you to tear up your man card right now, however I suspect that you would get paper cuts on those little fingers!

I see you're in Gauteng. You have lovely dry wood there.

In the Cape the wattle or rooikrans I'd usually green still, my gas fire starter removes a lot of hassle.

I once had to use 2 newspapers, a candle and half a liter of lamp oil to get a rooikrans fire started, for one pack of wors. Totally worth it.

Went to a braai once. A friend of my wife and her husband. Was skeptical from the word go as I have never know this couple to be the braai type. Rocked up, met other new people. One oke was a chef and works on a cruise ship, He was a lekker oke, had so many cool stories. Anyway we get there and I end up doing all the braaiing with Marcus(the chef) which I didn't mind. It was a bring n braai(also something that doesn't happen at my house, I invite you for a braai then I supply!!) We get all sorts of weird meat to braai and all these request to how it must be done, yeah we don't care I am doing the meat how the chef says it must be done. I bought lekker skaap tjoppies and was looking forward to my lekker skaap tjoppies. Due to the quantity of meat and this couple not really being good at entertaining we had 2 containers to put the meat on. Naturally Marcus and myself where the last to sit down to eat and I was highly p!$$ed off to find out that these 2 containers had been passed around and everyone just took what they wanted. I was left with some skinny wors that could only be described as what I would think road kill tastes like. Needless to say we don't really socialise with those 2 poepols anymore.

important rule for a bring and braai - never take decent meat, unless you are going to braai it yourself and eat it straight from the fire. The good stuff always ends up in someone elses plate.

well you gave away your lack of braai knowledge right there - a Weber is not a braai.

While I fully agree with you, For me, during the week when I am pressed for time as I have a toddler that hits the wall shortly after 18h00, I need to have to meat sorted by 17h30ish so the convenience of a weber suits me. Weekends is a different story though.

Although we use the weber and its rotiserie function sometimes and it beats the oven that's for sure.

My house has a built in Gas braai in the entertainment area (I bought it like that), Still wondering what to do with that thing as it will probably never get used.

if it's going to be a large group of people for a bring and braai I usually take wors and maybe lamb chops. I don't take anything I'd be sad to loose. Most of the time people stick to what they bring but if lots of people bring lamb chances are good I won't get my piece. So it works for and I'm happy. On the odd occasion I take something better I make sure I'm at the braai and get my meat when it's done.