[Event] Old Mutual Wealth Double Century

• Replies 182

On 11/23/2024 at 3:28 PM, peetwindhoek said:

I shouted at you after the second stop (albeit only your hub name), and I only recognised you because you posted your gear! Your leg looked solid! 

Thank you, peetwindhoek. I must've not heard your call in all the buzz.

I am a very lucky man to have two legs, a body and a sound mind that can still be active and perform after the March incident. It took some surgery, 3 months off the bike to heal up soft tissue wounds, lots of physio, and overcoming PTSD to get back to the sport. 

I cried a few times behind the sunglasses, hey. With joy. With gratitude. With pride. For this Life.

IMG_0767.jpeg

Edited by 'Dale

What an incredible event, there truly is nothing quite like in on the calendar.
After a 17 year hiatus, to do it this year with this tenacious bunch of DC virgins was quite special.

Sometimes, we tend to get complacent due to familiarity and don't appreciate what we have available to us. Saturday made me realize that I need to stay well grounded and thankfully for good health, great friendships and well organized events. The value you get from this event goes way beyond a great goodie bag and braai pack, it touches hearts and strengthens friendship bonds (if you've done it right).

Well done to Old Mutual Wealth, Food Lovers Market and the rest of the sponsors on an incredibly well organized and enjoyable 2024 DC.
God willing I'm be back again in 2025 because this event cannot be missed ever again.

We weren't the leanest or the meanest but we all had a common goal and worked towards it so beautifully that at times in the ride, I even had goose flesh, van lekker kry 😄

Hearing a DC virgin shouting out "Twaalf manne, ons is Twaalf" as we crossed the finish line had me quite emotional. Getting that Charles Milner medal was the single biggest goal.
For each person in our team, it meant something different but equally as special !!!

DC_2024_Shifting Hearts.jpg

After 3 hospital visits this year, I lined up with a mate I did my first DC 12 years ago. 

Grateful to get to ride my favorite event of the year. Some really well measured efforts and a lot of helping hands stopped the clock at 5:36 and 5th overall. 

Those feed zones are feeling longer and more packed every year.

The lads lost out on the Kings of the Atlantic Seaboard title by 20 seconds to Mother this year. 

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-23 at 16.58.52.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-23 at 17.03.37.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-24 at 09.47.05.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-24 at 09.47.07.jpeg

Also, what type of magic is it, that you ride the last 6km, with only one person in sight nobody in front, nobody behind, grinding in on your ace. Yet you turn onto that final climb and its like Kalk bay Bootlegger on a Sunday morning, people all over the place. Some zig zagging, okes pushing, 2 okes dicing to the top, a group of 10 waiting patiently at the top for 13 minutes so they can cross the line with the 2 okes they didnt wait for but still get the Charles Milner medal, people zipping up the jersey like they Remco at the Olympics... 

12 minutes ago, Pure Savage said:

After 3 hospital visits this year, I lined up with a mate I did my first DC 12 years ago. 

Grateful to get to ride my favorite event of the year. Some really well measured efforts and a lot of helping hands stopped the clock at 5:36 and 5th overall. 

Those feed zones are feeling longer and more packed every year.

The lads lost out on the Kings of the Atlantic Seaboard title by 20 seconds to Mother this year. 

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-23 at 16.58.52.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-23 at 17.03.37.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-24 at 09.47.05.jpeg

WhatsApp Image 2024-11-24 at 09.47.07.jpeg

incase you wondering who was random coloured guy talking to you after the purple flowers section, that was me!

3 minutes ago, Meezo said:

incase you wondering who was random coloured guy talking to you after the purple flowers section, that was me!

Oh lekker, I was busy writing cheques my legs would not be able to cash.. I did appreciate you reminding me we had left 9 of us behind :P

Bucket list race, hopefully next year.

But I'm feeling warm and fuzzy inside.

There is a gent in our wash bay, very keen cyclist, but doesnt have the financial means to race as often as he'd like.

Last year I got his boss to sponsor him a 947 entry, this year he managed to pick one up from a mate that could not ride.

And then, whilst doing the 947 he was chatting to a team around him, they had someone drop out for the DC and were looking for a replacement. Everything was paid for, he just needed to say yes.

Saturday night I get a message from him with a pic of him holding the medals, " Hi my brother, I finished, 7 hours"

makes me all warm and fuzzy.

18 minutes ago, Pure Savage said:

There are no rules in a street fight.

Except that these fighters are no longer fighting for scraps and are actual contenders and all received special emails about how CSA officials will be enforcing the no-draft rule.

If you cheat to get a 6h30, that's on you. I have my opinion on it, but I'm fine keeping it to myself, en ek ek hoop jy slaap lekker. If you cheat to get a top-10 that's affecting a whole host of others.

There is simply not enough words to describe my first Double Century......absolutely EPIC wow just wow what an event !!!

Starting with 12 and finishing with all 12 and getting both medals really is something special

9.50 mins we achieved our goal, which was simple.....just finish do not watch the clock

Race never started well, 1km our captain broke a spoke.........then I suffered 3 punctures even before 50kms due to worn / damaged rim tape. The mechanics at the stop sorted me out

Well done to everyone who rode it on Saturday

I will definitely do this again !!!!

26 minutes ago, bleedToWin said:

Except that these fighters are no longer fighting for scraps and are actual contenders and all received special emails about how CSA officials will be enforcing the no-draft rule.

If you cheat to get a 6h30, that's on you. I have my opinion on it, but I'm fine keeping it to myself, en ek ek hoop jy slaap lekker. If you cheat to get a top-10 that's affecting a whole host of others.

this type of no drafting rule

image.png.93ea1b8d13f57ed1af2ca7114b39f085.png

Yeah that Asap Eurosteel Mother train would’ve been nice if the latter took a few pulls (kidding, yellow and blue was all we needed). I regretted not having my phone with when I saw a group of purple okes waiting for us at the exit of WP1. One would’ve thought bringing them back what they had lost on Tradouws would be enough, but apparently not. Not saying it cost us podium at all, but it did get to our heads a little.

Did my first DC this year! Great experience. Our social Tri Group entered a mixed team and went for the Milner and did a respectable 7:30 odd. Definitely seeded wrong (not sure how the seeding works, but I should have asked for a earlier start) but didn't take away from the day. We had guys who did IM and members who haven't cycled further that 110ks. Finishing 12 strong is special and we will surely be back.

IMG-20241123-WA0029.jpg