13 minutes ago, Shebeen said:

Not helping the OP who has been attacked.

Not helping the next possible victim.

Not helping the attacker himself who probably needs the most help of all.

I couldn't agree more with this. 

Not helping him is like hoping a drug addict is going to come right of their own volition, i.e. a pipe dream. More than the fact he needs to take responsibility for what he did, he needs help. A man of this calibre doing the kind of harm to others that he did to @FondTF2 is a ticking timebomb. 

He will one day just detonate and go further than he intended. 

There are never any winners when that happens. Lives get wrecked for no good reason. 

If anyone reading this thread knows who this guy is, please do the right thing. This guy has the innate ability to cause great tragedy and he needs help. He could just as well do this while driving with his family in the car, and find out too late that there are more people like him in the world. I pray this never happens to him, but with a temperament like his, the odds are not in his favour.

• Replies 247

2 hours ago, Prince Albert Cycles said:

Having followed this thread from the beginning I am just grateful that after 35 years on my bicycles I have never been bliksemed by a fellow cyclist 🤪

I cant see many road rage incidents in the main drag of Prince Albert unless there is a major Olive Oil spill or someone gets in front of you in the queue for koeksisters at the bakery #justsaying. Jhb is next level stressed IMO.

14 minutes ago, Paul Ruinaard said:

I cant see many road rage incidents in the main drag of Prince Albert unless there is a major Olive Oil spill or someone gets in front of you in the queue for koeksisters at the bakery #justsaying. Jhb is next level stressed IMO.

Heyyyy ... Apple Pie at Lazy Lizzard is serious stuff !! :P

1 hour ago, Wyatt Earp said:

This is such a mess.

Nobody leaves home thinking that it would be the day they get so violently assaulted.

It’s assault GBH.

I sincerely hope that any of his friends, who might see this thread or anywhere on the multiple socials, do right by him and the victim by releasing his information to he SAPS.

Holy smoke he's back. Haven't seen that name on the hub for many a year. Unless you are an imposter.

20 minutes ago, Paul Ruinaard said:

Holy smoke he's back. Haven't seen that name on the hub for many a year. Unless you are an imposter.

Awhile back someone mentioned getting Mike Bolhuis, the sheriff might be the next best 😁 

1 hour ago, Wyatt Earp said:

This is such a mess.

Nobody leaves home thinking that it would be the day they get so violently assaulted.

It’s assault GBH.

I sincerely hope that any of his friends, who might see this thread or anywhere on the multiple socials, do right by him and the victim by releasing his information to he SAPS.

One can only hope.

@FondTF2 Im really sorry to hear about you and your family's ordeal, iv'e been following this forum from day 1! and check in each day hoping that that **** has been caught. Sadly, it seems he is still lurking out there somewhere.

This rage issue in SA is a serious problem! As a motorcycle and MTB rider, I have seen the attitude of some roadies out there, I don't mean to offend anyone because I know it's probably 1% or less riders being dicks on the road, but it's that 1% people remember. Just last week in 3 rides heading up Kloof Nek to get to the trails, I greeted (And counted) 6 dudes over the span of that week and wait for it.. not one person greeted me back. I drive a Subaru and Subaru owners say howzit in traffic just on the basis that we drive the same car, doesn't take much to be courteous. 

I have been cussed out for riding my motorcycle at the speed limit along Victoria Drive in CPT I would say around 12 times in the last few years, and whilst guiding a tour with some foreigners along Chapmans Peak, a friend of mines wife pulled over after the toll gate as we regrouped whilst the okes paid their toll, and a middle aged guy riding solo figured it was too much work to ride around her and instead told her to "Get the **** out his way"... she said something back to him, and then he stopped and squared up with her... then quickly realized it wasn't a HE and then quickly got back on his bike like a coward and cycled away before he caught a beating from her husband. (And I promise he would have re-arranged that man if he laid a finger on her)

Moral of the story is, we all out there trying to enjoy this beautiful country on whatever craft we choose but there a small handful of individuals who like to make everyone miserable.

The culprit will hopefully receive what he deserves, hopefully he faces the full brunt of the law! and if not, I hope someone teaches him that there is always someone bigger and stronger out there. 

rule of thumb: Don't be a Dick!

@FondTF2hope you heal up soon bru!

All these excerpts makes me wonder if the road environment doesn't do something to one's mental state. On the trails I'm usually happy as a clam and very relaxed, as are fellow riders.

On the road on my morning commute, everyone is in such a foul mood and quick to anger. Myself included. It's contagious!

Would really be worth a psychology paper or two. "intermittent explosive asphalt syndrome".  

I live in the 'burbs in Fourways. Tranquil, green and restorative is my garden. Head out onto Witkoppen and the madness gets into my head space. For our safety and sanity my wife and I have made the decision to move to Grahamstown, small enough yet big enough. I will walk to work and walk home for lunch. Road, gravel and trail excursions into the surrounding African bush in solitude or with unstressed likeminded people await. Sorry for you Gauteng, I'm out too...

FWIW I also could have been bliksemed by the likes of the perp sought here, as roadhogging bunches, or tyre fixers who do their fixing in the marked cycling lanes, are a pet hate of mine, and I'll also remonstrate with self entitled types.

I'll miss the Cradle for the odd early weekday peace, but not on Saturdays when I give it a wide berth. Peace out

6 hours ago, V18 said:

All these excerpts makes me wonder if the road environment doesn't do something to one's mental state. On the trails I'm usually happy as a clam and very relaxed, as are fellow riders.

On the road on my morning commute, everyone is in such a foul mood and quick to anger. Myself included. It's contagious!

Would really be worth a psychology paper or two. "intermittent explosive asphalt syndrome".  

nope, just people in general, not necessarily road users.

My wife pointed out to a few mtb riders who were on the running path not the mtb path on the spruit a few years back. The ladies response was "f.... off c.... we have always ridden here" and much like the way the worst drivers in the world can be spotted outside schools at pick up time. They had a child in the group, so the next generation is also in for fun and games.

Part of the reason we left the city, too many idiots. On the farm we can hide and deal with less traffic and less people. The issues in the cradle always arise in the months leading up to 94,7. The issues on chappies are worst in the lead up to ctct. More people, more issues.