Who remembers?

DPG

We all grew up thinking Ernest Borgnine was only ever in Airwolf...

And the Dirty Dozen, he wasn’t in anything else, ever, and if you say he was, You are wrong! ????

• Replies 3.1k

Springbok did some interesting record covers in their time

http://2.bp.blogspot.com/-rmmBF2ehVo0/T43hVFqm0FI/AAAAAAAAAlk/QARXoB0NjJ0/s400/Springbok+Hit+Parade+29.jpg

Might be an urban legend, but didn't Springbok Nude Girls get their name from the covers?

post-16512-0-95549800-1528544461_thumb.png

Fransie. jiss I smaaked the oke. I even went to a fund raiser for him in Orkney.

There you could buy a Fransie money box cast out of plastic in his face. I bought one.

Fransie used to go everywhere with me.

One Saturday we were having a piss up, Fransie of course was also there. Even had his own camping chair. One of my (ex) friends thought he was funny and stabbed Fransie with a braai fork.The next day it was announced on the news that the real Fransie had passed away. I never ever forgave him.

Edited by Vetseun

Escort 1600 Sport. The GTI of the era

One six double O Sport...(imagine the jingle) :thumbup:

Two of my friends had those. Later they progressed to Golf GTIs......it is a miracle we are all alive today. Those cars encouraged youngsters to do stupid stuff! (Which is why my own son will get something diesel, slow, uncool and ugly. In other words, something he'll want to do his best not to be recognized in rather than to get to the next traffic light first.)

Edited by DJR

Two of my friends had those. Later they progressed to Golf GTIs......it is a miracle we are all alive today. Those cars encouraged youngsters to do stupid stuff! (Which is why my own son will get something diesel, slow, uncool and ugly. In other words, something he'll want to do his best not to be recognized in rather than to get to the next traffic light first.)

I read every fact or figure about cars in those days. It had a Weber downdraft carb, a branch and a bit of a warmer cam in a 1600 kent engine which produce about 75kw which was hot in those days. I was a bit young as they came out in 77 or 78. Was the ultimate car for okes who had left school, had a job as a rep and were making a bit of tin.

On another note i ended up building Mk1 Escort Rally cars with my brother in about 1983 and 84. Wrote the first one off on a night rally behind Majuba. Scary stuff.

The popularity of the 1600 Sport was also driven by Sarel and Jan Hettema and Sarel winning Rally Championships in them but those ran 2 litre BDA twin cam motors and were fast. The rally scene was huge in South Africa.

In 1985 i ended up getting a second hand  Alfa Berlina 1750 as my first car. My Italian brother in law had it serviced all its life by his mates so it was fast. Which i proved by annilhating a Porsche 924 in a robot to robot dice up Sandton drive. I think my mate and i were probably a lot more surprised than the Porsche driver. We went and got pissed at Spats and then drove home.

It was a differeent time....

I grew up in Kempton Park (ek se) so these zeff Fords were all around us. Very cool cars.

I went to my first Dikso in Kempton - complete with lighted floor panels on the dance floor,  in the wake of 'Saturday Night Fever'.

Whites Only of course .. but there was one club in  you could go in Jhb by the Oriental Plaza where it was non-racial but those places were denied a liquor license. I think it was called "New York"

Like the baby-blue Peugeot 404 Bakkie that my parents had when they were doing alterations at our house.  And we absolutely cringed every time we had to drive in it with either my mom or my dad.  

Until the day my brother went off to Wits and the bakkie became the base for one of the floats.  And a mobile pool.  And a transporter of drunk students.  And suddenly the 404 Peugeot wasn't so uncool anymore.....

My dad had a mk1 escort running Cossie motor etc. 

Stories are pretty wild about that thing! 

Also had a Renault Gordhini, which he had years and years ago way before my time! 

Proper cars those!