Don't know why we talking in $, it is R17 000, ke december just swipe gents...

https://www.specialized.com/za/en/hotwalk-carbon/p/188009?color=303781-188009&searchText=94021-0005

The biggest question. If you are a total sheep. Do you buy the Specialized kids balance bike to match your Specialized, or do you buy the KTM balance bike to match your KTM 300?  :ph34r:

I'd buy the Mercer to match my Mercer (of my dreams)

Edited by Captain Fastbastard Mayhem
  • Replies 50

Z20A7657.jpg

If you see what the kids are doing on Electric Osset trial bikes you will be sold on the idea. Trials is incredible in developing bike handling skills especially in gnarly technical terrain.

So I got my first laaitie (he is now 8) a cheapo (R600) balance bike just before he was 2. This then moved over to the second laaitie who is now almost 5 and has moved on to the pedal bike, but still moers around on the balance bike as it is nimble and agile.

Steel thing, and it gets treated like poo. It is permanently outside in the elements, gets dropped all the time, typical toddler treatment.

The thing is bomb proof. All I have done is remove the drum brake (they use their feet anyway), fixed a couple of punctures and I also eventually put on Ryder silicon grips as I got gatvol of replacing rubber grips.

My wife has no interest in bikes, this is the only bike she has ever had an emotional attachment to. She wants me to hang it on the wall now that it’s life for our kids is almost over, but I have managed to convince her that we should give it away so many more kids can get joy from it.

Imagine the extra emotional stress that I would have endured had it been an expensive carbon model? It would have caused so much trouble as I would have been freaked out every time the bike was dropped, would have tried to get it stored properly every evening.

Nee man, I reckon you pay twice when you buy anything inappropriately expensive for a toddler.

Sure there is already a Chinese alternative at a fraction of the price :ph34r:  :ph34r:

We would need to CHECK .... great many 2-wheeled-contraptions in the Spez shops have "made in China" stickers .....

So maybe this IS their own "cheaper alternative" ....  :eek:

#steelisreal

The Strider I bought nr3 (I refer to my children in sequence as I forget their names) lasted very well though a couple of years of abuse. I sold it on to some-one else and I'm sure its still going strong....

#plasticbikesmustfall

Price points differ around the world, given salaries, cost of living, disposable income, etc. So In some markets, there will be more demand than in others. However, changing prices in low demand markets doesn’t always work, it will result in a lot of illegal imports of the products from those cheaper lower demand markets to the more expensive more in demand markets.

One cannot look at pricing in isolation

This is where my money would go. I can buy both of these bikes for less than the carbon Spaz and have the little covered for a long time. And, steel is real, and belt drives are awesome!

Pics taken at Stoke Suspension.

post-82251-0-50066700-1607669070_thumb.jpeg

post-82251-0-98949900-1607669081_thumb.jpeg

I was seriously impressed with build quality of the bikes. The cranks looks like they are machined and the pedals are not cheapy plastic either. Ritchey bar and stem. Some lekker bling, and although I can't remember the exact price, I think I can buy two balance bikes and the bigger bike for the same price as the Spaz.

Edited by Grease_Monkey