1 minute ago, Robbie Stewart said:

Ditto

Although, I am getting slower and I'm seeing more and more rides with fewer and fewer PR's despite to my mind at least going ball's to the wall every ride. Either I've peaked in terms of my performance or I really am getting slower.

It's sad to see yourself fall off the curve so quick, but at my golden age of very late 40's I suppose it's to be expected.

Yup, in the same boat mostly at 47, so I get tons of satisfaction when I do manage to improve!

• Replies 68

I like being able to see friends' rides; or checking how much faster the pros at the Cape Pioneer rode some familiar roads on Tuesday.

But most of that is available for free, without that Strava dies. Some premium features are just fluff, and the training stuff is available better elsewhere.

11 hours ago, gemmerbal said:

I agree. Unless Strava start making their own head units/watches, they need Garmin more than Garmin needs them. Lord knows what wacky backy the Strava legal department have been puffing. 

You can Use the STRAVA App to Record Activities Using Android or Apple Phones (IOS).

Strava is Cool.

Strava produces no data - it's only asset is its userbase and their data it relies on that userbase to provide permission to connect to their data sources.

The only thing Garmin lacks is the interest in using their platform for the performance comparisons with peer groups and social aspects - and that looks easy to remedy by switching off the taps to Strava and opening them to other hardware manufacturers.

There are two things strava does better than Garmin - one is route planning available on the Strava premium and the other is UI interface. 

Unless there is something we don't know about the NDA between the two companies and the patent information I would say Strava's move is borne out of fear and a realisation that, despite their dominance in the data aggregation and social aspects, they are actually really vulnerable. 

If I were CEO of Strava, I'd stop wasting money on lawyers and I'd put big resources into developing a Strava head unit and watch.

IS there a parallel with the Zwift / Wahoo argument that loomed and got resolved a while back? 

I stopped uploading to Strava after their API anouncement because I'm getting curmudgeonly about companies who start thinking that data I give them is theirs rather than mine. (Looking at you Google, Meta et al) I don't miss it. I still have a premium membership but that's for the route planning feature.

1 hour ago, Robbie Stewart said:

Ditto

Although, I am getting slower and I'm seeing more and more rides with fewer and fewer PR's despite to my mind at least going ball's to the wall every ride. Either I've peaked in terms of my performance or I really am getting slower.

It's sad to see yourself fall off the curve so quick, but at my golden age of very late 40's I suppose it's to be expected.

See what happens when you are in your 50's.  You get creative and ride new routes to set new PR's..😜

2 hours ago, LazyTrailRider said:

It's quite amusing to watch people get onto their high horses with "I only use my activity data for the noble purpose of my own training, people who care about what others are doing are vain".

Strava literally exists for you to be able to compare yourself to others, that is 95% of its selling proposition.

I pay the R599/year because I want to see how my segment times compare to others every time I ride. Most importantly, I freely admit this. There is no point in pretending that I'm better than everyone else and I don't care about others. We ALL care about how we compare to others, if you don't, you're lying to yourself.

Yip, I use it to gauge my efforts against my DC teammates. We've already decided who is getting dropped on Tradouws but they don't even know it yet :)

1 hour ago, Jensie said:

See what happens when you are in your 50's.  You get creative and ride new routes to set new PR's..😜

I'll be reaching that threshold next year. I'll have to become more adventurous. The problem with living in Cape Town is that riding the best trails all the time means there are only the less interesting lines left.

7 hours ago, shaper said:

Went down like a lead balloon by the CEO of Strava on Reddit 

If Garmin decided switch off the sync, saying the data is theirs and not for 3rd parties, like Strava did earlier this year, Strava will not last long.....

Comments are certainly entertaining. 

I agree with them. 

when I first got onto Strava it was cool to check segments and mates times etc. over the years actual segments and times have become less meaningful. I love Garmin, if Strava break the connection well then that’s it. That said, hopefully does not come to that. 

used to subscribe too but no longer so. Just don’t need all the info anymore. 

2 hours ago, IceCreamMan said:

Comments are certainly entertaining. 

I agree with them. 

when I first got onto Strava it was cool to check segments and mates times etc. over the years actual segments and times have become less meaningful. I love Garmin, if Strava break the connection well then that’s it. That said, hopefully does not come to that. 

used to subscribe too but no longer so. Just don’t need all the info anymore. 

entertaining or not, Strava CEO gettting shot down or not isn't relevant to what is being alledged.

Feelings don't factor into the case. Suunto is now also suing Garmin for 5 patent infringements, relating to certain data monitoring and antennae placement 

I’m extremely uninformed but these okes must maar moer each other. As long as my garmin works I’m happy. But… will be negative if I have to run strava on my phone and use my watch. My watch talks to Strava and Strava talks to probike garage. Mind you need to check if I can just get Garmin to talk to it. 

Edit: Seems like it can’t. Soomer makes me a bit negative cause I remember paying for the probike app now they also have some kind of subscriptions…

Anyway if any else uses Probike Garage and has a way to sync it without Strava pls let menknown 

Edited by Pieter1

Looking more and more like an edition of MAD’s Spy vs SPY.

For sure Strava’s actions beggar belief. But both Strava and Garmin essentially need each other really. The argument about who needs the other more is reductive. And at the end of the day that isn’t best for us as consumers, as a whole. 
Keeping in mind Garmin also have some shortfalls on the customer service/experience side.

Every year I try not to pay for strava then eventually I want to see some info on some segment and end up subscribing again. But I think they’re being such dicks and are doing such a **** job at bringing cool features (especially compared to intervals.icu) that they don’t deserve the support. Even worse imo is training peaks, yet I just pay for it just so that I can update my plan when I want to 😅

On 10/3/2025 at 9:50 AM, Robbie Stewart said:

Ditto

Golden age...jislaaik!

Rerig Robbie, wees slim en sê dis jou enkel wat jy gebreek het se skuld dat jy so stadig is...🤪😎