Midnight Express 2018.

a very tough ride.

I've learned a few things

1. riding in groups sucks, everyone wants to draft, no one wants to work, and if they do they lower the pace and can't keep a straight line on an open smooth road.

2. NEVER trust a norwegian weather man, always pack warm kit

3. learn to apply eye drops while moving

4. don't leave asthma pump in the back up vehicle

super happy with my sub 8 time (overall 7h58, strava lies)

27540310_10155481088408212_7052990650363

startline
27460044_10155481089028212_8386302592951

full moon
27337013_10155481089343212_7059582269008

we flew to bucklands, lost the group (thankfully) when i had to stop for a nature break
27540561_10155481089648212_8075769842785

spot the mitsake

27654753_10155481089763212_5915593482771

the best Ricoffy I ever had
27654514_10155481089893212_6573145187652

the Grootrivier Poort, bliksem those rocks are loose
27545445_10155481089978212_5645736445531

and just when you think the climbing is done
27459271_10155481090063212_8289575987211

finally at the top

27459704_10155481090418212_8901567155467

race number mounted

27654611_10155481091083212_5468561619338

• Replies 31k

• 'Dale

• DJR

• Frosty

• ChrisF

Excellent Fanie.

Well done.

Looks amazing

It's s great Vettes.

Ride has a little bit of of everything, gravel roads, corrugation (think soutpan road), loose rocky climbs and fast downhills.

God willing I'll be back in 2019

Edit: en moerse lekker vetkoeke by wp1, biltong en droëwors by wp2. Bier en brekvis by die einde

Edited by fanievb

Went out to test my new wheelset and trying out a 1x10 kit.

Had a puncture that wouldn't seal even with a plug. Ended up having to pump every 20 min.

Was a long hot day out there.

(and check my mates supervising my repairs)

e0b1e5bc01dba36c0acae75757f4637c.jpg7b09add58d7db604a663807f41b4c178.jpg

Some serious OCD and/or basic training coming through in bike alignment   

What a day !!  :clap:   :clap:   :clap:

6:00 commute -

Table mountain on the one side -

post-110956-0-57227900-1518113757_thumb.jpg

Sunrise on the left -

post-110956-0-67643800-1518113786_thumb.jpg

And to wrap up the day  17:00 ride at Meerendal.  PRessed for time I went straight UP the koppie, heading straight for Dorstberg, no rest, no contour lines just up and up ....  Short breather at the foot of Dorstberg.

Garmin was showing between 14 and 16 degrees up and up and up ... only 300m distance, but 55m climb ....    Stopped twice to catch my breath.  BUT, I got to the point where the up and down trails cross without walking a single step !!  :thumbup:   :clap:   Next goal is to get to that point with only one stop .....  :whistling:

Knipe_Racing applied some TLC to my bike ...  :w00t:   :clap:   :w00t:  

post-110956-0-55031700-1518114770_thumb.jpg

post-110956-0-34207400-1518114578_thumb.jpg

post-110956-0-24593900-1518114601_thumb.jpg

Took a few pics before getting dust on all the new parts.  :devil:

And then it was time for the quick short ride up the koppie -

post-110956-0-97071400-1518114640_thumb.jpg

And then it was FUN time ....

post-110956-0-33896500-1518114681_thumb.jpg

but first one last pic -

post-110956-0-11375900-1518114730_thumb.jpg

Then some time with my wife at Carlucci.  What a nice day

I decided to see if I could turn this diesel engine into a 16 valve this morning. My aim, 70 km at an average of 30kmph on the MTB. For me that is pretty tough. Nearly made it but I could feel my trip switch was about to go in the last 5km so I eased off. After that a gentle 25km home.

post-16512-0-44949700-1518250675_thumb.jpeg

Edited by Vetseun