Cape Town Cycle Tour 2021

Chingy182

nowhere near race fitness so I'm going to take a gentle cruise along the route and test my endurance

Same here. Hoping to go around the peninsula on sunday. Will see how the other riders feel.

• Replies 2.1k

We planning on making it as close to the real thing as possible. 

So we will have people in the group doing the following:

1. Shout Hoopla at the start

2. Will get my Aunt to pull through in a yellow bib and tell us we are in the wrong start chute and then pretend to take a start card and check for a timing chip

3. Someone will forget Garmin/water bottle.

4. Someone's power meter will refuse to calibrate and the will panic in the chutes.

5. Someone will shout "hold your line" and then jump on their brakes in panic.

6. Someone will wave like a moron to his whole family almost taking out the whole bunch in Fish Hoek.

7. Someone will rock up on a MTB and remind you every 5 minutes that he is keeping up with roadies while never seeing the front of the group. 

8. Someone will decide to set their front derailer the night before the ride and drop the chain and never be seen again.

9. Someone will ride off the front before Simons Town, only to get reeled in 1km later.

10. There will be mandatory over taking spots on the gravel up Smitswinkel.

11. We will throw waterbottles onto the ground while going down the nature reserve. 

12. We will have 3 tandems start in Misty Cliffs which the whole group can sit behind. 

13. We will fly down a Jozie boet to shout profanaties at the whole group while in between telling everyone that will chat to him how his S -Works Aethos is better than the SL-7.

14. We will have a lady throwing bar ones at you at Red Hill.

15. Once we arrive at chappies, we will have people serving up dead wheels left right and centre. 

16. We will make sure there are at least 4 nervous okes going down mini chappies braking creating a massive gap.

17. Will organize that dude with the hose pipe on suikers to wash us down.

18. Will have a Virgin Active gym boet at the top of Suikers telling you to "spin it to win it"

19. Will have that one guy updating the whole group of the estimated time for the day and how far behind the sub 3 we are currently. 

20. Will add some random hay bales on all the wrong corners. 

21. Will open up the sprint for the line in Sea Point and get dropped before Green point.

Anything we missed?

2. Will get my Aunt to pull through in a yellow bib and tell us we are in the wrong start chute and then pretend to take a start card and check for a timing chip

4. Someone's power meter will refuse to calibrate and the will panic in the chutes.

6. Someone will wave like a moron to his whole family almost taking out the whole bunch in Fish Hoek.

7. Someone will rock up on a MTB and remind you every 5 minutes that he is keeping up with roadies while never seeing the front of the group. 

8. Someone will decide to set their front derailer the night before the ride and drop the chain and never be seen again.

9. Someone will ride off the front before Simons Town, only to get reeled in 1km later.

11. We will throw waterbottles onto the ground while going down the nature reserve. 

12. We will have 3 tandems start in Misty Cliffs which the whole group can sit behind. 

13. We will fly down a Jozie boet to shout profanaties at the whole group while in between telling everyone that will chat to him how his S -Works Aethos is better than the SL-7.

15. Once we arrive at chappies, we will have people serving up dead wheels left right and centre. 

16. We will make sure there are at least 4 nervous okes going down mini chappies braking creating a massive gap.

18. Will have a Virgin Active gym boet at the top of Suikers telling you to "spin it to win it"

19. Will have that one guy updating the whole group of the estimated time for the day and how far behind the sub 3 we are currently. 

21. Will open up the sprint for the line in Sea Point and get dropped before Green point.

Anything we missed?

some oke with a german sounding name and no real credentials will skip 60% of the route and claim the win with a late burst

edit: and the borat guy at castle rock

Edited by Shebeen

some oke with a german sounding name and no real credentials will skip 60% of the route and claim the win with a late burst

edit: and the borat guy at castle rock

Dont forget about that crazy oke on the BMX

Anything we missed?

- Have a few guys attack up Chappies thinking they're at the top but the'yre actually at the wrong corner.  

- Have a few guys sprinting just after the robots at the putt putt because that's where the 1st overhang is and be completely pissed off because the finish is still 500m ahead and now he has gone from 543rd to 657th.

err, really?

I've done the yacht sailing downwinder from table bay to mykonos, and the windsurfer event from langebaan to saldanha.

i think you have the two confused.

you're probably right - I'm often confused

Anything we missed?

12. Why only misty cliffs? Top of smits?

Anything we missed?

You want to hear/taste/feel panic at the start line?

Someone realises that their tyre is flat or spontaneously deflates in the start chute

Anything we missed?

i'm disappointed..... you forgot the obligatory blown tube on the start line as rider burns nervous energy 1min before the fireworks sets everyone off !!

you're probably right - I'm often confused

sailboarding from Table bay to Mykonos.... in a SE,.... Yislike that's an endurance event of note. Don't go work for Dr. Evil please!!

Anything we missed?

Mr Savage ....

I bought spare batteries for the new era bicycle ....

Will you guys please have a nature break while I swop out batteries ....

Edited by ChrisF