Held up at gunpoint on the Spruit this morning - 7/11/2019

MTBc

Yeh ok. I'm just gatvol of crime in SA, I hear so much of it. I've been mugged (kept my cool, surprisingly) by 4 savages (yes I call them savages, cos they mugged me) with bricks and knives at Magnolia Dell in Pta. They didn't need to mug me, they worked there, they had jobs- but still chose to do so. I don't like that and it's not like I had anything flashy at all to take. I've been house robbed (wasn't at home) and yeh the list goes on.

So when out cycling you don't want to be attacked or mugged. And it's time these savages stopped getting away with it- it seems they do get away with it often enough. It comes right from the top, the mentality, so the result is cops who will kick an injured criminal given this crazy crime-mad context. Can't blame the cops. Then you get corrupt cops etc. It is all backwards and I do wish I could go live in say Canada (I can't) and get to experience a place where you can drive day or night in safety without locking doors and closing windows and watching for hijackers at stop signs and red lights and watching for concrete chunks coming down at you thrown from a freeway bridge. Must be so nice to be able to live relatively stress free in say Canada, and have a safe walk run or cycle. 

I don't think anyone is gung ho here, but I fully support now (if you can and have the mind set) to fight back full force against an attacker who threatens you with a gun or knife and endangers your life. Whatever happens to the attacker, I don't care one bit. They should not choose crime no matter what, sorry, especially not violent crime. I don't say go look for it, I am simply referring to defending oneself against an unlawful attack on a sunny day out.

Read it in the context of his original post. After years and years in the firearms business in SA, I got so sick and tired of people making throwaway comments like that and further harming the reputation of legal gun owners. Implying that you are going to take a semi auto rifle down to the spruit and the river is going to flow red, or some such nonsense, does not exactly scream responsible firearm owner, regardless of whether he was serious or not. I remember when it became incredibly difficult to buy semi auto rifles in the late eighties, all because some ******** converted a semi auto to full auto and emptied a mag at a shooting range where a cabinet minister happened to be. One stupid act made it more difficult for thousands of us to enjoy our sport.

Edited by scubes

• Replies 225

Yeh ok. I'm just gatvol of crime in SA, I hear so much of it. I've been mugged (kept my cool, surprisingly) by 4 savages (yes I call them savages, cos they mugged me) with bricks and knives at Magnolia Dell in Pta. They didn't need to mug me, they worked there, they had jobs- but still chose to do so. I don't like that and it's not like I had anything flashy at all to take. I've been house robbed (wasn't at home) and yeh the list goes on.

So when out cycling you don't want to be attacked or mugged. And it's time these savages stopped getting away with it- it seems they do get away with it often enough. It comes right from the top, the mentality, so the result is cops who will kick an injured criminal given this crazy crime-mad context. Can't blame the cops. Then you get corrupt cops etc. It is all backwards and I do wish I could go live in say Canada (I can't) and get to experience a place where you can drive day or night in safety without locking doors and closing windows and watching for hijackers at stop signs and red lights and watching for concrete chunks coming down at you thrown from a freeway bridge. Must be so nice to be able to live relatively stress free in say Canada, and have a safe walk run or cycle.

I don't think anyone is gung ho here, but I fully support now (if you can and have the mind set) to fight back full force against an attacker who threatens you with a gun or knife and endangers your life. Whatever happens to the attacker, I don't care one bit. They should not choose crime no matter what, sorry, especially not violent crime. I don't say go look for it, I am simply referring to defending oneself against an unlawful attack on a sunny day out.

Couldn’t agree more.

I had a friend of a friend (older gentleman) who caught a young chap in his house, busy rummaging through his belongings.

When accosting the intruder, he got attacked by the intruder (inside his own house that was buttoned up, burglar bars at at the windows, all the doors locked, the intruder gained access by forcing a kitchen window open and bending the burglar bars away)

The gent, either through skill or plain luck, managed to overcome the intruder after a fierce struggle, in which both got injured. He tied the intruder up with some cable ties he had handy, and called the cops, who arrived  quite quickly.

The homeowner got told to go to the Police station to lay a charge against the intruder, and the cops loaded the bleeding perp into the van, and off they went.

The homeowner quickly cleaned himself up, bandaging his wounds, got into his car, and went to the cop shop. He got there just a few minutes after the cops with the perp arrived. Upon his arrival, he promptly got arrested and charged with Assault with the intent to do grievous bodily harm, as the perp laid a charge against him in the few minutes it took him to get there.

The same thing happened to a friend of mine in Edenvale, Gauteng after he shot an intruder climbing through his bedroom window one night. The guy concocted a story about how he, the innocent black man, was just walking past the house when the angry white man shot him and dragged him into the yard. The cops were only interested in the racial side of the story and he spent a few nights in lockup before lawyers got involved and got him out. It got worse though, because he sued the cops that arrested him. Life got very tricky for him and his family and he ended up having to leave the country and move to the UK. SAPS and Metro cops are thugs par none!

heads up - Brother and Friend got hit this morning as well.

Watch and Cell phone taken.  Will post details once i have the full story.

This is surely the work of a repeat offender now.  the same person/group. three incidents in 6 days.  Quick sell pawn items like watch and cellphone

heads up - Brother and Friend got hit this morning as well.

Watch and Cell phone taken.  Will post details once i have the full story.

This is surely the work of a repeat offender now.  the same person/group. three incidents in 6 days.  Quick sell pawn items like watch and cellphone

Ag no man.

Can you get and share some more details on the MO and what the perp looks like? Gun / knife? More than one?

It looks like the hits are happening early morning - between 6 and 7, so perhaps when there is less traffic (?)

I avoided Emmarentia on yesterday's ride (quite pissed that I felt I had to do that) and went for a loop round Northcliff koppie and back to Parktown North. I joined the trail again at Tana road crossing and there were loads of cyclists around - few solo riders and a big group of ladies as well (was round 9h00). 

I tweeted Michael Sun & Jozitrails on Sunday and now see now Jozitrails are "escalating" following this mornings incident. Hopefully we'll see some more patrolling now - especially early mornings - and the perp(s) is caught asap.

Ag no man.

Can you get and share some more details on the MO and what the perp looks like? Gun / knife? More than one?

It looks like the hits are happening early morning - between 6 and 7, so perhaps when there is less traffic (?)

I avoided Emmarentia on yesterday's ride (quite pissed that I felt I had to do that) and went for a loop round Northcliff koppie and back to Parktown North. I joined the trail again at Tana road crossing and there were loads of cyclists around - few solo riders and a big group of ladies as well (was round 9h00).

I tweeted Michael Sun & Jozitrails on Sunday and now see now Jozitrails are "escalating" following this mornings incident. Hopefully we'll see some more patrolling now - especially early mornings - and the perp(s) is caught asap.

From FB the report says it was at gunpoint.

Just a quick question: Have you had your thyroid tested in the past? If the thyroid levels are out of wack it has an effect on just about everything from emotions all the way through to weight management  :thumbup:

exactly why I've never tried to get a firearm. I know I have a terrible temper, literally see red and have tunnel vision when I loose my cool, put a firearm in reach and the chances of me doing something really stupid are just way to high for my liking.

Just a quick question: Have you had your thyroid tested in the past? If the thyroid levels are out of wack it has an effect on just about everything from emotions all the way through to weight management  :thumbup:

some people are mentally unstable, that just how we are.

In my younger years I was much worse until an incident in high school where I nearly stabbed a classmate with a screw driver.

That incident made me realise I need to Calm the F&% down. For the most part I have it under control, but every now and then something snaps. And when that happens I'd rather not have a firearm at my disposal.

Dont get me wrong, I have nothing against firearms in the right hands, my hands are not the right hands though.

some people are mentally unstable, that just how we are.

In my younger years I was much worse until an incident in high school where I nearly stabbed a classmate with a screw driver.

That incident made me realise I need to Calm the F&% down. For the most part I have it under control, but every now and then something snaps. And when that happens I'd rather not have a firearm at my disposal.

Dont get me wrong, I have nothing against firearms in the right hands, my hands are not the right hands though.

Mental Note: Dont troll this oke

Saw there was another incident this morning when cyclists and runners were robbed at gunpoint in the Botanical gardens. Seems like the spruit has a highwayman in situ. We need to put up some public gallows.

Be careful out there...

Hi Guys,

Like UnclePolli was saying, we were mugged at gunpoint this morning @ Emmarentia Dam (5:50). We approaching the South West corner of the park (Melville side - corner of Beyers and Judges Ave). they were well dressed (not a bergie).

You would think "safety in numbers" but that doesn't apply if the robbers have fire arms. We were 4 people in the area, a woman walking her dog and us 3 cyclists. We turned around to try and pass them on the "river" side because the 3rd cyclist told my friend and I that they (the two guys) have a gun although they were still playing casual.  They realised  what we were trying to do so they when on attack-mode and cut us off. We tried to turn around (although we would be boxed in) and my friend surrendered because he was the closest to them and the one guy had cocked the gun and pointing it at us while running towards us. 

He handed over his garmin watch and phone and they requested his pin code for the phone while pointing the gun to his face.

That gave me and the other cyclist time to get some distance between us and them but we were still boxed in that corner of the park. They then came for the two of us and I threw my bike over the fence (beyers Naude side) and jumped the fence before they could get too close. The other cyclist tried to escape via the upper trail along Marks Park but I doubt that he was successful cause the trail is slow along there. 

Bottom-line is the woman and my friend lost their stuff while being traumatised by having a gun pointed at their face. I was luck/stupid enough to get away. My friend is physically fine. We knew about the gunpoint incident last week since Uncle Polli sent me this thread over watsapp. We knew the risk and thought by not riding alone it would be okay. We have been riding the Spruit for years without direct encounters. I saw 2 muggings in the past 5 years when I was running on rainy days but those were the normal chancers. The guys with the gun is getting very cocky and the police said they will send a vehicle but were not even interested to know what the crooks look like :(

I really enjoy the Spruit and will try and still use it at least on weekends but the Spruit users should make a plan. Uncle Polli said that they have a facebook group that organises group rides at Tygeberg CPT so I guess its best to start something similar for the Sruit, especially for rides during the week. 

Edited by Ikotze

@ikotze Flip sorry to hear about this... glad you guys are ok!

I'd suggest you contact CAP (community active protection) on 0861 227 227. They're the guys in the black Toyota Hilux Bakkies with the yellow branding and inform them of this... they're quite pro active in this regard and may be able to setup some sting operation  :ph34r:

They also have an APP that maybe we should all sign up for

https://www.capgroup.org.za/cap-app

I'm certain that there's a better chance of them catching these guys than the cops.

(I don't work for CAP)

Edited by Loudpedal